Thread: Is my PC enough to play 1080p?

Xtreme Addict

Is my PC enough to play 1080p?

Hey there guys, been a while.

I recently setup an HTPC which pulls the content from a server. Everything has been working perfectly until I started playing blu-ray rips.

The HTPC specs are:
    s939 170 @ 2.0gig (won't overclock since I removed the IHS years ago while I was running DI on it)
    MSI mobo (not sure of the model off the top of my head)
    3 gig crucial generic memory
    EVGA 430GT(stock)

So the issue I'm running into is, when I try to play the x264 MKV files which I ripped myself from blu-ray, the file sizes are about 7-9GB.
    I ran a lan speed test to see if it was an issue in the streaming between the HTPC and the server, but I got an AVG. read/write speed of 86mb. So when the video plays, the non-action scenes seem to play somewhat normally, but once the action scenes occur and alot of explosions are occuring, the video begins to lag and become choppy in VLC. When I run the video file in XMBC, it doesn't become choppy but the video and audio become out of sync.
    I manage to open up task manager while the video is playing and the CPU load does shoot up to 100% then it appears to drop to 25% while it's choppy, then shoot back to 100% when it plays normally again. So before I rip this thing apart and build a new HTPC, any advise you guys may have, is the 170 s939 not enough to run x264?
    Quote Originally Posted by nn_step
    Well CPUs are like women they all like things specific ways for them.. Some love 8x and others Love 9x or 7x.. they all just have their G-Spot and you have to learn to use it..
    Quote Originally Posted by nn_step View Post
    He should have given up his nuts too. Since clearly anyone that wants any Apple product that bad, Should NOT ever breed.
    q6600 @ 2.6
    EVGA 680i
    OCZ fatal1ty ddr2 800
    8800gt SLI
    watercooled