Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 76 to 90 of 90

Thread: Return of AMD FX: My OC'd AMD FX 8150 / 6990 review - Check in Daily for New Results!

  1. #76
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,452
    Quote Originally Posted by polyzp View Post
    Are you saying my gpu open gl score is impossible?
    Me?

    Well a 6990 should get ~100 FPS in OpenGL Cinebench 11.5 with Sandy Bridge but it just shows how limiting FX is with you getting ~70-75 which I can do with Phenom II X6 and dual 5770. (Not sure if crossfire works)
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  2. #77
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    Me?

    Well a 6990 should get ~100 FPS in OpenGL Cinebench 11.5 with Sandy Bridge but it just shows how limiting FX is with you getting ~70-75 which I can do with Phenom II X6 and dual 5770. (Not sure if crossfire works)
    no crossfire for OpenGL ? that I ever seen
    how are you matching My 5870 2gbs O.o ?
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    "Behold the gaseous stench of Skeletor's breakfast burrito!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  3. #78
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brasil, S.P.
    Posts
    1,000
    Something it's wrong there, do you match NB speed and ddr speed and timming right? My x264 pass2 attains around 53fps... @ 4,7Ghz

    edit using an 8120
    990FXA-UD3 | FX8350@4.7Ghz | Asus HD7870 | 2x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2050Mhz 8-8-8-22 | AX850W |SSD Vertex3 Max IOPS 120GB | Auzentech Forte + TAPCO-S5

    EK Supreme Full-Gold | XSPC RX240 + EX120 | MCP35x | 3x Koolance Blue Led @PWM | Tygon Black 1/2 | Bitspower Compression | @ FM CM690 I

  4. #79
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    Performance will vary depending on the chip and because of other factors. I am sure someone with a higher oc could even score lower than this. My ram clock doesnt match my nb / ht if thats whats your asking.

  5. #80
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    ( 4.7 / 4.6 ) x 46.05 = 47.051087 is around what you would get scaled with the benchmarks on techarp's website. 53 fps is another 13 percent faster than this , which is awesome. Again I could score around 53 if i tweaked it a bit to take advantage of new instruction sets ( I havent done this but I was requested to some I will probably do a revisit) . Is your fps at default settings on the benchmark?

  6. #81
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    404
    Quote Originally Posted by Barr3l Rid3r View Post
    Something it's wrong there, do you match NB speed and ddr speed and timming right? My x264 pass2 attains around 53fps... @ 4,7Ghz

    edit using an 8120
    What is in your experience a good match?
    INTEL 2600K @ 4.5ghz 24/7 Corsair H100
    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
    2 x CORSAIR 4GB DDR3 1600 (CL8)
    4TB Seagate SATA2
    SAPPHIRE 7950 (GPU 1100 | MEM 1500)
    Cosmos S
    Asus XONAR DX
    Corsair 850W PSU

  7. #82
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,452
    Quote Originally Posted by demonkevy666 View Post
    no crossfire for OpenGL ? that I ever seen
    how are you matching My 5870 2gbs O.o ?
    Easy, I have 1600 shaders too. Crossfire must work. When R11.5 was released, there was no multi-GPU support.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  8. #83
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brasil, S.P.
    Posts
    1,000
    Quote Originally Posted by mR Yellow View Post
    What is in your experience a good match?
    You will need 2400mhz CPU-NB and 1866Mhz 8-9-8 for starting unleash his performance.
    990FXA-UD3 | FX8350@4.7Ghz | Asus HD7870 | 2x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2050Mhz 8-8-8-22 | AX850W |SSD Vertex3 Max IOPS 120GB | Auzentech Forte + TAPCO-S5

    EK Supreme Full-Gold | XSPC RX240 + EX120 | MCP35x | 3x Koolance Blue Led @PWM | Tygon Black 1/2 | Bitspower Compression | @ FM CM690 I

  9. #84
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    x264 FHD AND Cinebench 10 benchmark scores up!! Double Post today!!

  10. #85
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    SpecViewPerf 11 Scores up! Tomorrow Updating 7-zip with 2600k results!

  11. #86
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    With:

    Geil Evo Two DDR3 - 2400 Mhz (2x4Gb)
    (10-11-11-30)

    --or --

    Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 - 2133 Mhz (2x4Gb)
    (9-11-10-27)

    I am learning for simply the better ram, their prices are near identical.

    By I am leaning more towards the Geil (I have had really bad history with Corsair except for their PSU's, that is three individual cases of faulty ssd / ddr3 ram)

    Help me choose which ram I should get! I would love to get your guys' opinion on this! ^^

    Also, I will be redoing my benchmarks with Windows 8 Consumer Preview!


    Stay tuned for this Upgrade. and Results! Thanks for all the support and everybody's patience! ^^

    Vote now here

    http://AMDFX.blogspot.com

  12. #87
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    Ordered New Parts today! Stay Tuned!

  13. #88
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    498
    There are two things the FX series has in its favor, first, they scale rather well compared to the 1090 and 1100....

    Second, memory bandwidth is enormous, so much easier running 2133 or more with FX, all four slots populated...

    Other than that, it kinda flops compared to the Thuban...

    It is not a dramatic flop, more of a sideways upgrade...

    An intel chip running same speed as FX with same vid and mems will be doing the spanking....

    IMHO, a whole lot of R&D wasted on the FX, I mean, comeon, AMD knew from internal testing they had a problem, built it up like no tomorrow and was immediately slammed in reviews when it came out retail...

    Alas, real world performance is lacking...Microsoft bent over backwards to help with the patches to get the minor performance increases...

    This is not to say that a rig running an FX chip is wholly inferior, anyone running with an FX, good mems @2133+ with decent timings, superior cooling and a decent stable overclock will be happy....just not and Intel, sorry...

    You can put as much shoe polish on as you want, right now it is what it is...

    I have to commend you for all the effort you put in, even with the inserted results...

    Maybe the second gen will shine, AMD has been quiet for awhile...retooling the core is not an overnight J O B, massive undertaking, it needs more than a minor tweak or three...

    Laterzzzzz...........
    Last edited by bldegle2; 03-20-2012 at 01:53 PM.
    Asrock 970 Extreme4, Vishera 8320 @4.6Ghz, 1.39v, 16 gig Gskill RipJaws X DDR3 2133 @2284, OCZ 700w, OCZ Vetex 4 256gb boot, ATI 6850, all on big air..

    smoke and mirrors

  14. #89
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    50
    Here are some pics of my new motherboard + ram together. New Post with New benchmarks April 20th.

    ---


    Exit
    ASUS Crosshair V +
    4 Gb Gskill 2200 CL7

    ---

    Enter
    GA-990FX-UD7 +
    8 Gb Team Xtreem 2400 CL9






    The first thing that came to mind when I first laid eyes on my new Gigabyte 990FX UD7 board was that it was quite the beautiful board. Much respect for the simple PCIE 16x slot latches, the Crosshair V uses a more traditional type, and sleek heatsink design.

    EDIT: It should be noted that I received a revision 1.1 board from Newegg Canada, and that it does have Load Line Calibration (LLC) controls in the bios.




    The new Team Xtreem DDR3 ram has a cheap but cool looking reflecting sticker, but what is most appealing are the stats: 2400 Mhz @ Cl9, which is only surpassed by Corsair's grossly overpriced and discontinued Dominator GT dual channel flagship memory.





    The memory height is not found online, and could be helpful to potential buyers.

    Team Xtreem memory height : 52mm

    Promlatech Genesis allowed height: 54mm

    So this is awfully close to the tallest ram you could use with this cooler. I have seen Dominator GT ram at a height of 54mm barley fitting underneath the heat sink, found here, and a 53 mm Corsair Vengeance stick here.



    I am hoping to hit 2600 Mhz speeds with these sticks overclocked, and see exactly where 8 gb benefits over 4 gb with an AMD setup. We shall see in the weeks to come!

  15. #90
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,452
    You mean 2600 for validation right? You aren't going to get anything with those as far as maybe 2400.
    IMC just doesn't keep stability.

    Also, I'm willing to bet that the ASUS board has a leg up on the Gigabyte board as far as DRAM OC
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •