Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: overclocking gtx 590

  1. #1
    gschofield
    Guest

    overclocking gtx 590

    I currently have 2 GTX 590's in SLI. I was hoping someone could help me on how to raise the max VCore so I can successfully overclock these cards. It seems in programs like MSI, EVGA tuner, and others, that they max out the VCore at 925. I know these cards have had problems while overclocking. I do not want to do anything crazy, just have the opportunity to eek out a little more from these cards. I know it is possible as I've seen examples of people doing it on youtube, and in forums and such. Could someone help me with this? I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

    Intel i7-2600K
    2 EVGA GTX 590's Classified
    ASUS Maximus IV Extreme Z
    16GB Kingston HyperX RAM
    2 240GB Patriot Pyro SSD's, 1 2TB WD Caviar Black 10,000 RPM HDD
    Antec 1200W PSU
    CoolerMaster HAF X Case
    EK waterblocks for CPU and gpu's, 2 separate loops

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    St. Louis, MO USA
    Posts
    440
    Nvidia, Asus put the clamps on GTX 590 voltage
    http://techreport.com/discussions.x/20711
    The Money Trap = Intel i7 3930K | Corsair H100 push/pull fans | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 16GB (4 x 4GB) G.Skill DDR3 2133 9-11-10 CR1 | 2 x EVGA 680 SC+ Signature SLI | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD - OS, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD - Games - backup WD HDDs | Klipsch ProMedia | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Antec TPQ-1200w | Dell U2711 2560 x 1440 27" | Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit | APC RS1500


  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    plan3t 3@rth
    Posts
    997
    my hydro gtx 590 is fine stock,the main thing is your Cpu OVERCLOCK.The 590 is fast enough =)
    Stacker830 Watercooled
    windows7 ultimate 64 bit!!!
    heatkiller(rev3) on 2500k@ 4.5ghz 1.35v,8 gigs 2133 ripjaws 1.5v
    Swiftech Mcp-655,1/2in tygon,13x120 sunnons on junk ps,
    (2)triple 120mm rads,Biostar TP67XE(rev 5.2)
    150 gig velicraptor (stable drive) ssds r still buggy!!
    xfi-xtrememusic,klipsch ultras, sen hd-595s
    Evga Hydro gtX 590,co0lermaster-1250 watt,
    24" Sony fw-900 black ops at @ 2304x1440 85hz/85fps SOLID
    G@m3r 4 L1Fe!!

    http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j1...0VIEW%20ALL--/
    3dmark 11 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1102387

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    99
    Nibitor works with 590s. You can use that to edit your BIOS to increase the voltage. Flashing 590s though is a bit trickier than a single GPU card since you have to flash both cores.
    Clevo P150EM
    2920xm ES @4.35GHz
    680m @954/4620, 1V
    840 Pro 256GB
    8GB 1866mhz CAS10 G.Skill

  5. #5
    gschofield
    Guest
    I realize that the 590 is "fine". It is above and beyond what is needed to play any game at max. And I have my CPU overclocked to 5.1, no worries there. I just want to know how to increase the voltage. And yes, thanks Khenglish for that. I read up on it and you're right, BIOS flashing is the only way to increase the voltage. I have never done this so before I attempt anything like that I will have to do much studying and research. Thanks

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    At work
    Posts
    1,381
    I wouldn't bother OCing it. The VRM circuitry on the 590 is underengineered as it is...which is why I went for a 580 instead...
    Server: HP Proliant ML370 G6, 2x Xeon X5690, 144GB ECC Registered, 8x OCZ Vertex 3 MAX IOPS 240GB on LSi 9265-8i (RAID 0), 12x Seagate Constellation ES.2 3TB SAS on LSi 9280-24i4e (RAID 6) and dual 1200W redundant power supplies.
    Gamer: Intel Core i7 6950X@4.2GHz, Rampage Edition 10, 128GB (8x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz, 2x NVidia Titan X (Pascal), Corsair H110i, Vengeance C70 w/Corsair AX1500i, Intel P3700 2TB (boot), Samsung SM961 1TB (Games), 2x Samsung PM1725 6.4TB (11.64TB usable) Windows Software RAID 0 (local storage).
    Beater: Xeon E5-1680 V3, NCase M1, ASRock X99-iTX/ac, 2x32GB Crucial 2400MHz RDIMMs, eVGA Titan X (Maxwell), Samsung 950 Pro 512GB, Corsair SF600, Asetek 92mm AIO water cooler.
    Server/workstation: 2x Xeon E5-2687W V2, Asus Z9PE-D8, 256GB 1866MHz Samsung LRDIMMs (8x32GB), eVGA Titan X (Maxwell), 2x Intel S3610 1.6TB SSD, Corsair AX1500i, Chenbro SR10769, Intel P3700 2TB.

    Thanks for the help (or lack thereof) in resolving my P3700 issue, FUGGER...

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    863
    Quote Originally Posted by lutjens View Post
    I wouldn't bother OCing it. The VRM circuitry on the 590 is underengineered as it is...which is why I went for a 580 instead...
    The 590 is not a card I would EVER overvolt. A couple web review sites did, the videos of the cards blowing are on Youtube.
    Intel 990x/Corsair H80 /Asus Rampage III
    Coolermaster HAF932 case
    Patriot 3 X 2GB
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    Dell 3008

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
    The 590 is not a card I would EVER overvolt. A couple web review sites did, the videos of the cards blowing are on Youtube.
    Keep in mind that he does have a full coverage waterblock, so his VRMs have drastically better cooling than a normal 590. IMO feel the back of the PCB where the VRMs are. If it's too hot to touch, don't overvolt. If it isn't too hot to touch, then have fun.
    Clevo P150EM
    2920xm ES @4.35GHz
    680m @954/4620, 1V
    840 Pro 256GB
    8GB 1866mhz CAS10 G.Skill

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    plan3t 3@rth
    Posts
    997

    Thumbs up

    chill out and wait for the 690....owning a 590 hydro i can tell,overclocking WONT give u max resolution(i game at 2304x1440 16:10 85hz,card CRUSHER res) and floored settings on some games.....hydro 690 will take care of that,or lighten the load....got my hydro gtx 590 sold for $500 on day of release... Nvidia Kepler GTX690

    750MHz Core clock
    2×1.75 GB 4.5GHz GDDR5 Memory
    2×1024 Stream Processors
    2x448bit Bus Width
    Priced at $999






    the 590 is good man.lol.amazing temps
    3dmark11



    I would Never risk this card.....goodluck finding a rma also...there all gone...
    Stacker830 Watercooled
    windows7 ultimate 64 bit!!!
    heatkiller(rev3) on 2500k@ 4.5ghz 1.35v,8 gigs 2133 ripjaws 1.5v
    Swiftech Mcp-655,1/2in tygon,13x120 sunnons on junk ps,
    (2)triple 120mm rads,Biostar TP67XE(rev 5.2)
    150 gig velicraptor (stable drive) ssds r still buggy!!
    xfi-xtrememusic,klipsch ultras, sen hd-595s
    Evga Hydro gtX 590,co0lermaster-1250 watt,
    24" Sony fw-900 black ops at @ 2304x1440 85hz/85fps SOLID
    G@m3r 4 L1Fe!!

    http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j1...0VIEW%20ALL--/
    3dmark 11 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1102387

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •