Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Sapphire Radeon 5970 2GB Problems

  1. #1
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18

    Sapphire Radeon 5970 2GB Problems

    Hello

    I just replaced my Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 for a Sapphire Radeon HD 5970.

    I've had major problems with it, but I got it to work after a while. (it almost works)...

    I have the latest catalyst drivers.

    I did take a 3dmark06 test, only because I had saved the score from my old setup that was with the HD 5870 card.

    i7 920, 6gb ram, and HD 5870 = 18491 points
    i7 920, 6gb ram, and HD 5970 = 19035 points

    Is there really that small diefferences between this card? Or is it something wrong?

    I get weird marks, coloured squares sometimes in both BF3 and 3dmark06.

    I have tried older drivers, but BF3 wont run if I dont have the latest catalyst driver.

    Can anyone help me out?

  2. #2
    Zurbz
    Guest
    sounds like artifacts, how much are you oc'ing the card? Have you checked temps of the gpu as well?

  3. #3
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    I've just raised the volt from 1049 to 1062 in MSI Afterburner. The card was more stable after this.

    I also got less artifacts when turning of Intel Hyper Threading in BIOS.

    But i still get low fps and low score in 3dmark.

    Temps are not unusual high.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    are you sure both gpus are working? with msi afterburner up it should show that both gpu core and memory are running at 725/1000 or whatever you have them overclocked too. obviolusly check while bf3 is running, make sure you have both drivers 11.12 and 11.12 cap2....good luck

  5. #5
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    I am pretty sure both gpu's are working, i have two screens, and I use to have MSI Afterburner on the other screen while playing BF3 and it seems like both gpu's are working.

    But i still should get better score than 1000 points over the 5870 right?

    I have the latest driver installed and 11.12cap. I dont get what 11.12cap is for?

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    51
    If its only 3DM06?

    Single 5870 i got 24857
    Crossfire i get 26584

    Just looks like its not very 5800 CF friendly...
    Gigabyte EX58-UD5 | Intel i7 920 @ 4.01GHz, HT (3913B213) | TRUE (lapped & washered) | Kingston HyperX 12GB | Gigabyte 7970 OC | Dell 3008WFP | C300, WD Black 1TB, Green 1TB, and a VR | X-FI Titanium | akasa Eclipse-62 or Dell XPS 720 (ATX Mod)

  7. #7
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    only 3dmark06. Not tried any newer version.

    I can almost run same graphics with a single 5870 and my 5970.

    I was pretty sure I was able to play BF3 with ultra settings with my 5970. Now I am playing it on High. I also played BF3 on high with my old 5870 card.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    i have an xfx5970 and notice that when i had only 11.12 installed without installing 11.12 cap2, only one gpu was working and the game play was sluggish and unplayable fps were between 20 - 50 fps, when both gpus are working properly i run between 70 and 110 fps also cap2 is i believe for crossfire profiles which apperantly we need to run are card properly (both gpus)...i can't run on ultra, although trying all diffrent types of setting i tryed using auto (except i turn off motion blur) and that seem to work the best, still looks good and avg 95-100 fps.

  9. #9
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    You are talking about Battlefield 3 now?

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    51
    For me, and id assume you, run out of vram on BF3 on ultra, i too just have to make do with High
    Gigabyte EX58-UD5 | Intel i7 920 @ 4.01GHz, HT (3913B213) | TRUE (lapped & washered) | Kingston HyperX 12GB | Gigabyte 7970 OC | Dell 3008WFP | C300, WD Black 1TB, Green 1TB, and a VR | X-FI Titanium | akasa Eclipse-62 or Dell XPS 720 (ATX Mod)

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    sorry, yes i am talking about BF3..

  12. #12
    Registered User nessi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    18
    What graphic card will run BF3 on ultra? I understand gtx580,590 and 6990, 7970 will run it... But is there any cheaper cards like gtx 560 or 570 that will run it on ultra?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •