Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 61

Thread: Sandy Bridge E Overclocking Guide (Walk-through Explanations, and Support)

  1. #26
    Administrator andressergio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Montevideo - Uruguay
    Posts
    5,442
    happy birthday sin !!!
    Intel Core i9-7980XE@ 4.8GHz 18C/18TH (Direct Die Contact)
    ASRock X299 OC Formula
    ADATA XPG SPECTRIX D80 (4x8GB) DDR4-3800C17 B-Die
    1x Intel Optane SSD 905P 480GB
    4x HP EX950 NVMe 2TB on ASRock ULTRA M.2 CARD
    EVGA RTX 2080TI KINGPIN 2190/8000 Stock Cooling AIO 240
    SilverStone ST1500W-TI TITANIUM
    Alphacool Custom Water Cooling

  2. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    41
    Excellent guide, sin, many thanks!

  3. #28
    Schnuppl
    Guest
    Oh, Happy Birthday!

  4. #29
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    thanks guys!

  5. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Slovak Republic
    Posts
    83
    Have to confirm that. Do not try to run an OCed watercooled X79 board without an active VRM cooling. I have my 3960X @ 4800Mhz...was downclocking on 3.3 Ghz after 10 mins Prime95. After i put a 8cm fan on the heatsink... 100% stable without downclocking.

    Just a beta version... a black Noiseblocker 8cm 2200rpm on the way ...

    ASUS = downclocking
    GIGABYTE = burning

    Last edited by Papagaj; 12-28-2011 at 02:41 PM.
    CPU: Core i7 3960X @ 4700Mhz (WC) Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula Ram: G.Skill RipjawsZ 4x4096MB DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28 VGA: Gigabyte 580 GTX SOC SLI Audio: Asus Essence STX + Magnat Quantum 557 5.1/Onkyo TX-SR607 HDD: SSD OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (system) + OCZ Vertex 3 240GB MAX IOPS (games) PSU: Seasonic SS-1000XP Platinum Keyboard: Logitech G19 Mouse: Logitech G9x + Razer Destructor Screen: LG 30" W3000H-BN S-IPS Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

  6. #31
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    953
    Its a lot of heat for such a small area. They need to get some liquid blocks out for vrm cooling.

  7. #32
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    lol GB downclocks too, always has, just ask gmeup.

  8. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    80
    Great job sin
    A lot of useful information.
    Thanks for the thread
    Happy B day ...

  9. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Slovak Republic
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by sin0822 View Post
    lol GB downclocks too, always has, just ask gmeup.
    yes I know mate that was just a bit of sarcasm
    CPU: Core i7 3960X @ 4700Mhz (WC) Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula Ram: G.Skill RipjawsZ 4x4096MB DDR3 2133 9-11-10-28 VGA: Gigabyte 580 GTX SOC SLI Audio: Asus Essence STX + Magnat Quantum 557 5.1/Onkyo TX-SR607 HDD: SSD OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (system) + OCZ Vertex 3 240GB MAX IOPS (games) PSU: Seasonic SS-1000XP Platinum Keyboard: Logitech G19 Mouse: Logitech G9x + Razer Destructor Screen: LG 30" W3000H-BN S-IPS Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

  10. #35
    Schnuppl
    Guest
    GIGABYTE X79-UD3 Motherboard with New F7 BIOS Smashes Intel® X79 World Records
    http://www.overclockingstation.de/ne...d-records.html

  11. #36
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by Papagaj View Post
    yes I know mate that was just a bit of sarcasm
    Hhaha my bad.

    yea that is a sick WR! 3930K is a good contender.

  12. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Blackpool, UK
    Posts
    11
    Step #2 Increasing BLCK and/or Frequency: You have to use Turbo Mode to OC SBe with every board. You need to leave Turbo Mode enabled, and set each multiplier, or just set one for all cores.
    This is not true. I have turbo disabled on my board, and I have a stable 4.7GHz OC.
    Athlon 64 3400+@2420MHz, Asus K8V Deluxe, 2Gb Crucial Ballistix, 2x Seagate Barracuda SATA 160Gb, ATi Radeon 9800 Pro, MSI 52/32/52 CD Burner, NEC 3540a DVD, Lian Li PC65.

  13. #38
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    Yea your right, it makes no difference, even on the GB boards, but i might just edit it.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Member Fritz_the_germ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    You really made a great job, sin!
    Intel 5930K@4.500 MHz@H20_cuplex cyros HF |ASUSX99 Deluxe|NVidia Titan-X Pascal@H2O_kryographics|SOUND Nubert_NuBoxes@ AVR Pioneer VSX-527-K@ SVS PB-1000, 300 W Sub|Corsair AX 860 W|4*4 GB G.Skill@3200 MHz CL15| LG BH10LS38 Black|LG GH20NS10|Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB@Seagate Barracuda 7200 1 TB|Corsair Obsidoan 800D|ASUS Swift PG279Q |Windows 10 64 bit |H2O@MoRa-3@4*180 mm Silverstone AIR Penetrator@neighbour room

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member Fritz_the_germ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    What is wrong when I get a freeze immediately after starting prime95 -blend- or LinX ?
    Intel 5930K@4.500 MHz@H20_cuplex cyros HF |ASUSX99 Deluxe|NVidia Titan-X Pascal@H2O_kryographics|SOUND Nubert_NuBoxes@ AVR Pioneer VSX-527-K@ SVS PB-1000, 300 W Sub|Corsair AX 860 W|4*4 GB G.Skill@3200 MHz CL15| LG BH10LS38 Black|LG GH20NS10|Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB@Seagate Barracuda 7200 1 TB|Corsair Obsidoan 800D|ASUS Swift PG279Q |Windows 10 64 bit |H2O@MoRa-3@4*180 mm Silverstone AIR Penetrator@neighbour room

  16. #41
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    your vcore? lol i don't know what your settings ar or temps.

  17. #42
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,426
    sin0822: Nice guide but you forgot how to show an OC on the Dual socket SB-e's..
    Yes, I'm just harassing you!
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member Fritz_the_germ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    I set 1,425v in BIOS rest at normal
    VDram 1,645
    VTT 1,085V
    IMC 1,00V

    Under load I will achieve 1,275V. How can I prevent that VDroop?

    EDIT: Everything is fine again. I just forgot to set the DVID to 0.035%
    Last edited by Fritz_the_germ; 03-16-2012 at 09:17 AM.
    Intel 5930K@4.500 MHz@H20_cuplex cyros HF |ASUSX99 Deluxe|NVidia Titan-X Pascal@H2O_kryographics|SOUND Nubert_NuBoxes@ AVR Pioneer VSX-527-K@ SVS PB-1000, 300 W Sub|Corsair AX 860 W|4*4 GB G.Skill@3200 MHz CL15| LG BH10LS38 Black|LG GH20NS10|Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB@Seagate Barracuda 7200 1 TB|Corsair Obsidoan 800D|ASUS Swift PG279Q |Windows 10 64 bit |H2O@MoRa-3@4*180 mm Silverstone AIR Penetrator@neighbour room

  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Home of the Sun Devils
    Posts
    360
    Thanks for the info. Not much oc info out there for SBe yet. The pdf link is broke btw.
    i7-3930K
    GA-x79-UD3
    Corsair H100
    4x2GB F3-12800CL6
    X-Fi Xtreme Music
    EVGA GTX 470
    Pioneer BDR-207DBK
    2X128GB Samsung 830's
    3XWD2002FYPS
    Corsair TX850
    Dell U2412M
    ___________________

  20. #45
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    49
    Thanks ... I can't see where is the button "thanks"

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    917
    It's on the left side of the page, under each users name, avatar, and information - as seen in this image for your post above


  22. #47
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    sin0822: Nice guide but you forgot how to show an OC on the Dual socket SB-e's..
    Yes, I'm just harassing you!
    thank you!
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz_the_germ View Post
    I set 1,425v in BIOS rest at normal
    VDram 1,645
    VTT 1,085V
    IMC 1,00V

    Under load I will achieve 1,275V. How can I prevent that VDroop?

    EDIT: Everything is fine again. I just forgot to set the DVID to 0.035%
    You can prevent vdroop through LLC on the VCore like int he pictures, i think it might be at % or it might be words by now, so percent you want the lowest % i think it is 60%, words you want extreme. Glad to hear you got it figured out.
    Quote Originally Posted by Peakr View Post
    Thanks for the info. Not much oc info out there for SBe yet. The pdf link is broke btw.
    Thank you, the PDF link works for me though? Are you sure its broken for you?

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Home of the Sun Devils
    Posts
    360
    Quote Originally Posted by sin0822 View Post
    Thank you, the PDF link works for me though? Are you sure its broken for you?
    Working now. Getting my 3930K on Friday, this guide should come in handy.
    i7-3930K
    GA-x79-UD3
    Corsair H100
    4x2GB F3-12800CL6
    X-Fi Xtreme Music
    EVGA GTX 470
    Pioneer BDR-207DBK
    2X128GB Samsung 830's
    3XWD2002FYPS
    Corsair TX850
    Dell U2412M
    ___________________

  24. #49
    Xtreme Member Fritz_the_germ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    Yo sin0822,
    right now I am running 4,6 GHz@1,31 V (LinX stable). Vcore is set in the BIOS at "normal", DVID at 0.035%.
    How much VCore would I need to get 5 GHz stable? All I would do is changing the multiplier up to 50(x100). IMC, PLL and VTT at "normal".
    Do ya think it will work?
    Intel 5930K@4.500 MHz@H20_cuplex cyros HF |ASUSX99 Deluxe|NVidia Titan-X Pascal@H2O_kryographics|SOUND Nubert_NuBoxes@ AVR Pioneer VSX-527-K@ SVS PB-1000, 300 W Sub|Corsair AX 860 W|4*4 GB G.Skill@3200 MHz CL15| LG BH10LS38 Black|LG GH20NS10|Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB@Seagate Barracuda 7200 1 TB|Corsair Obsidoan 800D|ASUS Swift PG279Q |Windows 10 64 bit |H2O@MoRa-3@4*180 mm Silverstone AIR Penetrator@neighbour room

  25. #50
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,563
    yea you can just try increasing the vcore, but don't use DVID for 5ghz please. The SVID will start messing with the VID, and your DVID offset will give you a lot more voltage than you bargained for you just don't see it as the vcore would change without you knowing. Youc an try to mess with PLL to help with higher mhz stability if you want.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •