Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 58 of 58

Thread: 3930K + Gigabyte X79-UD5 [4x2GB A-Data 2000X Elpida BBSE] quicky tests

  1. #51
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    does it OC better then on a Torture rack vs box ?

    Quote Originally Posted by OC Nub View Post
    Can you please post you maximum OC with this chip when you get time? I wouldnt mind trying one when they come out, its getting too expensive trying to find a good clocking 3930k.
    I will, but not on this board :p 4.85Ghz does not even post into windows. Will try the UD7 this week with the i7 3820... not ecpecting 5.2Ghz though...
    Last edited by Leeghoofd; 02-14-2012 at 03:47 PM.
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  2. #52
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,383
    Quote Originally Posted by Amurtigress View Post
    Heh, I can tell you this: I am looking at more than 50 mainboards that I owned and tested and never was I able to know in advance what BIOS I am getting. but to clear this up, this is what Gigabyte told me twice already:

    Intel has certain specifications for POSTing CPUs that are even not recognized by the BIOS. It is possible that they are being detected as the wrong CPU but in most cases you will be able to enter the BIOS and flash an updated BIOS on Gigabyte boards.

    The only exception they mentioned was the i7-875k.

    In the case of the X79-UD5 you are most likely getting the very first release BIOS F4 or F5 but it will POST with the 3820.

    That's why Leghoofd's post had me confused...anyway, problem solved, question answered. ^.^
    I had figured since the exploding board issues, this would be an exception. As Leeghoofd said, they should all come with f8 bios now.

    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    does it OC better then on a Torture rack vs box ?



    I will, but not on this board :p 4.85Ghz does not even post into windows. Will try the UD7 this week with the i7 3820... not ecpecting 5.2Ghz though...
    Thanks, look forward to seeing you results.

    I finally switched to Asus, now you are posting in the Giga threads lol. Have you tested any of the Asus x79 boards?

  3. #53
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    Will test the UD7 this week, UD3 inbound too... maybe new rev of UD5 too... Asus boards seem more mature, less bugs and far superior bios...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  4. #54
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    615
    Have you gotten around to testing the UD3? I'm not impressed at all, the board refuses to boot with any strap config whatsoever. I've tried two 3930K's, one C1 and one C2, both stop at 4.8Ghz with any reasonable voltage. Memory OC past XMP is a no go. Been trying for over a month now, looking to get a RIVE...
    Intel i7 3930K C2 @ 4700 mhz (100 x 47) 1.4v
    EK Supremacy/EK XTC 420+280/EK DCP4.0/PrimoChill 1/2 ID 3/4 OD
    Asus Rampage IV EXTREME
    16 GB G.Skill RipjawsZ @ 2400 CL10-12-11-1T
    Zotac GTX670
    Antec Quattro 850W
    Intel 330 180 GB + Micron C400 128 GB
    LD Cooling PC-V7 B/R

  5. #55
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    215
    Hi people,

    I have gotten my UD5 and 3820 while the forum was down. I could easily get to 4.3 GHz via multiplier overclocking but I must be missing something when using the 125 MHz Bclk strap, the system just won't post.

    What else exactly is involved/needed to be set with Strap 1.25? I set Vtt to 1.14V, CPU VCore to 1.34 for 36x125, and set the turbo mode multipliers to 36x for all cores.

    xp I am still mentally on my X58 I guess.

    On a side note, my UD5 came with BIOS F8 out of the box. Yay...

    Maybe anybody could point me out to some BIOS templates with settings?
    Last edited by Amurtigress; 02-23-2012 at 08:14 AM.
    i7-3820 C2 @ 4500 MHz, Batch 3201B130
    Corsair H100
    GA-X79-UD5, BIOS F10
    4x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws F3-17000CL11Q-16GBXL @ 2100MHz
    ASUS ENGTX560Ti 1 GB @ 960 MHz
    Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W
    60 GB OCZ Vortex 2 SSD
    2 TB WD Caviar Black
    1 TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ (FW upgraded)
    1 TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ
    ASUS Xonar D2X

  6. #56
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    Quote Originally Posted by DuraN View Post
    Have you gotten around to testing the UD3? I'm not impressed at all, the board refuses to boot with any strap config whatsoever. I've tried two 3930K's, one C1 and one C2, both stop at 4.8Ghz with any reasonable voltage. Memory OC past XMP is a no go. Been trying for over a month now, looking to get a RIVE...
    Sorry mate don't have my UD3 board yet... Is that OC on air or water ? If so that seems to be the wall all GB boards hit when not being under cold...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  7. #57
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    615
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Sorry mate don't have my UD3 board yet... Is that OC on air or water ? If so that seems to be the wall all GB boards hit when not being under cold...
    Yeah its with an H100. From what i've gathered it seems to be pretty normal indeed. Using the air bin method massman posted on HWB my CPU loaded Windows up to 56x so it shouldnt be too bad...
    Intel i7 3930K C2 @ 4700 mhz (100 x 47) 1.4v
    EK Supremacy/EK XTC 420+280/EK DCP4.0/PrimoChill 1/2 ID 3/4 OD
    Asus Rampage IV EXTREME
    16 GB G.Skill RipjawsZ @ 2400 CL10-12-11-1T
    Zotac GTX670
    Antec Quattro 850W
    Intel 330 180 GB + Micron C400 128 GB
    LD Cooling PC-V7 B/R

  8. #58
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    215
    Hi there,

    just to mention it, as I posted in another thread, I got the 1.25 strap working by reducing BCLK to 90 MHz. Overclocks are going up to 4.7 Ghz now...however that causes a number of other problems.

    1) In RAID mode there is a 50-50 chance of my OCZ Vertex 2 60 GB SSD to not be detected.
    2) onboard LAN shows a drastic decrease in network performance. Upstream bitrate is limited to 200 kbits/sec, in LAN and internet. Goes away immediately when returning to BCLK 100/Strap 1.00

    Prolly unrelated to the 90 Mhz BCLK: A memory stick that holds my Windows 7 install disk worked well on my old X58A-UD7 does not boot at all. Despite trying all emulation modes (HD, Floppy, forced floppy, CDROM and auto)

    BIOS F9 at least solves the Razer mouse problems in the BIOS Setup and the bootup stalls in AHCI mode.
    Last edited by Amurtigress; 02-25-2012 at 05:52 PM.
    i7-3820 C2 @ 4500 MHz, Batch 3201B130
    Corsair H100
    GA-X79-UD5, BIOS F10
    4x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws F3-17000CL11Q-16GBXL @ 2100MHz
    ASUS ENGTX560Ti 1 GB @ 960 MHz
    Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W
    60 GB OCZ Vortex 2 SSD
    2 TB WD Caviar Black
    1 TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ (FW upgraded)
    1 TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ
    ASUS Xonar D2X

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •