Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Disabling PCI-E slot - why not?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679

    Disabling PCI-E slot - why not?

    Are/were there motherboards which allowed for complete disabling graphic cards by disabling PCI-E slots? I remember reading years ago about it: a physical switch next to the x16 slot which would allow to cut off current powering PCI-E slot and making it completely inactive / invisible for the system.

    Virtu in new motherboards is not solving the problem entirely - it's just downclocking video card.

    I use PC for 30% gaming and 70% browsing/music. I would be happy to have an option of switching the graphic card(s) before powering on the PC. And having that kind of switch on 3.5" bezel makes me wet

    Any thoughts?
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor hiwa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,567
    Evga E760-759-762 1366Socket
    Asus R3E (1366) R4E (2011) M4E(1155)

    mobos i used with the option u are looking for.
    there is a switch or jumper to disable all PCI ex slots.
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Am I missing something? There is no video output on backplates? Meaning that there needs to be at least one auxiliary GPU active which is not what i'm asking for...
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict RCG_Bex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland / Sunny England
    Posts
    1,362
    He means there's a switch for all the PCI-E lanes. On the Asus RIVE there's a switch for all the lanes.



    I personally don't know if it provides any benefit other than power saving / testing of multiple cards?
    Last edited by RCG_Bex; 11-30-2011 at 04:47 AM.
    PROJECT :: The Xtreme (WET) Dream!!!

    PERSONAL H2O BESTS :
    E8600 @ 4.8GHz
    E6750 @ 4GHz QX9650 @ 4.6GHz
    i7 920 @ 4.6GHz

    PERSONAL AIR BESTS :
    Sempron140 @ 4Ghz (Stock Cooler)
    i7 3960x @ 5.4ghz (Air Cooler)

    Bex : "Who said girls can't play PC games or overclock!? Do I look like your imagination!?"
    Aaron : "TBH, a girl doing all that is a pretty perfect girl!"
    Swift_Wraith : "could someone please check bex for a penis?"

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Yes, for me it's about power saving. What I meant was to use onboard GPU while browsing/listening music with beefy and power hungry GPUs disabled. If there is no video output (z68 without video output? Than what's its advantage over P67) it doesn't really serve my needs...
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,786
    You are aware that modern GPUs throttle down very low when not play games right?
    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...&limitstart=15

    Your 5870's in CF use 48w while surfing.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  7. #7
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Indeed interesting. Even though these reading are for log in screen.
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by CrazyNutz View Post
    Your 5870's in CF use 48w while surfing.
    That is still quite a bit for something that you are not using, right?

    The idea is interesing, is basically how AMD PowerXpress and nVidia Optimus work by switching to IGP for low loads while disabling the GPU, but you want to implement it in a manual way and in a Desktop. However, it wouldn't work nowhere near as effective as it. First, the Monitor should be connected always to the IGP display output on the Motherboard, and the Video Cards should somehow be able to route rendered graphics though it (Basically, as Optimus works), otherwise, it forces you to manually change the Monitor from display output plug everytime you switch modes. You also need Hardware support for hot plugging as you are going to be physically disconecting a Card then enabling it again, and while supposedly PCI Express supports this, you would also need Software support. At least there is OS support because it works on Mobile platforms, but how you make this work on Desktop without Drivers support? Also, add in that having a Crossfire should had it some extra complexity over IGP and one Video Card.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Hot plug? No one really mentioned about it.

    1. If i know that i am going to play games i move the switch before powering PC. This is why I mentioned switch on 3.5" bezel

    2. Handling the monitor connection? Each screen has "source" button/option easily available. I see no inconvenience here. Example: DVI cable for on board GPU, HDMI/DP for auxilary GPU. Other issue is changing in BIOS which is preferred output source. But I guess it shouldn't be that difficult to handle.
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    645
    Quote Originally Posted by ggdh View Post
    Hot plug? No one really mentioned about it.
    I said that the idea is interesing, but not effective. The less manual hassle, the more seamless it is, the better. If you requiere a restart, it would add an inconvenient annoyance.


    Quote Originally Posted by ggdh View Post
    1. If i know that i am going to play games i move the switch before powering PC. This is why I mentioned switch on 3.5" bezel
    And if you stopped playing games then want to browse or hear music, and want the power savings to kick it, I wouldn't really enjoy shutting the machine to use the switch then turn it on again, wait for Windows to load, etc. This is why I would be interesed on such a feature, but done on the fly.


    Quote Originally Posted by ggdh View Post
    2. Handling the monitor connection? Each screen has "source" button/option easily available. I see no inconvenience here. Example: DVI cable for on board GPU, HDMI/DP for auxilary GPU. Other issue is changing in BIOS which is preferred output source. But I guess it shouldn't be that difficult to handle.
    Assuming you have two video cables connected to the same Monitor to both IGP and GPU and the Desktop is cloned I suppose it should work.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Manual handling would be a good start if it would work in a real world than there is room for further improvement.

    I have to say that I hoped for solution like this when s1155 and z68 was announced. Sometimes I have weeks without gaming and no need of using 5870cf (i.e. Diablo 2)
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict CrazyNutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,786
    Yeah if you take 1 5870 out then your only using 24w when not gaming.

    If you had a gtx560ti you would only use 17w when not gaming.

    EDIT: One other thing you can do is turn aero off, just use basic desktop that way you should remain 2d most of the time.
    Last edited by CrazyNutz; 11-30-2011 at 11:33 AM.
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme sin0822's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,560
    I don't think you can just turn off the GPU like that whenever you want man, i am pretty sure the system needs to be off to turn the GPU back on and have it detected and work.

    BTW MSI bigbang also has that feature.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •