Page 27 of 37 FirstFirst ... 1724252627282930 ... LastLast
Results 651 to 675 of 902

Thread: ASUS Official X79 Motherboards Support Thread

  1. #651
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Latest from HQ on the IRSTe situation:

    1) Avoid using IRST Driver 11.6. There is a bug that prevents the building of a RAID array, which is why we have not updated to it. For that reason the current build will stay defacto.

    2) A future BIOS (no ETA) will include a UEFI IRST driver instead of a separate OROM. That means RAID options will be accessed from within UEFI instead of needing to press CTRL-I to access the OROM. The first driver to be phased in will be the current one on the ASUS site, as 11.6 has a serious bug.

    That's all the info I have at present.

    -Raja
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  2. #652
    skibum
    Guest
    Thanks for the update Raja. Just finished my new build and it went without a hitch. Used all the drivers from Asus website. Installed OS onto Vertex4 and then installed the two RAID0 HD from my old build. The system recongized the RAID array without doing anything. I was surprised that I could have used it as is, but I deleted the array and reinstalled it for a fresh array on this system.
    Last edited by skibum; 10-08-2012 at 05:53 PM.

  3. #653
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Around the corner
    Posts
    175
    Having a problem with my R4E.

    I have been out of the loop for awhile and I was having some issues and figured it was time for a bios upgrade. I was on 1001 or something before not 100% sure.

    I grabed an archive from the R4E thread and flashed it. It had both the R4E.ROM and the R4E.cap in it. It was a 2105 bios with a modded intel fw. I used the USB flashback to flash it, comp would not boot. It will just spin the fans for a second then shut off and repeat about every 10s. I tried flashing the following though usb flashback with no luck in order listed:

    2105 stock (.cap)
    cap converter (.rom)
    1404 stock (.rom)

    After every one of these I tried booting, tried reseting the cmos but, I still get the same issue where it powers on for a second and then shuts right back off.

    Another thing I noticed, is the led would flash for about 2 minutes and then it would go solid, instead of shut off like the USB flashback guide said. I found this a bit strange.

    Anyone have any ideas? I thought these things had dual flash chips to prevent this, I do see them in the board. Do I just need to swap the flash chips in their sockets? I have the capability to program the flash chips if necessary...
    Main Comp (Win 7): ASUS R4E, i7-3930k @ 4.9GHz, G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB @ 2133MHz, ATI 6950flash/6970 Xfire, Custom Watercooling
    3x Asus VW246H eyefinity; Polk Audio Monitor 40's (L,R), CS10 (C), Klipsch KG^4 (S), Sony STR-DA1000ES; all in a custom built desk
    Server: (Ubuntu 11.04) i7-920 @ 3.8GHz, 24GB G.Skill

  4. #654
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gosport, Hampshire UK
    Posts
    220
    Just use the "bios switch"button to change from bios 1 to bios 2,bottom right hand corner of mobo.The bios chip led is supposed to be solid.Can i ask why you used the bios "flashback"procedure to flash,this is used to flash your bios to older bios's,not newer ones. ???
    ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME, I7 5960X, 16Gig GSKILL DDR4 2666, CUSTOM WATERCOOLING[/SIZE]

  5. #655
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    @ASUS

    Where is AISUITE for Windows 8? You've only had a year get it 98% "there" and its been RTM now for months with the WHQL complete to back up logo testing. So???????? Where is it?????????
    Now: Asus R4E with Intel i7 IB-E 4930K @ 4.4Ghz, Patriot 2x ( 2x8GB) 2133CL11 @ 2400 CL11-12-12-30-1T-1.64v
    Was: Sabertooth x79 and Intel i7 3930k @ 4.8Ghz, G.Skill 1866CL9 1.5v @ 2133 9-11-10-28-1t-1.64v
    Galaxy 470 (NVidia 750Mhz/1500Mhz/1730/1.062v)
    Corsair Fusion GT 256GB, Crucial C300 256GB SSD Sata III, Seagate 2TB Sata III, Seagate 3TB.
    Corsair H80 WC

  6. #656
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Around the corner
    Posts
    175
    Quote Originally Posted by moorhen2 View Post
    Just use the "bios switch"button to change from bios 1 to bios 2,bottom right hand corner of mobo.The bios chip led is supposed to be solid.Can i ask why you used the bios "flashback"procedure to flash,this is used to flash your bios to older bios's,not newer ones. ???
    Ah that did the trick, thanks! You have to use the flashback feature in order to flash a modified bios after some 2XXX version.
    Main Comp (Win 7): ASUS R4E, i7-3930k @ 4.9GHz, G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB @ 2133MHz, ATI 6950flash/6970 Xfire, Custom Watercooling
    3x Asus VW246H eyefinity; Polk Audio Monitor 40's (L,R), CS10 (C), Klipsch KG^4 (S), Sony STR-DA1000ES; all in a custom built desk
    Server: (Ubuntu 11.04) i7-920 @ 3.8GHz, 24GB G.Skill

  7. #657
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Issues with BLCK adjustement/X79 Sabertooth/i7 3820

    Hi

    I am trying to determine if I have a faulty X79 Sabertooth motherboard. I was hoping if someone out there with the same board could confirm if they are experiencing the same symptom?

    Basically if I make any BCLK adjustment above 100.5 when I power off the power supply completely (draining all power to board), when I next turn on the board starts briefly/stops/starts again (almost as though it was going to produce an overclock failure) but then proceed to run normally at my designated overclock. This only occurs when I increase the BCLK above 100.5 AND power off supply completely, a standard shut down does not produce this.

    My highest stable overclock of 4.6ghz using BCLK 121.75/CPU STRAP 125/Multiplier:38 runs fine but continues to have this symptom. However if I bump the BCLK up to 125/CPU STRAP 125/Multiplier: 37 (to produce a similar clock speed of 4.6ghz), I have the same problem but this time the board DOES produce a overclock failure when booting after a power supply turn off. No amount of bios adjustments or tweaks seem to get this one stable.

    As I understand it the bclk is a little sensitive with this x79 chipset but I was curious if perhaps I have a bad board. I dont remember having any of these issues with my old X58.

    Any input from other sabertooth users? I have posted on another forum but did not get any response from sabertooth owners. One guy with a MSI board reported something similar.

    Motherboard: ASUS X79 Sabertooth Processor: i7 3820 @ 4.6ghz Memory: 16gb (4x4GB Samsung MV-3V4G3D/US

  8. #658
    Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    676
    Depending on your OC adjustments a double boot after power loss is normal. The system might completing some sort of training, then require a power down in order to apply settings.

  9. #659
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    As Cx-ray said, this is normal.
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  10. #660
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1

    Question P9X79 PRO Problem Upgrading to BIOS 2104 Using CAP Converter

    I was running BIOS 1203.ROM and upgraded to the 2104 using the CAP converter. All seemed to go well, the machine rebooted a number of times and then into the BIOS. It showed 2104 so I thought all was good. I then saved and exited and the machined re-booted and I got a message "Bad Disk". I tried to reboot into BIOS but it kept coming back to the error message.

    Luckily I am paranoid, so I had already purchased a 2104 BIOS chip from the ASUS eStore. So I pulled the chip and replaced it with my ASUS pre-flashed chip. Same thing happened again! Got the bad disk error and could not get back to BIOS screen.

    So, I pressed the Clear CMOS button and the machine booted normally. I was able to enter the BIOS screen and make some changes and the machine rebooted normally into Windows 7.

    One problem: the Q-Code display is permanently stuck on "04" - but this cannot be a real Q-Code because the machine is fully functional and runs normally. I contacted ASUS tech support and they said not to worry about --LOL!

    It appears the Q-Code display is locked up and no longer functions. Any ideas on how to fix it? I am reluctant to do anything because it is not causing any problems. Has anyone seen this behavior?

    Thanks...

  11. #661
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Rampage 4 Gene - dead after bios flashback

    Guys, I just received my long awaited 3960X so I assembled a rig based around a Gene I bought used. At first attempt to boot the Debug display showed 62 so I did some research, asked some questions and decided to update the bios. I downloaded the latest bios and cap converter but the flash won't start, if I change the bios suffix to .rom then it appeared to go through the flash procedure but it will not post. The fans spin up for about half a second then it shuts down and tries again in an endless loop. I tried to flash it again, tried different bios versions and another USB stick but the symptoms do not change. I also tried different ram and video card but they make no difference, even having no ram in the mobo gives the same symptom, so what is wrong and how do I fix it?

    Any help would be great.

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  12. #662
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    275
    Has anyone tested the new Dominator Patinum sticks on their X79?

  13. #663
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    2666C10 does 2400C9-11-11 at 1.6Vdimm, my crap 3960X IMC can't handle +2500MHz clocks
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  14. #664
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    53
    After sitting idle for three months my R4E will not post, the fans spin up for a second it then shuts down and tries again. Also BIOS chip number one is extremely hot even when it is not activated.

    I have tried different RAM and graphic card configurations and flashed both BIOS chips using USB flashback.
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme / i7 3930k / G.Skill 4x2GB 2133 / Asus HD7970 / Corsair AX1200
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme / i7 3770k / G.Skill 4x4GB 2133 / EVGA GTX Titan SC SLI / Enermax Platimax 1350

  15. #665
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    the fans spin up for a second it then shuts down and tries again
    That is my symptom also, I hope we find a solution.

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  16. #666
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Any help anyone? Is it worthwhile trying a new bios chip? Only $16.39 off ebay ....
    Last edited by aussie-revhead; 10-22-2012 at 03:07 AM.
    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  17. #667
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52
    Aussie, test the power supply if you haven't yet. I had this issue due to a PSU that went mental.

  18. #668
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    I think its fine but I will try another one anyway.

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  19. #669
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    53
    I tried another PSU but it didn't help with my problem.

    @Raja, does Asus do cross shipment RMA's on the R4E?
    Last edited by MetalRacer; 10-23-2012 at 03:17 AM.
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme / i7 3930k / G.Skill 4x2GB 2133 / Asus HD7970 / Corsair AX1200
    ASUS Maximus V Extreme / i7 3770k / G.Skill 4x4GB 2133 / EVGA GTX Titan SC SLI / Enermax Platimax 1350

  20. #670
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Quote Originally Posted by MetalRacer View Post
    I tried another PSU but it didn't help with my problem.

    @Raja, does Asus do cross shipment RMA's on the R4E?
    In North America yes (if in stock).

    -Raja
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  21. #671
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Quote Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
    Rampage 4 Gene - dead after bios flashback

    Guys, I just received my long awaited 3960X so I assembled a rig based around a Gene I bought used. At first attempt to boot the Debug display showed 62 so I did some research, asked some questions and decided to update the bios. I downloaded the latest bios and cap converter but the flash won't start, if I change the bios suffix to .rom then it appeared to go through the flash procedure but it will not post. The fans spin up for about half a second then it shuts down and tries again in an endless loop. I tried to flash it again, tried different bios versions and another USB stick but the symptoms do not change. I also tried different ram and video card but they make no difference, even having no ram in the mobo gives the same symptom, so what is wrong and how do I fix it?

    Any help would be great.

    @Raja - any advice for me please?

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  22. #672
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Is the flash drive FAT formatted? If not, it needs to be (FAT, FAT32 etc).

    If not that try older BIOS renamed accordingly.

    Hard to say what else the issue could be - with it being a "used" board and all...
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 10-24-2012 at 05:44 AM.
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  23. #673
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Yes Fat formatted, I tried three bios versions already and used shouldn't matter as it got worse after I attempted bios flashback. I did find afterwards that for some reason the bios chip was not fully seated, does that mean someone has touched it already? Even then shouldn't it still accept a flashback?

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

  24. #674
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,745
    Quote Originally Posted by aussie-revhead View Post
    Yes Fat formatted, I tried three bios versions already and used shouldn't matter as it got worse after I attempted bios flashback. I did find afterwards that for some reason the bios chip was not fully seated, does that mean someone has touched it already? Even then shouldn't it still accept a flashback?

    If it's "used" anything is possible.
    ASUS North America Technical Marketing - If you are based outside North America and require technical assistance or have a query please contact ASUS Support for your region.


    Rampage IV Extreme tweaking guide

    ASUS Z77 UEFI Tuning Guide for overclocking

    Maximus 5 Gene OC Guide

    Maximus VI Series UEFI OC Guide

  25. #675
    Not Yours!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Oslo-Norway
    Posts
    542
    I'm having trouble with my RIVE after updating the bios from 1404 to 3101, on cold boot and reboot it stops for 30 sec on postcode 65 and for 60+ sec on postcode 67, both of these postcodes are memory related if I'm not mistaken.
    I've tried three different CPU's and two sets of memory also tried three different GPU's all with the same result, stock or OC'ed makes no difference.

    Any ideas?


Page 27 of 37 FirstFirst ... 1724252627282930 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •