X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Crosshair V Formula performance (bios settings)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    106

    Crosshair V Formula performance (bios settings)

    i have come up with a short list of critical settings for optimal performance thus far (1 day of use) on the Crosshair V Formula,

    disable C1E, Cool'N'Quiet, C6 state, and also change the default setting of Enabled for ECC (ram option) to Disabled.


    this will net you a consistent frequency for the CPU with the added benefit of the best AHCI performance you can get (especially SSDs). For some reason the Crosshair V Formula defaults to using ECC for the ram settings, which really hurts performance... after changing it to disabled my overall performance increased...


    there may be more options that are just as critical for a solid and consistent performance, but this is the most important i have encountered thus far


    http://i.imgur.com/BO2p3.jpg

    that's a 7.9 on the memory with Kingston ValueRam 1333 DDR3 by disabling the ECC Mode
    Last edited by erek; 11-05-2011 at 09:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    324
    Do you have any test showing performance difference?
    Windows 8.1
    Asus M4A87TD EVO + Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3900MHz + HD3850
    APUs

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31
    I don't get why having ECC enabled would do anything as most memory with ECC is for servers. You would think either way it wouldn't have much affect.

  4. #4
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    Quote Originally Posted by P.A.D> View Post
    I don't get why having ECC enabled would do anything as most memory with ECC is for servers. You would think either way it wouldn't have much affect.
    I forget what exactly but it can affect the memory controller/cache somehow.
    Smile

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,679
    It wouldn't enable ecc for mem, if it did you would hard lock asap without the mem to support it.
    It's the cpu ecc it's enabling, you want that enabled.
    The higher the latency the better on that, speed wise, but... less stability, should be fine though at the highest latency setting for "cpu ecc".
    The speed diff should be min.
    Ecc actually 'aught to speed it up a tiny bit to be honest, though lots of peeps think otherwise it seems...
    From my experience, enabling mem ecc speeds things up a bit, why I don't really know.
    Just know that from messing with it on an old celoron setup, it increased fps on games a bit, 3-4fps.


    CPU: Intel Core i7-4930k [3332B054]
    CPU Heatsink: NZXT Kraken X60
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition (0507 BIOS)
    MEM: 4x 4gig G.Skill [F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD] (Dual Sidded Samsung of Some Sorts)
    PSU: Antec HCP-850 Platinum
    VGA: nVidia Grid VGX K2 (WIP with 2x 680 lightnings)
    Monitor: ASUS VG278HE & 3DVision2 Kit
    Drives: 2x WD Red 2TB Drives [WDBMMA0020HNC-NRSN] (RAID 0), Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD-F60GB3A-BK 60GB SATA3 SSD, Pioneer BDR-2208 Blue Ray Burner
    Case: Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
    OS's: Windows 2003 Enterprise x86 SP2-R2 VLM, Windows 7 Standard Embedded x86 SP1 EVL (128GB Patched), Windows 7 Standard Embedded x64 SP1 EVL
    Mouse: Using generic mouse for now...
    Arm:Samsung Galaxy S IV i9500 Octo-Core Quad Band 16gb Unlocked and 2x 64gig sd cards
    777

    Sig is slightly out of date, I'll update it later ^^


  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by NEOAethyr View Post
    It wouldn't enable ecc for mem, if it did you would hard lock asap without the mem to support it.
    It's the cpu ecc it's enabling, you want that enabled.
    The higher the latency the better on that, speed wise, but... less stability, should be fine though at the highest latency setting for "cpu ecc".
    The speed diff should be min.
    Ecc actually 'aught to speed it up a tiny bit to be honest, though lots of peeps think otherwise it seems...
    From my experience, enabling mem ecc speeds things up a bit, why I don't really know.
    Just know that from messing with it on an old celoron setup, it increased fps on games a bit, 3-4fps.
    That was my train of thought but I've never enabled this as I haven't had any ECC mem for a long time. Anyway I'm pretty sure my Fatality 990FX does not even have this option in the current BIOS. I didn't see it anyhow?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    106
    it's in the system memory section of my bios settings and it's called ECC Mode, and by default this is enabled (but i am hearing that this is a bug). also my WEI performance went from 7.6 or something to 7.9 (and probably beyond 7.9 since it's capped) by disabling ECC Mode.

    http://i.imgur.com/Ck6UY.jpg

  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    what about cpu spread spectrum. Should that be enabled. I'm running a 1090t at 4ghz
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  9. #9
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,482
    Disable Spread Spectrum when overclocking.

    ECC is disabled by default on my CHV, so is C1E and Cn'Q, depends whatever BIOS you are running.
    Smile

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    106
    i am not sure, but i think that disabling C1E, and Cool'N'Quiet (at least CNQ) gave me much higher AHCI performance as in with my Intel X25-M 80GB SSD in HD Tune my performance was much better...

    i made a mistake about the WEI performance because i was also using [D.O.C.P.] DRAM overclocking profile of 1600MHz on my Kingston DDR3 ValueRam... i got some Corsair XMS3 yesterday and the [D.O.C.P.] DRAM overclocking profile of 1600MHz fails to work properly... but also i used the latest bios that just came out...


    so my 7.9 WEI on the DRAM is attributed to the [D.O.C.P.] DRAM overclocking profile of 1600MHz, but i would imagine that the ECC being enabled wouldn't be good unless you actually did have ECC ram...

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    having trouble getting these Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2x4gb ddr3 2000mhz 9-11-9-27 sticks stable at stock settings on the CHV.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226188

    right now i have them at 1.675v at ddr3 2000mhz at 9-11-9-27-38-2T at (when i leave everything on auto it goes to 9-11-9-27-40-1T) hmmm should command rate make much of a difference?

    got 1090t set at 250x16= 4000 @ 1.45v

    had to drop nb clock down to 2500mhz

    any suggestions or need any more bios info?

    running beta 0051 bios should i go with current one on asus website?
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,112
    I have to run my RipJaws at 2T regardless of timings or frequency. But that is what my kits run stock.
    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    GigaByte X570 AORUS LITE
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon VII
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD RX 5700 XT

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    1T or 2T can make a huge stability difference depending on the memory. For quite a long time AMD has an extremely hard time running 1T command rate on any RAM, it was only very recently on the newer chips coming out that the 1T has been doable without some serious tweaking.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  14. #14
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    running 0051 beta bios...no luck getting these Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2x4gb ddr3 2000mhz 9-11-9-27-4-2T sticks stable EVEN at stock settings

    OCCT errors out after 1 min....(is OOCT a good program or should i try like another stability tester like prime 95?)

    would i have luck with the new 0903 bios?

    can i use it with my Phenom II 1090t? or is more optimized for bulldozer?
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    156

    1100t

    [QUOTE=tbone8ty;4995115]running 0051 beta bios...no luck getting these Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 2x4gb ddr3 2000mhz 9-11-9-27-4-2T sticks stable EVEN at stock settings

    OCCT errors out after 1 min....(is OOCT a good program or should i try like another stability tester like prime 95?)

    would i have luck with the new 0903 bios?

    I'm running 0903 bios with redlines at 1866 ...2000 is just too far of a stretch for the controller I believe.

    Quote Originally Posted by erek View Post
    i have come up with a short list of critical settings for optimal performance thus far (1 day of use) on the Crosshair V Formula,

    disable C1E, Cool'N'Quiet, C6 state, and also change the default setting of Enabled for ECC (ram option) to Disabled.


    this will net you a consistent frequency for the CPU with the added benefit of the best AHCI performance you can get (especially SSDs). For some reason the Crosshair V Formula defaults to using ECC for the ram settings, which really hurts performance... after changing it to disabled my overall performance increased...


    there may be more options that are just as critical for a solid and consistent performance, but this is the most important i have encountered thus far


    http://i.imgur.com/BO2p3.jpg

    that's a 7.9 on the memory with Kingston ValueRam 1333 DDR3 by disabling the ECC Mode
    Where do I find the C6 state that you mentioned?
    M7H (1002) | i7-4790K @ 4.8ghz @ 1.366v | cache @ 4.6ghz @ 1.309v |16gb (2x8) Xtreem @ DDR3-2666 (11-13-13-35-1T) | GTX 770 | AX860 PSU

    CVF-Z (2002) | FX-8350 @ 4.6ghz @ 1.4875v | cpu/nb @ 2600 @ 1.275v | ht @ 2600 | 8gb (2x4) Redlines (996997) @ DDR3-2133 (9-11-10-28-1T) | GTX570 | 850Z PSU

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •