Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AMD FX 8120 not working with Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 and 3017 OrochiPi bios

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    108

    AMD FX 8120 not working with Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 and 3017 OrochiPi bios

    title pretty much sums it up... i got in an AMD FX 8120 today, went to try it out with just the regular BIOS... no post, so i decided to try the BETA 3017 bios for Bulldozer and also no post even after loading the cmos settings to default from the bios with my previous phenom ii chip in...


    so what's the deal? does anyone have an Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 anymore? i didn't want to have to buy a new motherboard...

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    did u try resetting the cmos affter u took out the phenom and before u or while the BD was in.

    i would send asus a support ticket though.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    108
    i didn't reset my cmos
    i simply loaded default settings in bios
    with the phenom after it wouldn't post with the BD

  4. #4
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,389
    All 3017 BIOSes only work with previous unreleased steppings of Bulldozers. They don't work with retail CPUs. You have to wait for a new version.
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    MA.
    Posts
    1,974

    Thumbs down

    Isn't that 1 of the boards that Asus championed as being supported months ago?

    Forget it, we know how that turned out.........AMD put the brakes on non AM3+ boards, although some bioses are in the wild for others.
    This is BS, that chip is pretty bad, they should allow ANYONE that has a board that CAN run it do so, as the sales of that thing will be weak(forget that BS "hard launch" low availability garbage ) because it performs so poorly.
    Put a disclaimer in it stating " Although some AM3 boards are capable of running the BD, Turbo 2 and some other features will NOT work with any NON AM3+ board, and AMD will not be responsible blah blah blah...".

    I only use AMD chips, so don't bother blasting my opinion of this chip, I'm already disgusted enough as it is.
    Zen2 Has brought AMD back!

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    108
    Dear Valued Customer,

    Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

    My name is Andrew and it's my pleasure to help you with your problem.

    There will be a BIOS to be released to solve the problem,but we donot asure the time,please leave an eye for our offically website.

    Welcome to refer Troubleshooting & FAQ for ASUS products in ASUS website:
    http://support.asus.com/servicehome.aspx?SLanguage=en

    If you continue to experience issues in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Best Regards,

    Andrew

    ASUS Customer Service

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    10
    Will you please let us know when you hear anything? I will do the same
    We have the same board. I got the FX-8150 sitting here doing nothing

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •