Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 57

Thread: FX4100--><--955Be Battle of the X4’s

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    660

    FX4100--><--955Be Battle of the X4’s

    I haven’t seen any results here at XS for the FX4100 X4 so as I do own one I thought I’d post some bench test results.

    I figured while I was at it I would do a compare with a 955Be. I was hoping to match the processors clock for clock but the 955Be couldn’t quite finish wPrime 1024 at the clocks I had tested the FX4100 (4.5GHz). Anyway the 955Be did run all the tests @4446MHz so I called that close enough for now.
    These tests were completed using ambient water cooling (68-70F air temp) with the system installed inside a Corsair 600T case. Before anyone asks no it won’t run prime95 for any great length of time either with the cover on or off but it will run all the tests shown with the cover (side door) on or off.

    I tested with the case on its side in order to gain the weight of the pot on the CPU and also to help keep it flat on the CPU lid in order to maintain good contact. I does run fine when the case is vertical or in its normal orientation but as I said I didn’t test in that orientation.

    These are my results, your results my vary.

    System spec.
    CPU, FX4100 @4503MHz or 955Be @4446MHz
    Motherboard, AsRock 990 FX Extreme4 (1.30 bios)
    GFX, 2X5870’s in crossfire 850/1200MHz (default clocks)
    OS, Windows 7 64-bit
    Custom water cooling as seen in the photo (using ambient air temperature on the rads)

    The FX4100 clocks/settings were set as shown in the photo below.


    The 955Be clocks/settings were set as shown in the photo below


    Open case photo (pretest) of the system showing the Fluke temperature reading at idle (the fluke probe is installed in the bottom of the F1 pot as normal).


    Closed case photo 955Be (pretest of wPrime 1024) of the system showing the Fluke temperature reading at idle plus a ambient air thermometer (sorry but it reads in Fahrenheit).


    SS of 955Be systems temperatures/volts (pretest of wPrime 1024)

    Closed case photo 955Be (post test of wPrime 1024) of the system showing the Fluke temperature reading at full load plus the ambient air thermometer.


    SS of 955Be systems temperatures/volts at the moment of the wPrime 1024 test completion.











  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    madison wis.
    Posts
    177
    not real favorable for fx4100 , seems almost comparable to a phenomI 9850 . i need to compare against my old scores. how high could you clock it though?

    nope, even a old phenom 9850 beats it in wprime32
    http://www.hwbot.org/submission/7769...50_10sec_980ms
    at 1000mhz less too.
    Last edited by equinox1; 10-20-2011 at 01:02 PM.
    amd FX8120
    asus sabertooth 990fx
    6970 amd
    corsair dominator gt 2000 4 gig
    2x 74 gig raptors raid 0
    pcpower 1200 watt

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    mhm.....
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,737
    because FX 4110 is not "true" quadcore, but 2M/4T...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    madison wis.
    Posts
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    because FX 4110 is not "true" quadcore, but 2M/4T...
    lol , well then they should rename it to FX-2100
    amd FX8120
    asus sabertooth 990fx
    6970 amd
    corsair dominator gt 2000 4 gig
    2x 74 gig raptors raid 0
    pcpower 1200 watt

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,789
    AMD has really dropped the ball..
    Sandy Bridge 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.28v | MSI p67a-gd65 B3 Mobo | Samsung ddr3 8gb |
    Swiftech apogee drive II | Coolgate 120| GTX660ti w/heat killer gpu x| Seasonic x650 PSU

    QX9650 @ 4ghz | P5K-E/WIFI-AP Mobo | Hyperx ddr2 1066 4gb | EVGA GTX560ti 448 core FTW @ 900mhz | OCZ 700w Modular PSU |
    DD MC-TDX CPU block | DD Maze5 GPU block | Black Ice Xtreme II 240 Rad | Laing D5 Pump

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    madison wis.
    Posts
    177
    ok this is nuts . heres my 9950 phenom in wp1024
    http://www.hwbot.org/submission/8024...0_374sec_160ms
    it is clocked 1300 mhz lower than the 4100 and still beats it by almost 100 seconds.
    im tempted to steal my wifes internet cruiser with a 9950 in it and slap water on it and run TOT's same benches
    Last edited by equinox1; 10-20-2011 at 01:28 PM.
    amd FX8120
    asus sabertooth 990fx
    6970 amd
    corsair dominator gt 2000 4 gig
    2x 74 gig raptors raid 0
    pcpower 1200 watt

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    304
    Quote Originally Posted by equinox1 View Post
    lol , well then they should rename it to FX-2100
    Well, if amd marketed them as 2xxx,3xxx and 4xxx, while naming them as 2,3,4 module/CU cpus without mention to "cores", then maybe, and just maybe, reviews could be a little more positive. Having the 2CU/4C maketed as a 4 core, while slower than their older true 4 cores, and an 8 core striving against the older 6 core wasn't a good choice if performance didn't scale as the name implies. Even if they'd lose the chance to claim the first 8 core desktop cpu.
    If one compares a 4CU 8150 to a X4 980, things can look a tad better in the sense of an improvement.
    DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | PII X4 965BE C3 @4.0GHz/NB@2.4GHz + TRUE B 120, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x4GB Ballistix Tactical 1866C9 .16FMR @1600MHz/CL7-8-7-24-1T| RX 480 Gaming X 8G @1303/2000 | SB Z | U3S6 | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200 | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Thanks for the comparison theoldtimer... I'm shocked, AMD has managed to release a new product with worse performance than even Phenom 1. And Ph 1 was bad
    Last edited by Calathea; 10-20-2011 at 01:38 PM.
    Overclocking, it's a lifestyle

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    660
    EQ I clocked this FX4100 to 4950MHz in this same system but it took more vcore than I wanted to use during the early testing. If I remember correctly it wouldn’t finish wPrime 1024 at that clock speed though.

    Quote Originally Posted by equinox1 View Post
    not real favorable for fx4100 , seems almost comparable to a phenomI 9850 . i need to compare against my old scores. how high could you clock it though?

    nope, even a old phenom 9850 beats it in wprime32
    http://www.hwbot.org/submission/7769...50_10sec_980ms
    at 1000mhz less too.

    FLanK3r this is shot of the box top so they are marketing the FX4100 as an X4.


    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    because FX 4110 is not "true" quadcore, but 2M/4T...
    Calathea you’re welcome.
    Fact is I like the FX4100. Clock for clock it runs a lot cooler than the 955Be. So far in everyday use (normal tasks) it feels fast. TBH I haven’t tested it as a real world gamers build so?

    Quote Originally Posted by Calathea View Post
    Thanks for the comparison theoldtimer... I'm shocked, AMD has managed to release a new product with worse performance than even Phenom 1. And Ph 1 was bad

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    406
    Disappointing

    Does it really take 1.5v for 4.5 stable? Would of thought these would clock higher Can you crank the ram up to 2200ish and try again?

    They aren't even cheap... Eh, at least the potblock works well
    My pot is bigger than your pot

    WHAU!!!!

  12. #12
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,479
    I don't care what the box says, we may as well think of these CPU's as 2/3/4 vs 4/6/8...
    FlanK3r has attempted damage control as much as possible, however some attempts are failing.

    It's a dual core without dual core ST perf, but enhanced MT...

    It's great vs i3 2100 series because you can overclock it so much, I'd take it in a heartbeat over i3. However vs AMD's old quad it (was, is, and will be easy to see) more than disappoints.

    @El Gappo and OT
    A pot block works so well because the pot base acts as a huge buffer...this isn't good with thermal transfer as a water block (designed to move heat quickly from CPU > water in loop) ...idle temps suffer a lot but load temps are pretty nice

    What would be really cool is if we could inject LN2 into an all copper block in a continuous open loop

    This is coming from what I learned from Aaron Schradin over facebook. I believe chew* has the only or one of the only two tops for his "phantom" base.
    Last edited by BeepBeep2; 10-20-2011 at 03:52 PM.
    Smile

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    China
    Posts
    266
    @theoldtimer
    Can you try to unlock modules/Cores on FX-4100?






  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    660
    1.45v set in the bios LLC at ½ but yes that’s what it needed because when I lowered either setting it crashed out in wPrime 1024. I’ve notice that the vcore as read from the ASRock tuning utility is different from test to test so who knows how much vcore is really going through it.

    The idea of the test was to compare the old and the new head to head clock for clock or as close as I could get. I ran a bunch of different bench tests trying not to favor one processor over the other. Do you think the tests were somehow unfair toward one or the other processor?



    Quote Originally Posted by El Gappo View Post
    Disappointing

    Does it really take 1.5v for 4.5 stable? Would of thought these would clock higher Can you crank the ram up to 2200ish and try again?

    They aren't even cheap... Eh, at least the potblock works well
    Beep maybe you don’t care how the processor box is labeled but most people depend on the labeling to determine what they’re buying.

    So are you on damage control along with FLanK3r? If so that’s very interesting. I think that’s the first time in my entire life I required damage control. I don’t know what to think about that. LOL, just playing with you Beep


    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    I don't care what the box says, we may as well think of these CPU's as 2/3/4 vs 4/6/8...
    FlanK3r has attempted damage control as much as possible, however some attempts are failing.

    It's a dual core without dual core ST perf, but enhanced MT...

    It's great vs i3 2100 series because you can overclock it so much, I'd take it in a heartbeat over i3. However vs AMD's old quad it (was, is, and will be easy to see) more than disappoints.

    @El Gappo and OT
    A pot block works so well because the pot base acts as a huge buffer...this isn't good with thermal transfer as a water block (designed to move heat quickly from CPU > water in loop) ...idle temps suffer a lot but load temps are pretty nice

    What would be really cool is if we could inject LN2 into an all copper block in a continuous open loop

    This is coming from what I learned from Aaron Schradin over facebook. I believe chew* has the only or one of the only two tops for his "phantom" base.
    I'll try it as soon as I get the FX reinstalled, maybe tomorrow?
    Quote Originally Posted by Royalk View Post
    @theoldtimer
    Can you try to unlock modules/Cores on FX-4100?

  15. #15
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,479
    Quote Originally Posted by theoldtimer View Post
    Beep maybe you don’t care how the processor box is labeled but most people depend on the labeling to determine what they’re buying.

    So are you on damage control along with FLanK3r? If so that’s very interesting. I think that’s the first time in my entire life I required damage control. I don’t know what to think about that. LOL, just playing with you Beep
    First things I heard from him were things like
    "Cinebench score is higher overclocked than Thuban" ...then it turned into stuff like "Who uses Cinebench or even Excel, use real programs like Handbrake...and look at Tom's Hardware at the ABBYY FineReader result, and WinRAR result, everyone uses that!"

    ...not just him either

    Personally I prefer 7-Zip + FilZip combo, but thats just me.

    The only thing I care about right now is gaming performance, which lacks.
    Smile

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by theoldtimer View Post
    1.45v set in the bios LLC at ½ but yes that’s what it needed because when I lowered either setting it crashed out in wPrime 1024. I’ve notice that the vcore as read from the ASRock tuning utility is different from test to test so who knows how much vcore is really going through it.

    The idea of the test was to compare the old and the new head to head clock for clock or as close as I could get. I ran a bunch of different bench tests trying not to favor one processor over the other. Do you think the tests were somehow unfair toward one or the other processor?
    As fair as a cpc comparison can be, just think a balls to the walls max OC would be more relevant given how much higher bulldozer does clock. The deneb must be pretty stretched @ 4.5 on water.

    The IMC and clock speeds are like the only redeeming features it seems right now and there's some headroom in there
    My pot is bigger than your pot

    WHAU!!!!

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,737
    Quote Originally Posted by equinox1 View Post
    lol , well then they should rename it to FX-2100
    because marketing....From my point of view could be better for AMD "first 4-module design with impressive 8 threads" or something simillary...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    392
    with the 955 being sold for 120 USD, the 4100 should be sold for 90 usd or less
    same price as PII X2 and AII X4...
    I think this is a more important point then calling it quad or dual... the problem is, that from what I'm seeing they are selling it for more than a PII X4... which seems like a clearly superior CPU...

    also you can try a 960t for 120 usd and unlock it to a x6

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    how far in MHz that FX4100 should go to have same score as 955BE ?

    500MHz ?
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Aland Islands, Finland
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks for the charts oldtimer
    However I was expecting much, much higher OC on the fx-4xxx. I guess its one more thing that points at how un-mature the process really are. And these fx-4xxx/fx-6xxx must really be the bottom scrape binning? At least I would have expected it to clock to the 5ghz range. Or you just got really unlucky on this one

    The 8120 actually seems like a pretty sweet deal. And just imagine once the process matures, and we get much higher clocks, BD will really start to shine
    But at lower core counts the phenom II is still the way to go, no way to deny that.
    Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
    AMD FX-8350
    AMD ref. HD 6950 2Gb x 2
    4x4Gb HyperX T1
    Corsair AX1200
    3 x Alphacool triple, 2 x Alphacool ATXP 6970/50, EK D5 dual top, EK Supreme HF

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict Chrono Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,134
    Terrible results for the FX-4100, even the 2 year old 955 still outperforms FX-4100. AMD really messed up with Bulldozer, its like Phenom 1 again, but at least its a good overclocker but whats the point if its performance is poor?
    AMD Threadripper 12 core 1920x CPU OC at 4Ghz | ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme X399 motherboard | 32GB G.Skill Trident RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 RAM | Gigabyte 11GB GTX 1080 Ti Aorus Xtreme GPU | SilverStone Strider Platinum 1000W Power Supply | Crucial 1050GB MX300 SSD | 4TB Western Digital HDD | 60" Samsung JU7000 4K UHD TV at 3840x2160

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    581
    Could you do some cpu-limited games? And measure power consumption?

  23. #23
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    6,173
    All things point to rather unfinished product. It kind of looks like 45nm BD they scrapped . The 32nm BD that was supposed to have higher IPC somehow ended up with much lower IPC and clock ceiling of 3.6Ghz on rather problematic 32nm process from GloFo. Who knows what kind of "fixing" AMD had to do in order to get BD out of the door in this form (What can cost you 15-25% in IPC? cache latencies,instruction latencies, prefetch disabled,branch predictors not performing as projected,front end problems etc.). We can hope that Piledriver and other succeeding cores will have all the bells and whistles working as AMD intended for this first 32nm Bulldozer.

    But on a brighter side,AMD needs just to lower the price on FX4000 series and tweak with GloFo a process a little more . If they would have made a native 2 module die it would probably be having a bit more clock headroom,but this separate die approach costs more money of course.
    Last edited by informal; 10-21-2011 at 04:49 AM.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    967
    Thanks for your post , I wish I can get a FX-4100 to compare with my 955BE too
    but the local vendor don't even have it in stock

    Now I can just save the money and skip 4100

    Gaming Rig
    CPU : AMD FX-8300 (Vcore 1.275V )
    HSF : Thermalright AXP140 with GELID WING 14
    MB : ASUS M5A88-M
    RAM : Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 LP 4GB x4
    VGA : Galaxy GTX660 2GB GDDR5
    PSU : FSP Aurum 500W 80PLUS GOLD
    Case : Lian-Li PC-A04
    SSD : Plextor M5S 256GB

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    660
    Right now I'm retesting the 955Be @ default clocks to see how that compares to the FX4100 @4.5GHz and then I’ll swap out the 955 for the FX4100 and beat on it some. The 955 doesn’t have much more left in it beyond 4446MHz as far as overclocking under ambient water cooling in the case at least not for the heavy tests @full load 4 cores so clocking it down to compare is about all I can do at the moment.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •