OCN1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 38

Thread: Big 2 stage cascade by piotres (2x 2+HP)

  1. #1
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293

    Big 2 stage cascade by piotres (2x 2+HP)

    Hello

    I'm making currently 2 stager with monsterous big 230V 1PH rotaries 2 rotaries over 25K BTU (2+HP).

    +4 pressure gauges, 2 controllers, bypass, 2x cut-off, big expansion tank, 2 plate HXes (one as SLHX on 2nd stage).

    Case with 4mm thick steel baseplate (because each compressor is over 25kg ).

    Specs :

    compressors: Toshiba PA290X3CS-4MU1 on 1st stage, plus Toshiba PA270X3CS-4MU1 on 2nd stage
    evap: steeper 54mm
    XV: captube 0.9 mm / captube 0.9 mm (on both stages)
    HX: plate HX , 30 plates
    condenser: 6.0 Kw, alu-cu, cooled by FENGDA FDA350E4/G 350mm 230V fan
    refrigerants : R507/R1150
    oilseparator : Shine Year automatic
    safety : 2x RANCO cut-offs (one to each stage), Torrecilla 2.4l expansion tank
    case : Laser cutted and powder coated case (black), wheels
    others: Bypass valve - Castel handvalve, 4*REFCO panel gauges, Carel "easy" controller (turn on 2nd stage automatically when 1st stage is enought cold), PID controller as a temperature display on 2nd stage, red paint coated pipes, 350mm EBM fan on back wall, cork sound insulation.


    It'll be worklog .






































































    Today I plan to screw all parts to baseplate

    Regards
    Peter

    ----------------

    UPDATE 28.11.2011:









    Unloaded temperatures . Carel controller on 1st stage shows around 8*C higher temperature than real, and that's end of it's probe tune area .







    Loaded with 315W dummyload .



    Sound level loaded .





    Black cascade and mine black cat .















    Last edited by piotres; 12-11-2011 at 04:56 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,014
    Why do you need such big compressors?

  3. #3
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    Because I want as low temperatures as possible with 2 stages.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,543
    Thats your big 54mm Stepper Evap ?

    Nice rig so far P

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    338
    Looking good Peter. Shall be keeping a close eye on this build because i've got 2 large Rotary's sat here waiting for something to be done with them.
    DFI LP UT P35-T2R/E8600 @ 5.1ghz/Modded Mach2 GT
    EVGA Classified/i975 @ 5.04ghz/Custom built SS
    3x2gig G-Skill Perfect Storm
    Asus 5970
    2x150gig Velociraptors/250gig Caviar
    PCP&P Turbocool 1KW



  6. #6
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    Quote Originally Posted by Buckeye View Post
    Thats your big 54mm Stepper Evap ?
    Yes .

  7. #7
    -100c Club
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia, Europe
    Posts
    2,284
    Those 54mm's are sweet. I use it on my cascade! It's a bit of a tight fit on the graphics cards though G92 cards fit *just* barely :P

  8. #8
    /dev/zero
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    3,646
    I have one on my cascade too. It's one piece of quality work^^

    Looking forward to the temps of that beast.
    Xtremesystems.org
    i7-4820K * ryba 2-stager + 1-stager * EVGA X79 Dark * 32G Team Xtreem 2666C11 * EVGA GTX 680 SC Sig. * Intel G2 80G * Corsair HX1000 * Lian Li PC-70B * Watercool Heatkiller, EK Fullcover/Backplate for GTX, MCP355 Dual Setup@Koolance RP-402X2, PA120.3+Alphacool 360, Tubing 16/10.


  9. #9

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    3,543
    Quote Originally Posted by piotres View Post
    Today I plan to screw all parts to baseplate

    Regards
    Peter
    Thats all your going to do today Peter !!!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    drammen
    Posts
    162
    Thats an awsome build

    love it<3
    love what you do make who you are

  12. #12
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    what are projected temps love your work
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,286
    Why so many feeds into the evap? Also whats the valve in post 9 being used for? Is it a bypass?

    Thanks for starting a thread things have been so slow...
    Never empower an idiot with a response....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    Seller/Buyer Reputation:
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=50905
    Ebay: {Family Account} Kasyg3 http://myworld.ebay.com/kasyg3/
    Ebay: {My personal Account} Sdumper http://myworld.ebay.com/sdumper/
    iTrader: http://www.blazingpc.com/forum/itrader.php?u=28

  14. #14
    Diablo 3! Who's Excited?
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    9,440
    Quote Originally Posted by sdumper View Post
    Why so many feeds into the evap? Also whats the valve in post 9 being used for? Is it a bypass?

    Thanks for starting a thread things have been so slow...
    Looks to me like a dual refrigerant feed and a hot gas by pass or swap those around. Have a feeling the valve is used for the by-pass as it is positioned to be accessible from the front panel.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,286
    Quote Originally Posted by sdumper View Post
    Why so many feeds into the evap? Also whats the valve in post 9 being used for? Is it a bypass?

    Thanks for starting a thread things have been so slow...
    Probably right but I wonder how thats going to work out. I would be concerned with flooding the evap.
    Never empower an idiot with a response....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    Seller/Buyer Reputation:
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=50905
    Ebay: {Family Account} Kasyg3 http://myworld.ebay.com/kasyg3/
    Ebay: {My personal Account} Sdumper http://myworld.ebay.com/sdumper/
    iTrader: http://www.blazingpc.com/forum/itrader.php?u=28

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wherever I may roam
    Posts
    680
    Nice!!! looks kinda familiar.
    ____________________________________________

    More & more very expensive, quickly obsolete parts!!

  17. #17
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    1x captube 0,9mm + 2x 1,4mm captubes as a bypass outlet into evaporator . Castel hand valve is bypass.

    Plate HXes brazed :






  18. #18
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    95
    It promises to be interesting.
    I look forward to continuing the relationship.

    Good luck

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,286
    Looks really clean.

    Ive been meaning to ask...where do you get those cascade cases? Do you have a machine to bend the sheet metal or does someone custom make them for you?
    Never empower an idiot with a response....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    Seller/Buyer Reputation:
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=50905
    Ebay: {Family Account} Kasyg3 http://myworld.ebay.com/kasyg3/
    Ebay: {My personal Account} Sdumper http://myworld.ebay.com/sdumper/
    iTrader: http://www.blazingpc.com/forum/itrader.php?u=28

  20. #20
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    They're custom made for me in company in Poland. Quality IMO is very good . All parts of case fit together without any problems.

    Today I braze 1st stage, not it's being evacuated, pics tomorrow .

  21. #21
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293




    I must change compressor on 1st stage for brand new Toshiba approx 28000BTU - "old" one was light used compressor, newertheless is has a leak (yes, leak on compressor :-O - first time I've seen that) on top, near electric connections. After I finish that project I try to weld and reapair it, now it has gone to shelf in mine workshop.

    so now 2 brand new and BIG rotaries in the cascade .



    Old one unbrazed .



    New one mounted .



















    Cascade is 100% brazed, during some next days I plan loadtests .
    Last edited by piotres; 10-08-2011 at 04:31 PM.

  22. #22
    /dev/zero
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Germany, Berlin
    Posts
    3,646
    That fan is huge... as are the compressors! What model are they?

    PG440X3CS-4MU1
    PG460X3CS-4MU1

    Mine (PG215X2C-4FT 13k BTU, PG295X2CS-4KU1 18k BTU) look tiny compared to those!

    /edit. Weight in the 100kg area?
    Xtremesystems.org
    i7-4820K * ryba 2-stager + 1-stager * EVGA X79 Dark * 32G Team Xtreem 2666C11 * EVGA GTX 680 SC Sig. * Intel G2 80G * Corsair HX1000 * Lian Li PC-70B * Watercool Heatkiller, EK Fullcover/Backplate for GTX, MCP355 Dual Setup@Koolance RP-402X2, PA120.3+Alphacool 360, Tubing 16/10.


  23. #23
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    They're PA270 + PA290 if I remember well, but I must check. they're both for R410a. Shop rated both as approx 8,2kW. Yes, weight approx 100kg .

  24. #24
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    95
    Hi,
    How to progress at work?

  25. #25
    -100c Club Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,293
    Like wrote above . Wednesday I trully hope to see first frost on it . I didn't have time at sunday .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •