Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: i5 655k 5.3Ghz QPI & E8600 3D01 on DICE

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120

    E8600 6ghz+ on Ln2 & 655k

    UPDATE***

    Last week I was able to get a hold of 20L of Ln2 for some nice and fun overclocking on the E8600 and rampage Formula. YES, i know my ram is crappy....D9's kicked the bucket and havent gotten any more

    max frequency:

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2095032



    was able to get 6350 benchable in the hour or 2 before mobo went nuts on me



    quick 1m



    and pics!





    Ghetto Thermos (yes those are socks :p )








    OLD OP:


    Did a bit of benching last night to test out this new 655k I just got last week, and man, is she a good chip. Booted straight to windows at 5.2Ghz QPI
    Unfortnuately MSI GD80 board has a rubbish BIOS so BCL and IMC testing are put on hold until i get a working H55M-UD2H....



    Chip also has a great core, did near 6.1 @ -70C with 1.835v real voltage




    After wards, I wanted to play some 01 with my favorite CPU



    5820 on DICE aint so bad!

    though if you look on hwbot it doesnt have anything on a 5.2Ghz sandy...

    thanks for looking!
    Last edited by Wumpus; 11-13-2011 at 01:07 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    wow 1156 & 775 still fun
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    413
    Whoa Wump! Nice results!

    Good luck finding the GB board!


    i7 920 / X58A-OC / Dominator GT 2000 7-8-7 / 5870 Lightning

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    get more cold soon mate and let that E8600 rip... seems like a nice CPU
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  5. #5
    -_-
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ATLanta, Ga.
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by PatRaceTin View Post
    wow 1156 & 775 still fun
    always

    Nice benching
    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam View Post
    I'll add my name to this elpida graveyard as soon I even think about running 32M. (yes, the thought is enough)



  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by bassplayer View Post
    Whoa Wump! Nice results!

    Good luck finding the GB board!

    thanks man, should be arriving in a few days....BCLK madness will ensue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    get more cold soon mate and let that E8600 rip... seems like a nice CPU
    should be getting her on Ln2 soon

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian y. View Post
    always

    Nice benching
    thanks man!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany _ Frankfurt
    Posts
    395
    thats a nice e8600 doing 01 with 5,8 on dice, mine wouldn't even do 1m at that speed on dice

    and try that 655k on ln2, maybe with some classified P55 or else
    www.vitesse24.de
    www.vitesse24.de


    C2Q q6600 3.3GHZ @ 1,184V
    4,5GHZ@ 1,52V ( 9* 500 )




    Corsair Dominator 10000 2gb, 8888 2gb, 9136 1gb

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by aslanwas View Post
    thats a nice e8600 doing 01 with 5,8 on dice, mine wouldn't even do 1m at that speed on dice

    and try that 655k on ln2, maybe with some classified P55 or else

    H55M-UD2H is the clarkdale master...I found it much better for getting fast, efficient scores.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11
    Great chips there! Could you tell me what VID and batch the e8600 is please?

    What kind of 24/7 clocks can the e8600 handle on air?
    ||.. Intel P4 2.4b SL6EF @ 3.19Ghz...||... Lian Li PC70...||
    |... Abit BE7-Raid...| |...GF3 Ti500..||... Corsair XMS PC3500 @ 176Mhz 2-2-2-5...|

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    VID is 1.2125v

    Runs at 4400Mhz (550x8) 1.325v all day long

    need to mention though, chip is very high leakage, runs crazy hot on air or water.....doesn't matter cold but it makes a huge difference for 24/7 settings.

    dont remember batch, and its under a huge cooler so not into getting that at the moment.
    Last edited by Wumpus; 09-18-2011 at 01:36 PM.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    11
    Solid chip, I really wish I could get an E0 chip to work on my Abit IP35-E/Pro

    This C0 e8400 chip I've got now doesn't even like going much higher than 4Ghz
    ||.. Intel P4 2.4b SL6EF @ 3.19Ghz...||... Lian Li PC70...||
    |... Abit BE7-Raid...| |...GF3 Ti500..||... Corsair XMS PC3500 @ 176Mhz 2-2-2-5...|

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by Wumpus View Post
    VID is 1.2125v

    Runs at 4400Mhz (550x8) 1.325v all day long
    Isnt that Vcore too much for 4.4? I had 2 E8400 chips with that VID and they needed ~1.34v for 4.5. Of course these chips are very hot on air or water but nice clockers under sub zero . Try it on LN2, seems a good chip under cold, my best E8400(the world record one), can only do 5.6ghz on SS for 3dm01 and may be 5.8 with the first core which is way better but, hope to try it soon on more serious cooling again . Of course the low multi is the problem there.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Game View Post
    Isnt that Vcore too much for 4.4? I had 2 E8400 chips with that VID and they needed ~1.34v for 4.5. Of course these chips are very hot on air or water but nice clockers under sub zero . Try it on LN2, seems a good chip under cold, my best E8400(the world record one), can only do 5.6ghz on SS for 3dm01 and may be 5.8 with the first core which is way better but, hope to try it soon on more serious cooling again . Of course the low multi is the problem there.
    The second core of the CPU is much worse than the first. First core passes at 4.5 around 1.325v, but I need no less than 1.36v for both to be stable.

    Also, using the high FSB of 550, I need a bit more CPU voltage for stability. at 440x10 I can use less than 1.3v.

    should hopefully have a shot with this one on Ln2 within about a month

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Yeah it`s the same for My E8400 . The first core needs 1.27v for 4.5Ghz, but with 2 cores it needs 1.32v. Second core is ~150-200MHz worse than the first one. But having a good first core is ok, if u want to bench Super Pi or playing for validation when u disable the second one .

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Game View Post
    Yeah it`s the same for My E8400 . The first core needs 1.27v for 4.5Ghz, but with 2 cores it needs 1.32v. Second core is ~150-200MHz worse than the first one. But having a good first core is ok, if u want to bench Super Pi or playing for validation when u disable the second one .
    dang, I cant believe I forgot to disable cores when i went for a valid on that chip!
    I had both cores up to 6100Mhz

    first core I am guessing would have maybe 6200+ ? Will be interesting when i get it cold again.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1954761

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    6100 with that voltage and no LN2 is really good. I with I had a chip like yours with that 10x multi .
    For sure my chip can go way higher than this - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1621894
    but I really need a higher multi .

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    damn amazing result there man! That is some magic silicon you got in that CPU!

    the gigabyte EP45 boards are FSB Monsters for sure! the DDR3 version is mega drool worthy!

    I am hoping for more than 6.5 with this guy on Ln2, though not sure where limit will ultimately be.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    I would hope for a WR with that chip u have . Cant wait to see how high this chip is gonna fly .
    Good luck.

    And yeah EP45T Extreme is the FSB king, but it also has limits . So I never tried my CPU on LN2, cause its useless the board cant go higher than this, but may be I`ll try soon again, and may be LN2 on CPU helps for more FSB too .

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    good news, H55M-UD2H arriving tomorrow, but bad news is no time to bench it for a while...

    Going to resurrect my old 8800GTX as well, memory voltage IC is toasted, just needs some zombie power action and shes back at 1300 on the mems

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outside of Detriot
    Posts
    395
    Nice work Wump!

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Coeur d' Alene, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    585
    Nice clocks, looking forward to see LN2 results
    "If It Doesn't Overclock Its Broken"
    "NexGen Overclocking"
    "Overclocking, its a life style"

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    UPDATE***

    Last week I was able to get a hold of 20L of Ln2 for some nice and fun overclocking on the E8600 and rampage Formula.

    max frequency:

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2095032



    was able to get 6350 benchable in the hour or 2 before mobo went nuts on me



    quick 1m



    and pics!





    Ghetto Thermos (yes those are socks :p )






  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,579
    i want that pot

    its soo biggg

    drats i forgot to send the flasks, i'll send 2 via parcel(i forgot your addy, please pm)


  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    120
    haha this pot is actually less massive than you think

    only ~2.5KG

    reacts really fast but is still easy to control

    and PM incoming honda!


    more pics of pot:

    http://overclockaholics.com/forums/s...5&postcount=10
    Last edited by Wumpus; 11-13-2011 at 12:56 PM.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Nice results, but push it higher man. Its only 1.85v, 6.5+ GHz 1m ?
    That`s my result with Cascade. I really wish I had ur 10x multi, it seems ur chip is also very good, and u have high multi, so try for higher scores .
    http://store.picbg.net/pubpic/D3/3E/...84a659d33e.JPG

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •