Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: using an LED TV as a monitor

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163

    using an LED TV as a monitor

    Hello,
    I just bought a 32" Samsung LED TV (3d) to use as my new computer monitor. I'm having some problems:

    My computer has become really slow and laggy with the monitor
    The image just isn't as sharp at all. Like when searching on goolge i cant see the text clearly that under the search titles.
    Running on a 1920x1080 resolution just makes the screen too big for the monitor (like it doesnt fit)

    My specs are:

    Core i7 2600K sandy Bridge
    GTX 570
    8GB ram

    Im pretty sure its not my PC. Am i just using a really slow monitor of some sort? Or do i need to install some sort of drivers for this to work? My computer just feels really slow and laggy.

    This is the TV i bought:
    http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN32D6000SFXZA
    Here's a print screen of my... screen?
    http://imageshack.us/f/11/2tv.png/

    Thanks.
    Last edited by mussafry; 09-02-2011 at 12:29 PM.
    Intel i7 2600K
    Asus P67 Saybertooth Rev 3.0
    2x eVGA GTX 680
    4x8gb corsair dominators
    Corsair 1000HX
    LD Cooling LD-V8

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,145
    1st buying a samsung was a mistake they are not 1080p, they are ntsc 1080p with overscan for most tvs.

    u need to find the overscan settings in the NV control panel and set overscan, that will fit everything to the screen. u also need to go into the settings and see if there is an option to run it in 1:1 or with more h.size or any options that limit the overscan. u also need to disable the clear motion, color correction, noise reduction and every other setting that "cleans up" tv signals. and if that dose not work take it back and get the Panasonic since the samsung uses a pva or mva panel it will always lag were panasonic is ips.

    and make sure that the tv is not in 3d mode, samsung dose not support proper 3d they support frame splitting and not 120hz 1080p.
    Last edited by zanzabar; 09-02-2011 at 12:37 PM.
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher Kingcarcas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    1000 Elysian Park Ave
    Posts
    2,651
    You try that "Cleartype" or "cleartext" or whatever setting? I think i'm gonna get a Vizio 32'' as well since they're the same price as a monitor.
    i3-3225 | GTX650 Ti
    E6850 | GT430

    Assume nothing; Question everything

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,145
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingcarcas View Post
    You try that "Cleartype" or "cleartext" or whatever setting? I think i'm gonna get a Vizio 32'' as well since they're the same price as a monitor.
    for a monitor u need IPS so u need to go panasonic or lg, and if u go panasonic u can get a regular 60hz no overscan no false frames, and that will work the best for a monitor (i have a 32" s2 and it was the best ever made for an lcd led or ccfl.) the key to making it work as a monitor to to disable overscan, disable all color or noise correction and to make sure that u have your graphics card set up with the correct color settings, refresh (some need 59hz some need 60 and some do both but like one better.) and with newer expensive sets and especially the ones with false frame motion crap or led back lights u need to set them up as they come messed up so they look nice with the low quality content at best buy or with bad inputs, but from a computer u have the best possible output so u just need to not it up.

    then with 3d there is a huge problem that not all tvs support real 3d, most do 60hz extended frame but u need to get one that can natively do 120hz 1080p.


    with the SS, the image is fine so its not the graphics card, start with turning the tv to 16:9, disabling smart view, disable dynamic contrast, disable motion lighting, disable edge enhance, disable led motion plus, disable auto motion plus, disable digital/mpeg noise reduction, disable blur/judder reduction
    Last edited by zanzabar; 09-02-2011 at 02:54 PM.
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    104
    So...guys

    this panasonic TC-L32DT30

    http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-e...00000000005702

    VS

    a dell 27in monitor


    EDIT: and you can connect your PC to TVs via DVI to HDMI cables?
    Last edited by CharMz; 09-02-2011 at 04:13 PM.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast Frag Maniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    LOL, I was narrowing down my choices to the very same two products, until I saw the Panasonic TC-L32U3 in a store that had a very clean video feed and read the reviews on it. It's all you really need for what you're talking about. Unless you insist on getting a couple high powered GPUs and a hefty PSU and playing at 2560x1440, the U2711 (if that's what you meant) is overkill. Unless you insist on having 3D, net connectivity, and 120Hz processing, which is practically useless in that size of TV, the TC-L32DT30 is overkill.

    The TC-L32U3 is an excellent set even for multipurpose use, especially if you make some minor adjustments for desktop monitor use, but even there, the extra tweaking is only needed if you are viewing text in shades of red. You should listen to zan, he made a lot of good points.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member jackies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    101
    You have to look through the tv settings, find native 16:9 or some other pixel-to-pixel mode.
    Some (better?) TVs also have a setting called "PC" or "GAME" that switches off some video processing for reduced lag.
    Sometimes you have to pick that as a name for certain input.
    I recently got a LG tv to use as a monitor, and its perfect - had a sony before that, didn't like it...
    So I can say I got the right tv after 2 attempts...
    ASUS P5E-WS PRO
    Q6600@3.6 9800GTX both watercooled
    4gb G-Skill
    PCP&C 1kw turbo

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,145
    game mode normally increases dynamic contrast and messes with the color and brightness settings, in modern sets it dose not reduce input lag or ghosting over a properly configured tv. then PC mode is only for the dsub connector on most tvs.

    but like jackies said he had to change to lg from sony, so he changed from mva to ips.
    3770k, M5E, kingston 2x4GB cfr
    samsung 2TB F4EG, samsung 840 250GB , CM690II, corsair 750tx

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    163
    Yeh that samsung screen was just not working. I returned it and got an LG 27" led and its perfectly fine (although its not a tv.)

    last question, right now im running dual monitors. This 27" LG and a 55" samsung TV. The TV is there just for watching pleasures, nothing else. So is there a way to make things that are playing on the samsung TV come out from the TV speakers, and anything playing on my monitor (mainly games) come out of the headset?

    The monitor is connected through DVi and the TV through HDMI. Going through the nVdia settings, the TV is "HDMI (audio enabled)" however the sound still comes through the headset and not the TV.
    Intel i7 2600K
    Asus P67 Saybertooth Rev 3.0
    2x eVGA GTX 680
    4x8gb corsair dominators
    Corsair 1000HX
    LD Cooling LD-V8

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by mussafry View Post
    Yeh that samsung screen was just not working. I returned it and got an LG 27" led and its perfectly fine (although its not a tv.)

    last question, right now im running dual monitors. This 27" LG and a 55" samsung TV. The TV is there just for watching pleasures, nothing else. So is there a way to make things that are playing on the samsung TV come out from the TV speakers, and anything playing on my monitor (mainly games) come out of the headset?

    The monitor is connected through DVi and the TV through HDMI. Going through the nVdia settings, the TV is "HDMI (audio enabled)" however the sound still comes through the headset and not the TV.
    Check your audio setting, there will be a default device, you'll have to switch between them.
    2600k @ 5Ghz w/ XSPC RS750,RX240 on a Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z, Zotac GTX 580 SLI Amp Edition @950/4100, 4x4Gb Kingston 1600Mhz, 2x120Gb OCZ Agility 3 Raid 0 + 4.2Tb, 26" LG, Corsair AX 1200, Corsair Obsidian800D

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,134
    You need to use Media Player Classic - Home Cinema. In its options area you set the program to use a specific audio output, not system default. That way you can override the audio device settings and make things playing in MPC play over HDMI only while other stuff plays over headphones.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict Chewbenator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    1,055
    Been looking into a 32" TV as a monitor as well. I can get the TC-L32DT30 for $720. Thanks for distracting me from the U2711 and S27A850d, now I've got something else to worry about :P

    i5 750 @ 3.2 Ghz, stock volts on stock cooling
    4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-7-7-21
    Gigabyte P55-DS2
    EVGA GTX260 192shader

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member solofly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    288
    I have a 32" Panasonic TV at 1080p attached to my primary gaming rig and I'm loving it. The colors are so rich and deep I may never go back to regular computer screen, not to mention the size difference...
    Last edited by solofly; 09-07-2011 at 12:12 PM.
    My toys...
    Asus X79 Deluxe | i7 4820K | Koolance CPU-380I w/Triple Rad/Swiftech Pump | RipjawsX 16GB 1866MHz | eVGA GTX 780 TRI-SLI | X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB | Intel 530 120GB *2 RAID 0, Intel 510 250GB, Samsung 840 Pro 120GB, Samsung 840 500GB, Kingston V300 240GB | Corsair AX1200i | In Win D-Frame Orange | Win 8.1 Pro 64
    Asus Sabertooth Z77 | i7 3770K | NH-C12P SE14 | Vengeance 32GB LP | eVGA GT 240 | X-Fi Titanium Fatality | LSI SAS 9211-4i | Intel 330 120GB, Seagate 500GB *2, Samsung 200GB, WD 320GB *4 RAID 10, 500GB, Raptor 74GB | Antec TPQ-1200W | Corsair 650D | Win 8.1 Pro 64
    Asus Sabertooth P67 | i7 2600K | NH-U12P SE2 | Vengeance Pro 16GB 1866MHz | eVGA GTX 680 | Sound via HDMI | Intel 330 60GB, Samsung 840 Pro 120GB, WD VRaptor 300GB, 150GB *2 | Antec HCG-750W | Lian Li PC-60FNWB | Win 8.1 Pro 64
    Asus P8H77-M/CSM | i3 3220 | Shuriken | Vengeance 16GB LP | eVGA GT 610 | Sound Blaster Play | Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 & HD PVR | Asus PCE-AC66 | Kingston V100 128GB, WD 1GB, 500GB, Seagate 2TB | Enermax Liberty 500W | Fractal Design Core 1000 | Win 8 Pro 64 w/Media Center
    Asus P8H77-M/CSM | i3 3220T | Hyper 212 Evo | Vengeance 8GB | eVGA 210 | Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-250 | Intel 330 60GB, WD 750GB, 250GB | Enermax Liberty 500W | Antec 300 | Win 7 Premium 32

    Axial SCX10 2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Modified

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •