Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just bought a Lab water chiller.. quick questioin

Hybrid View

R.I.P computer

Just bought a Lab water chiller.. quick questioin

Dial goes all the way to -20C, water freezes above that.. so what coolant should i be using that wouldn't be too corrosive on a normal copper water block? and i sort of jumped in without looking
    it works with 7/16 tubing but can i just use my regular primoflex? or will i need something else?

finally will i need to insolate like if i were using ln2? sorry total newb
    just checked something... is the Danfoss 1/10hp unit at the bottom sufficient for daily use on a oc 2600k?

Last edited by badatgames18; 08-23-2011 at 07:40 PM.

Administrator
    Moved per request

Thats a really nice unit !
    Nice find !

I have no idea what to use for fluid, hopefully some one will pop in here and give you some ideas.
    Last edited by Buckeye; 08-23-2011 at 07:22 PM.

Xtreme Addict
    Propylene Glycol is a pretty popular liquid used in heat transfer fluids. A 60/40 (P.G./Water) mix should give you good viscosity at down to -20C. It is also not immediately toxic like ethylene glycol.

You could also use a 50/50 mix. It will be slightly more efficient as it will absorb more heat energy due to its specific heat being slightly higher. Water has a specific heat of 1.... a 50/50 mix is .850, and a 60/40 mix is .805.

For reference, specific heat is the amount of energy measured in calories required to raise 1 gram of a substance by 1 degree Celsius. Thus, it takes 1 calorie to raise the temp of water, but .805 calories to raise the temp of the 60/40 mix by 1 degree. This lowers its heat absorption capacity. Just wanted to explain that so you could better choose. Propylene Glycol is sold at refrigeration supply stores. Its not too expensive.

You will have to insulate for these temperatures. Its going to be well below the dew point. For -20C, elastomeric closed cell 3/4" wall is recommended.