MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 45

Thread: Will this video card run BF3?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633

    Will this video card run BF3?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130683

    @ 1920 x 1200 & 1920 x 1080 (for when I use my LED TV)

    Rest of system

    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.2ghz
    evga X58 SLI
    8gb Corsair XMS3 @ almost 2000mhz
    64gb OCZ Vertex SSD


    For reference, on the system in my sig I play Bad Company 2 maxed out with 8x AA @ 1920 x 1200 so I'm thinking I should be good with that new video card.

    I will most likely have 12gb of RAM by October also, so yeah.
    Last edited by TheCarLessDriven; 07-29-2011 at 08:46 PM.
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    360
    Not with very good FPS at 1920x1080. I've built a few systems with this card, and while most older games and console ports run alright at 1920x1080 without AA or too much AF, new demanding games like crysis2 and dirt3 and The Witcher 2 that I've played on those cards needed to be dropped to 1600x900 or 1280x720 to get smooth FPS. Though it does do great at those resolutions with more demanding games.
    EVGA z68 FTW
    i7 2600k @ 4.8
    8gb DDR3 1600
    3x GTX 580 3gb HydroCopper2
    Silverstone Strider 1500W
    Areca 1880i w/ 6x intel x25m
    On water

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    hmm doesn't seem right. If my lowely GTS 250 1gb can play Crysis 2 maxed out on DX9 @ 1920 x 1200 and BC2 maxed out with 8x AA then that GTX560 which is way beyond my GTS250 should be able to handle BF3 just fine with the rest of my system.
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  4. #4
    of the Strawhat crew.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,645
    Then why'd you ask?

    Honestly, no one knows how BF3 will run when it's done. The current alpha can't even come close to hinting at the system requirements due to incompleteness.
    Also, I wouldn't try figuring it out comparing it to other games.. different engines, graphics driver profiles, etc make it tough.

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    lol, yeah I know. Well I just wanted to see what others were thinking...
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  6. #6
    of the Strawhat crew.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,645
    I've been wondering how my GTX 295 will stand up to BF3 myself. Sadly, if I stick with it I'll lack DX 11 but the new Nvidia stuff won't be out for a while. =[

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    317
    you'll be able to play the game just fine, maybe not with 8x or 16xqaa but with 2x @1920x1080 you'll be fine. 50 to 60fps range no problem.

    the gtx560ti is a solid card and perfomance is on par (and in some scenarios even better) with GTX470. The only games i can't max out @ 1920x1080 are metro 2033 and the witcher 2. Metro 2033 dx11 1920x1080 vary from 25 to 30fps (without AA, the other details are maxed out), the witcher 2 is smooth @ 1920x1080 maxed out except uber-sampling that kills fps.

    oh, and Crysis 2 dx11 + 1.9 patch + hi-res texture pack run maxed out on my rig (obviusly not at a costant 60fps) but is always playable.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    111
    be nice too see how my ati 4870 1gb will handle it , seems to play crysis 2 easy enough
    Gaming Rig
    Intel Q6600 Oc 3.2ghz
    4gb Ocz ddr 2 Ram
    corsair h50 Cpu Cooler
    Asus Maximus ii Formula X38
    Samsung Spin Point 320gb
    Ocz 60Gb Ssd Drive O/S
    Antec 1200 Gamers Case
    Gigabyte 720 Watt Psu
    Windows 7 64

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    360
    I'm not the best guy to ask though. I'm a framerate whore

    I consider below 40 FPS to no longer be smooth.
    EVGA z68 FTW
    i7 2600k @ 4.8
    8gb DDR3 1600
    3x GTX 580 3gb HydroCopper2
    Silverstone Strider 1500W
    Areca 1880i w/ 6x intel x25m
    On water

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    360
    I'm not the best guy to ask though. I'm a framerate whore

    I consider below 40 FPS to no longer be smooth.

    The 560ti is definitely a champion card for the money you pay. It's the best price/performance right now I think.
    EVGA z68 FTW
    i7 2600k @ 4.8
    8gb DDR3 1600
    3x GTX 580 3gb HydroCopper2
    Silverstone Strider 1500W
    Areca 1880i w/ 6x intel x25m
    On water

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    24
    i get around 60-70 FPS on a 580 with 32x AA at 1920x1200 DX11 and everything max'd, when i had my 460 it was about 40-50 fps, but you cant compare a DX9/10 game/card to a DX11 game/card, cause DX11 is a lot more demanding

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by markwrc View Post
    i get around 60-70 FPS on a 580 with 32x AA at 1920x1200 DX11 and everything max'd, when i had my 460 it was about 40-50 fps, but you cant compare a DX9/10 game/card to a DX11 game/card, cause DX11 is a lot more demanding
    Are you talking about in the BF3 Alpha? You are in it or something else?
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    315
    Quote Originally Posted by markwrc View Post
    i get around 60-70 FPS on a 580 with 32x AA at 1920x1200 DX11 and everything max'd, when i had my 460 it was about 40-50 fps, but you cant compare a DX9/10 game/card to a DX11 game/card, cause DX11 is a lot more demanding
    DX11 is not necessarily more demanding, you could get a DX10 game, give it a DX11 path that makes use of the new multithreaded rendering and actually get a speedup. But unfortunately in practice that virtually never happens.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago,Illinois
    Posts
    1,180
    WoW did it.



  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,625
    A 920 at only 3.2 Ghz???

    Push it higher! Thats like a whole 1 Ghz below what it should be able to manage :p

    Quote Originally Posted by tet5uo View Post
    Not with very good FPS at 1920x1080. I've built a few systems with this card, and while most older games and console ports run alright at 1920x1080 without AA or too much AF, new demanding games like crysis2 and dirt3 and The Witcher 2 that I've played on those cards needed to be dropped to 1600x900 or 1280x720 to get smooth FPS. Though it does do great at those resolutions with more demanding games.
    Thats why you get two of them

    Same cost as one GTX 580, around 25-50% more performance.
    Last edited by bhavv; 07-30-2011 at 11:09 AM.
    Intel I7 980 + Phanteks PH-TC14PE Red, Asus Rampage III Extreme, 12 GB Geil Ultra Series
    SLI MSI GTX 680 power edition, Creative X-Fi Titanium HD, 2x4 Tb Seagate HDD, 128 Gb Crucial M4, 512 Gb Crucial M4
    Gigabyte M8000X, Microsoft Sidewinder X4, Antec P182, Acer G24, Windows 7 Professional, XFX Proseries 850w XXX

    Keeping my mobo + CPU till they are obsolete

    Copper loop X48 build Blue X58 Build Red X58 build

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    114
    -get one 2gb now and a second down that road.-not the 1 gig. or wait for the BF3 beta.
    [The current alpha can't even come close to hinting at the system requirements due to incompleteness. ]-your right for vram it's like 1180mb @ 1920x1200 but the download is not the game[code] and only 32[really small] player maps.
    MVF WC ||3770k-KL370||CM932||AX1200||580 sli -EK||
    3XMCR320\w655 EK[basement]||w655 EK[HAF932] || VL4N||MR||2xfan controllers || 9 x S-Flex F -[rads]
    8gb Trident 2400||Samsung S27A850D||Win7HP-64||2x120gb G2 R0 OS||2x150Vraptors R0-backup|| G15,G13||G9x
    PC sound>forte analog>Yamaha 765>4xPSB alpha B1>alpha C1>10" sub [very clean sound].+sens PC360

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
    A 920 at only 3.2 Ghz???

    Push it higher! Thats like a whole 1 Ghz below what it should be able to manage :p



    Thats why you get two of them

    Same cost as one GTX 580, around 25-50% more performance.

    haha yeah I had it at 4.0Ghz for a while. Stopped gaming and benchmarking so I brought it down.
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by markwrc View Post
    i get around 60-70 FPS on a 580 with 32x AA at 1920x1200 DX11 and everything max'd, when i had my 460 it was about 40-50 fps, but you cant compare a DX9/10 game/card to a DX11 game/card, cause DX11 is a lot more demanding
    DX 10 was a turd. Notice all the DX 10 games at launch with hardware of the time ran like crap, Crysis being a perfect example. DX 11 seems to be much more efficient, every single DX11 title I have played runs great on the hardware meant for it unlike DX 10.
    CPU: Phenom II X4 940
    HSF: Rocketfish POS
    Mobo: DFI/Sapphire Pure 790X
    RAM: Mushkin 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2 1066@400mhz (5-5-5-18)
    HDD1: Velociraptor 150GB
    HDD2/3: WD Caviar Blue 250GB/Seagate Barracuda 160GB
    Optical: Pioneer 215D
    Video: Asus 6950 2GB
    Audio: X-Fi Fatality Professonal
    Misc: Logitech G15/G5/Razer Piranha
    Case/PSU: TT Dokker/TT Toughpower XT 775W
    Monitor: Samsung Syncmaster BX2235
    Drivers: Newest
    OS: Win 7 Pro x64

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by TheCarLessDriven View Post
    Are you talking about in the BF3 Alpha? You are in it or something else?
    no not the alpha, the alpha wasnt even in DX11, it was in DX10, it was in BC2 and it was run with everything on max with the new NVIDIA beta drivers, but DICE said that any PC that runs fine on BC2 will run fine on BF3

    yes DX10 was crap, and i agree DX11 is better coded, but its not the fact that its DX11 its the tessellation that kills the framerate, we could of had tessellation at DX9 but NVIDIA and ATI said no, due to the fact it was too demanding for the GPUs they had out then

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    Quote Originally Posted by markwrc View Post
    no not the alpha, the alpha wasnt even in DX11, it was in DX10, it was in BC2 and it was run with everything on max with the new NVIDIA beta drivers, but DICE said that any PC that runs fine on BC2 will run fine on BF3

    yes DX10 was crap, and i agree DX11 is better coded, but its not the fact that its DX11 its the tessellation that kills the framerate, we could of had tessellation at DX9 but NVIDIA and ATI said no, due to the fact it was too demanding for the GPUs they had out then
    dx10 was awesome, now that its dx10 and not 9+10 its great on things and the free 4xMSAA is nice, on the tessellation dx9 ati cards had it with the x1600 and up, then the dx10 cards had it, so it was not an ati and NV said no, all the problem relate back to NV doing the minimum and not conforming to optional standards but trying to make their own (look at why dx10.1 came out with optional features being mandatory as the major change)

    on topic- the 560 ti will be great for bf3, u may have to turn things off like DOF, AO and motion blur but u should be doing that anyways. im also confident that my 4890 will beable to do it fine as its the same gpu requirements as bc2 but with better tessellation as an option and more destruction (so more cpu needs)
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    I think its pretty unanimous that DX10 was garbage. Thats why they moved on so quick from it. They had to re-design there architecture quickly and efficiently and alas we have DX11 now

    But thanks for the input on the video card everyone! I will be picking one up soon most likely.
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  22. #22
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    DX11 is just 10.1 with tesselation mostly, you realize?
    Last edited by STEvil; 08-01-2011 at 12:46 AM.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    DX10 is just 10.1 with tesselation mostly, you realize?
    Wait, I think you meant to write DX11?

    In that case, no I did not. But now I do
    himynameisfrank
    Flickr

    i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz
    Corsair Hydro H80
    MSI Z68A-GD80
    EVGA GTX580 x 2 SLi
    Corsair XMS3 1600 12Gb
    Corsair HX850w
    OCZ Agility 3 SSD x 3 RAID 0
    Creative X-Fi Titanium / Astro A40 Audio System
    Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
    DELL U2410 24" IPS Panel

  24. #24
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    fixed.. darn typos lol
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    1,018
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.2ghz (ok for a single card)
    evga X58 SLI (ok)
    8gb Corsair XMS3 @ almost 2000mhz (??? you have a 3-channel mobo.... is better to get a 3channel kit 6gb is enough for all @1600mhz)
    64gb OCZ Vertex SSD (naaaaa get a crucial M4 64/128gb)

    for a videocard.... let me advice:

    for your request, is better to get a gtx 570.........

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •