Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Nvidia Miners

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    477

    Nvidia Miners

    Hey all,

    I was doing some messing around with the latest gui-miner client and found that the cuda miner is way more efficient at mining than the older gui-miner. With using the 5-21-11 version, I was averaging around 60Mhashes/s on an MSI gtx560Ti. I upgraded to the new gui-miner dated 6-9-11 and found I had some options for the cuda miner (maybe the old one had it and I missed it lol). I started an instance and kept my old flags of -f20 and -w128 and found out my Mhashes went to 85Mhashes/s. It also removed the desktop lag I was having.

    guiminer.jpg

    You just go to the location in the screenshot(File->New Miner->New CUDA Miner) to get a new instance of the miner and enter your login information like you normally would.

    I changed my flag of -f20 to -f1 in the screenshot and noticed really no difference in Mhashes, but my GUI lag came back. I set it back to -f20.
    Main Rig: i7 2600K @ 4.5ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho, Gigabyte Z68MA-DH2-B3, 4x4GB Gskill DDR3-1600, Visiontek Radeon 7850, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB, OCZ Agility 60GB, Silverstone TJ08B-E, Seasonic X750, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Fiance's Rig: Apple iMac 21.5" 2011, i5 2.5ghz, 4GB DDR3-1333, Radeon 6750m, 500GB

  2. #2
    BANNED!!!!!!!!!!! lkiller123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles/Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,040
    So how does it compare to the ATi counterparts

  3. #3
    I am Addicted! INFRNL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,772
    I'm guessing ATI is still the king for this by a LONG shot, but glad to see that the OP is getting better results.
    XTREMESupercomputer: Phase 2
    Live up to your name - May 1 - 8
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by lkiller123 View Post
    So how does it compare to the ATi counterparts
    Still crappy. I wouldn't invest into an nvidia card for mining. If you already own the card, like I do, then it is still profitable to mine (as of right now).

    FYI: Radeon 5770(108W)=180Mhashes and GTX560(170W)=85Mhashes.

    It was just a 33% increase in Mhashes by switching to the CUDA miner. Of course, YMMV.
    Main Rig: i7 2600K @ 4.5ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho, Gigabyte Z68MA-DH2-B3, 4x4GB Gskill DDR3-1600, Visiontek Radeon 7850, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB, OCZ Agility 60GB, Silverstone TJ08B-E, Seasonic X750, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Fiance's Rig: Apple iMac 21.5" 2011, i5 2.5ghz, 4GB DDR3-1333, Radeon 6750m, 500GB

  5. #5
    Xtreme Cruncher don_xvi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Farmington Hills, Mich.
    Posts
    916
    That's interesting new info.
    Maybe there's hope for the Nvidia cards in the future, yet.

    This bitcoin phenomenon, for however it lasts, has to be having a big skewing effect on the prices of Green vs Red cards. Nvidia will be making hay in the gaming market!

    don_xvi helps find cures for cancer, AIDS and West Nile, among other research !
    Donald A. Perlick helps find cures for Alzheimer's, cancer, and Parkinson's, among other research !

  6. #6
    Back from the Dead jcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Nice find there, I havent actually tried the latest gui miner (this version wasn't out when I started and wrote my tutorial), but it seems logical that a CUDA miner would be faster on NV than an emulated OpenCL one
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  7. #7
    Xtreme Member -TYPHOON-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    138
    Wonder if its worth to use my GTX280
    According to wiki it only produces about 48 Mhashes...

  8. #8
    _
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    1,235
    I just tried the CUDA miner and got 16.8Mhash/Second compared to the 18.5Mhash/Second on the OpenCL miner. I'm running an overclocked 9600GT. It's probably not worth it to run on this hardware but Bitcoin is interesting to learn about.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by Angmaar View Post
    I just tried the CUDA miner and got 16.8Mhash/Second compared to the 18.5Mhash/Second on the OpenCL miner. I'm running an overclocked 9600GT. It's probably not worth it to run on this hardware but Bitcoin is interesting to learn about.
    Yep, YMMV for switching to the cuda-miner. The 9600gt is probably not worth mining on since it will get like .03BTC per day. If you are using the 59W 9600gt then you will make like 30-40 cents a day.
    Main Rig: i7 2600K @ 4.5ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho, Gigabyte Z68MA-DH2-B3, 4x4GB Gskill DDR3-1600, Visiontek Radeon 7850, OCZ Vertex 2 120GB, OCZ Agility 60GB, Silverstone TJ08B-E, Seasonic X750, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Fiance's Rig: Apple iMac 21.5" 2011, i5 2.5ghz, 4GB DDR3-1333, Radeon 6750m, 500GB

  10. #10
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    15,654
    Quote Originally Posted by lkiller123 View Post
    So how does it compare to the ATi counterparts
    Given that my 4870 would do 80-90 MHash/s without any tweaking at all, and seeing what current gen ATI cards do, I'd say ATI totally owns nvidia for bitcoin.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Main PC: Intel Core-i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 7 Pro x64, water - ONLINE
    Other PC: AMD FX-8320 @ 3.5GHz, 8GB DDR3-1600, GeForce GTS 250, Win 7 Pro x64, air - OFFLINE
    FTP server: DP Intel Xeon LV Sossaman @ 2GHz, 4GB DDR2-400 ECC, Win XP Pro, air - OFFLINE
    Family PC: Intel C2D e8500 @ 3.2GHz, 3GB DDR2-667, Radeon X1300, Win 7 Home x64, air - ONLINE

  11. #11
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,736
    I had absolutely no gain with my GTX480 from the old GUIMiner without flags to the new one with the -f20 and -w128 flags.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  12. #12
    _
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, United States
    Posts
    1,235
    Quote Originally Posted by kjeldoran View Post
    Yep, YMMV for switching to the cuda-miner. The 9600gt is probably not worth mining on since it will get like .03BTC per day. If you are using the 59W 9600gt then you will make like 30-40 cents a day.
    I know it doesn't make much financial sense to mine. But it's interesting to learn about.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •