Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 133

Thread: Computex 2011 - X79 motherboards

  1. #1
    Champion Micutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,080

    Computex 2011 - X79 motherboards

    Motherboards for the upcoming Socket LGA 2011 based on the Intel X79 chipset will be on display at Computex, most of the manufacturers having at least one model to show, in various stages of development. We managed to snap a few shots before the show will start tomorrow, when more details will be available.

    X79 motherboards at Computex 2011 on lab501.ro | translation

    Last edited by Micutzu; 05-29-2011 at 10:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict CedricFP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,911
    Ram slots on either side eh?
    -


    "Language cuts the grooves in which our thoughts must move" | Frank Herbert, The Santaroga Barrier
    2600K | GTX 580 SLI | Asus MIV Gene-Z | 16GB @ 1600 | Silverstone Strider 1200W Gold | Crucial C300 64 | Crucial M4 64 | Intel X25-M 160 G2 | OCZ Vertex 60 | Hitachi 2TB | WD 320

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    235
    some nice "retro" colored board
    ---
    ---
    "Generally speaking, CMOS power consumption is the result of charging and discharging gate capacitors. The charge required to fully charge the gate grows with the voltage; charge times frequency is current. Voltage times current is power. So, as you raise the voltage, the current consumption grows linearly, and the power consumption quadratically, at a fixed frequency. Once you reach the frequency limit of the chip without raising the voltage, further frequency increases are normally proportional to voltage. In other words, once you have to start raising the voltage, power consumption tends to rise with the cube of frequency."
    +++
    1st
    CPU - 2600K(4.4ghz)/Mobo - AsusEvo/RAM - 8GB1866mhz/Cooler - VX/Gfx - Radeon 6950/PSU - EnermaxModu87+700W
    +++
    2nd
    TRUltra-120Xtreme /// EnermaxModu82+(625w) /// abitIP35pro/// YorkfieldQ9650-->3906mhz(1.28V) /// 640AAKS & samsung F1 1T &samsung F1640gb&F1 RAID 1T /// 4gigs of RAM-->520mhz /// radeon 4850(700mhz)-->TRHR-03 GT
    ++++
    3rd
    Windsor4200(11x246-->2706mhz-->1.52v) : Zalman9500 : M2N32-SLI Deluxe : 2GB ddr2 SuperTalent-->451mhz : seagate 7200.10 320GB :7900GT(530/700) : Tagan530w

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict ScottALot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    UW - Madison
    Posts
    1,632
    ew.
    Signatures make my posts look huge... but I'm not humble enough to completely remove my signature, so I kept this note explaining it.

  5. #5
    Champion Micutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,080
    Yeah, it's 4-channel DDR3. The number of S-ATA ports is interesting too, as well as the backpanel.

    EDIT: the board is in development stage, the final one will be black.
    Last edited by Micutzu; 05-29-2011 at 10:51 PM.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict CedricFP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    1,911
    Yup, backpanel spacing is a bit interesting.
    -


    "Language cuts the grooves in which our thoughts must move" | Frank Herbert, The Santaroga Barrier
    2600K | GTX 580 SLI | Asus MIV Gene-Z | 16GB @ 1600 | Silverstone Strider 1200W Gold | Crucial C300 64 | Crucial M4 64 | Intel X25-M 160 G2 | OCZ Vertex 60 | Hitachi 2TB | WD 320

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    159
    Interesting board, 12 SATA ports, with only 1 south bridge, I'm sure they can do 7 slot / Quid CF/SLi slots

    EDIT: 14 SATA ports :O
    Last edited by JkS; 05-29-2011 at 11:24 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman
    been lots of years since I played with an AMD and this is just an hour so bear with me..
    My first thoughts on it is that it's fast, it's smoothe and it's fun.
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman
    Yes, the i7 does have the edge in pure grunt but then again the AMD has that little something I can't quite put my finger on except to use that word 'smoother" and that will get me flamed faster than posting kiddy :banana::banana::banana::banana: on the Christian networks site.
    Main Rig: Phenom II 550 (x4) @3.9Ghz - Gigabyte 6950@6970 - Asus M4A-785D M Pro - Samsung HDs 2x2TB,1x1.5TB,2x1TB - Season X-650 | OpenCL mining rigs: 2x Phenom II 555(x4) - 1xMSI 890FXA-GD70 - 1xGB 990FXA-UD7 (SICK ) - 1xHD6990 - 1x6950@70 - 6x5850 - 2xCooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1kW

  8. #8
    Uber Raid King Computurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wichita, Ks
    Posts
    3,887
    wow looks barren with all of the stuff being on-die.
    "Lurking" Since 1977


    Jesus Saves, God Backs-Up
    *I come to the news section to ban people, not read complaints.*-[XC]Gomeler
    Don't believe Squish, his hardware does control him!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,116
    holy hell look at all the boards from different manufacturers, intel is really putting amd's feet to the fire here. I can see a couple elite boards now. also note the almost complete lack of pci slots.

    showing off x79 the same show as 990fx. ouch.

    http://lab501.ro/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/x79a.jpg

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    393
    Nice layout for giant heatsinks.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    90
    LGA2011 is gonna be a huge ass platform....

  12. #12
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,897
    nice colors.

    Sad Incomplete Rig
    Case : CaseLabs Mercury S5 | Heatsink : Some ThermalRight thing | Motherboard : s775 Intel Board | CPU : Intel e6600 2.66Ghz DualCore | Ram : 4x1GB AData DDR2|Storage : Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - 2x WD Black 2TB Raid1 | PSU : SeaSonic Platinum 1000w | GPU : Sapphire R7 260x | Monitor : ASUS VG248QE

    Crunchy Fileserver
    Supermicro CSE-732i-500B | Supermicro H8DMi-2 | 2x AMD Opteron - 2419ee | 2x Cooler Master Hyper T2 | 6GB DDR2 REG ECC | WD Re4 500GB - JBOD Pile of drives
    →People Crunching4Me←
    2x Opteron 2419ee | Intel Core2Quad Q8300 | Intel i7 920 | Intel Core2Quad Q6600

  13. #13
    Uber Raid King Computurd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wichita, Ks
    Posts
    3,887
    so my question is this: the ones with 4+ pci-e slots, are they going to be using some piece of junk *ala NF200* port multipliers?
    "Lurking" Since 1977


    Jesus Saves, God Backs-Up
    *I come to the news section to ban people, not read complaints.*-[XC]Gomeler
    Don't believe Squish, his hardware does control him!

  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend Kinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,196
    Quote Originally Posted by NKrader View Post
    nice colors.
    Engineering sample.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member Gilgamesh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    326
    Last edited by Gilgamesh; 05-30-2011 at 01:25 AM.

  16. #16
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,518
    I think so, because here are not heatsinks etc...
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    67
    The new socket looks EXTREME but hey, there are NO through holes into the motherboard to allow custom coolers to be placed

  18. #18
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    Wow, most extreme UD3 board ever?
    That's one bad4ss CPU socket eh?
    Makes the boards look tiny

    I'm curious about the insane amount of SATA ports...
    Sure, its a server platform so it makes sense the chipset has a lot of ports, but... why use them on consumer boards?
    At least now in case SATA ports die, you got plenty of fresh ports left to wear down ^^

    And yeah, mounting pots might be a bit tricky...

  19. #19
    Xtreme Cruncher WhiteFireDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    i don't get it, why do all the boards have split memory slots on both sides of the CPU? unless there's some kind of design advantage to this, i would think it's easier to make the memory traces on the board if they were all grouped together

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict Chrono Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,105
    Gimme 8 DIMM slots, WTF was Intel thinking when they implemented quad channel and only added 4? May as well go back to dual channel if they did that. Hopefully higher tier motherboards will feature 8, but at the moment, I'm not impressed, apart from having 14 SATA which is nice.
    PC 1: Intel i7 5820k at 4.2Ghz | 32GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400Mhz | 2x MSI 4GB GTX 970 in SLI | Corsair AX1200 watt Power Supply | 20x LG SATA DVD+/- RW | LG BluRay/HD DVD Combo Drive| Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers | 55" LG 55UB8500 4K UHD TV | ASUS X99 Rampage V Extreme| Aerocool Strike-X ST Black | Cruical MX100 512GB SSD | 1x 4TB Western Digital Hard Drive | Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon View Post
    i don't get it, why do all the boards have split memory slots on both sides of the CPU? unless there's some kind of design advantage to this, i would think it's easier to make the memory traces on the board if they were all grouped together
    The CPU has so many memory control pins, that they had to split them on the two sides of the CPU package to improve the speeds and reduce interference problems. It was inevitable for quad-channel memory.
    Also the memory speed supported is 2600Mhz so a nice improvement here too.

    14 SATA ports are nice, also floppy and IDE are gone for good.
    Last edited by nr4; 05-30-2011 at 02:18 AM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme X.I.P. Cooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,682
    Quote Originally Posted by NKrader View Post
    nice colors.
    PCB is not painted.

  23. #23
    Champion Micutzu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,080
    Quote Originally Posted by Chrono Detector View Post
    Gimme 8 DIMM slots, WTF was Intel thinking when they implemented quad channel and only added 4? May as well go back to dual channel if they did that. Hopefully higher tier motherboards will feature 8, but at the moment, I'm not impressed, apart from having 14 SATA which is nice.
    There are 4GB RAM modules on the market at reasonable prices, i would say 16GB is more than enough for a desktop PC, even 8GB handles almost any kind of task you might throw at it.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict Mats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,081
    Quote Originally Posted by nr4 View Post
    The new socket looks EXTREME but hey, there are NO through holes into the motherboard to allow custom coolers to be placed
    Are you sure? I thought the mounting holes are the ones in the corners of the metal part.

    If the holes are made of steel then there's less risk for damaging the board, right?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    423
    Intel X79 - ASRock X79 Extreme4 Exposed

    I see ASRock board doesn't feature any switching hardware, slots being hardwired directly to the CPU. Good, I hope they intend to release it this way.

Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •