Thread: It's been fun

Hybrid View

Unhappy It's been fun

I've been folding for about 5 years now. Unfortunately at this point I think I have to quit due to now actually directly paying my electric bill. Until I have a little more money to work with per month I'm stopping Graphics cards just are taking too much power and pumping out too much heat that I then have to cool with AC, doing a double-whammy on the electric. As you can tell by my sig, I'm cutting back on my boxes.

I thought about moving the GTX260 to my office PC but the issue with that is 1) the noise and 2) the card has been slowly getting grumpier. I got it happy for a while but it is getting sour on me again.

This sucks because I've been non-stop for those 5 years. Sure there's been some slowdowns, but I never totally quit before. Ugh.

HOWEVER...

<Schwarzenegger> I'll be back! </Schwarzenegger>

I don't plan on this being permanent. And I'll still keep an eye in here to answer any questions that I can.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

Xtreme Addict
    Sad to see you go for the time being, but looking at the total points you achieved I can only say

Come back as soon as your wallet allows you to!
    The XS Folding@Home team needs your help! Join us and help fight diseases with your CPU and GPU!!

Sorry to hear that, hope you can at least keep a single rig running...... every WU counts for science.
    I have found that consolidating to 1 or 2 rigs with newer CPU / GPU's is more efficient and uses less power.
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger Z170 : Core i5-6600K : EVGA RTX2080 XC : 16Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3200 : 256Gb Crucial MX500 : Corsair H100i : PCP&C 750w 60A : CM Cosmos S : Windows 10 x64