Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: looking for 23" - 30" TN

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    187

    looking for 23" - 30" TN

    My friend is looking for a 23" to 30" TN panel for gaming. Picked TN due to the lower input lag. Whate are some good panels?
    Intel Q6600 L727A 3.2GHz (8*400 @ 1.35v)
    Asus Maximus Formula
    2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
    XFX 5870
    WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
    2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
    Silverstone OP850
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
    Thermaltake Armor
    thats it, and proud of it.
    Heatware: pby5cat

  2. #2
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,549
    Quote Originally Posted by pby5cat View Post
    My friend is looking for a 23" to 30" TN panel for gaming. Picked TN due to the lower input lag. Whate are some good panels?
    Price range?

    Are there even any 30" TN panels?
    You must [not] advance.


    Current Rig: i7 4790k @ stock (**** TIM!) , Zotac GTX 1080 WC'd 2214mhz core / 5528mhz Mem, Asus z-97 Deluxe

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    187
    $300 ish
    Intel Q6600 L727A 3.2GHz (8*400 @ 1.35v)
    Asus Maximus Formula
    2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
    XFX 5870
    WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
    2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
    Silverstone OP850
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
    Thermaltake Armor
    thats it, and proud of it.
    Heatware: pby5cat

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,769
    the asus 25.5 is nice and what i picked since its one of the last 16:10

    also a good ips and a tn will have the same lag but then u cannot get an ips for $300
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  5. #5
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,549
    You CAN afford an IPS 24" if you go refurb.

    Dell 24" 1920x1200 Refurb = $400

    http://outlet.us.dell.com/ARBOnlineS...f9fp0dd0c0s558

    Look on the 2nd page. $100 is worth it. (someone correct me if that isn't an IPS)

    They had 30" refurbs for a little over $800.

    Amazon has it for $370

    http://www.amazon.com/Dell-2408WFP-U.../ref=de_a_smtd
    You must [not] advance.


    Current Rig: i7 4790k @ stock (**** TIM!) , Zotac GTX 1080 WC'd 2214mhz core / 5528mhz Mem, Asus z-97 Deluxe

    Heatware

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    8
    16:10 monitors aint suitable for gaming anymore.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Field_o...in_video_games


    Buy Asus VE278Q (best 27 inch TN out there)
    http://computers.pricegrabber.com/fl...oduct/sv=title

    or a TN 120 Hz which gives nice flow. U2311H if you want IPS but I actually think size is more important for games.
    Last edited by Ewing; 05-05-2011 at 01:57 AM.

  7. #7
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,769
    Quote Originally Posted by Ewing View Post
    16:10 monitors aint suitable for gaming anymore.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Field_o...in_video_games


    Buy Asus VE278Q (best 27 inch TN out there)
    http://computers.pricegrabber.com/fl...oduct/sv=title

    or a TN 120 Hz which gives nice flow. U2311H if you want IPS but I actually think size is more important for games.
    most games have a fixed horizontal FOV for wide screen (so u loose vertical space on 16:9) since the last consoles took over, and u can always run them in 1:1 mode with 16:9 but u cannot really get that 120pixels of vertical back when u want to do anything other than gaming.

    also u can change the FOV
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    most games have a fixed horizontal FOV for wide screen (so u loose vertical space on 16:9) since the last consoles took over
    Thats not true. Most games are hor+ which means that you loose width using 16:10 but get the same height in 16:9 and 16:10.

    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    and u can always run them in 1:1 mode with 16:9 but u cannot really get that 120pixels of vertical back when u want to do anything other than gaming.
    Yes, you can, but why buy a 16:10 monitor if you intend to use it as a 16:9 monitor with black bars?

    He said he wanted to use it for gaming.


    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    also u can change the FOV
    In many games you cant do that.
    Last edited by Ewing; 05-05-2011 at 02:41 AM.

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,769
    Quote Originally Posted by Ewing View Post
    Thats not true. Most games are hor+ which means that you loose width using 16:10 but get the same height in 16:9 and 16:10.


    Yes, you can, but why buy a 16:10 monitor if you intend to use it as a 16:9 monitor with black bars?

    He said he wanted to use it for gaming.



    In many games you cant do that.
    most newer games u have a fixed widescreen FOV width, like bc2, farcry 2, batman AA, borderlands, bullet storm, crysis2. and i cannot think of any game that i could not change the fov since transformer:WFCT but then i think that there was an ini decryption tool for it eventually. so with every console port being on ut3 or from a former pc dev they are cool enough to leave config files and u can change most anything there, and with ut3 it was a must to change the config files to completely remove mouse smoothing and smooth frames.

    gaming is never the only use and a 24.5-25" 1080p is about the same price as a 25.5 1920x1200, also if u want to play an older game then that 1920x1200 means that u can play 1:1 with 1600X1200 but there is no classic xxxx x 1080 resolution
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    most newer games u have a fixed widescreen FOV width, like bc2, farcry 2, batman AA, borderlands, bullet storm, crysis2. and i cannot think of any game that i could not change the fov since transformer:WFCT but then i think that there was an ini decryption tool for it eventually. so with every console port being on ut3 or from a former pc dev they are cool enough to leave config files and u can change most anything there, and with ut3 it was a must to change the config files to completely remove mouse smoothing and smooth frames.
    I think you get that impression because you play FPS games.

    In fact in many games in other genres you cant change FOV. Like Starcraft 2 or Portal 2 just to mention two examples. Whitcher 2 and Assassins Creed does not even support 16:10 so 16:10 users must play with black bars.

    You are right when you say that 16:10 is better for older games though.

    Where do you get those prices from? Everytime I look at monitors the 1080p screens are very cheap but the 1200p screens are very expensive.
    Last edited by Ewing; 05-05-2011 at 01:19 PM.

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,769
    its only with the 24.5-25" v 25.5", the VW266H was $230 and the large 24" was $220, it looks like it went EOL though so the price went up. i should have looked but it was basically the same price a month ago.

    on games isnt sc2 the same on 16:10 and 9 and 4:3 on screen area thats visible, portal 2 is an hl2+ engine game so i doubt that u cannot change the fov, i dont know about witcher 2 but the 1st one u got extra vertical in 16:10 and the same with ac2 and acb, the cut scenes in those were in 16:9 and if u have 4:3 it played letterboxes with all the ac games but 16:10 u got more vertical (atleast when compared to the consoles)
    Last edited by zanzabar; 05-05-2011 at 01:38 PM.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    its only with the 24.5-25" v 25.5", the VW266H was $230 and the large 24" was $220, it looks like it went EOL though so the price went up. i should have looked but it was basically the same price a month ago.

    on games isnt sc2 the same on 16:10 and 9 and 4:3 on screen area thats visible, portal 2 is an hl2+ engine game so i doubt that u cannot change the fov, i dont know about witcher 2 but the 1st one u got extra vertical in 16:10 and the same with ac2 and acb, the cut scenes in those were in 16:9 and if u have 4:3 it played letterboxes with all the ac games but 16:10 u got more vertical (atleast when compared to the consoles)
    In Starcraft 2 you see more in 16:9 than 16:10.

    I do not like 16:9 better than 16:10. Its just that the companies seems to have decided to force people in that direction and no matter if we like it or not we cant do anything about it.

    Just two years ago there were plenty of cheap good 24 inch 1920x1200 monitors but they are all gone now.

    And even if you pay the extra to get a 16:10 display they will not work as great as before because games are more and more made for 16:9. Thats also a reason why I wouldnt buy a 16:10 display for gaming cause as time goes by it just gets less and less favourable to own a 16:10 monitor.
    Last edited by Ewing; 05-05-2011 at 02:22 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •