MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 81516171819 LastLast
Results 426 to 450 of 468

Thread: MSI 580 Lightning

  1. #426
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Ok, so I tested some more GTX 580 with and without IHS. If you make good contact (Freeze or GC-Extreme thin layer, backplate and high pressure) and have a good card without IHS you can do ~1525MHz 3DMark03, ~1450MHz 3DMark11 and <1400MHz Heaven.
    In the same condition but with IHS you gain ~125MHz in low intensity benchmarks (3DMark03, 3DMark01, 3DMark05, AQ3,etc) and more in high intensity ones (Vantage, 3DMark11, Unigine). The only card that have IHS is a Matrix that's a poor clocker on air and on LN2, but I managed to do 1520MHz 2k3 and 1375MHz Unigine easy...

    The way to go is definately with IHS but I still don't understand why? The question is how do I mount now the IHS back on my very good Lightning?!
    Born to lose, live to win!

  2. #427
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    the numbers are with full pot?


  3. #428
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Yes, full pot worked the best on all the cards except one (without IHS) for that -140 was the sweetspot! I still don't get how the latest Lightnings are doing ~1600MHz 3DMark11? Are the cards that good or I'm missing something?
    Born to lose, live to win!

  4. #429
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    im not sure, only tested one good card lmao


  5. #430
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    How hard are you tightening the screws of the pot and what temp do you bench it?
    Born to lose, live to win!

  6. #431
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    I reinstalled my IHS simply by applying new TIM to the core and then sitting the IHS on top.

  7. #432
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Ok, so I tested some more GTX 580 with and without IHS. If you make good contact (Freeze or GC-Extreme thin layer, backplate and high pressure) and have a good card without IHS you can do ~1525MHz 3DMark03, ~1450MHz 3DMark11 and <1400MHz Heaven.
    In the same condition but with IHS you gain ~125MHz in low intensity benchmarks (3DMark03, 3DMark01, 3DMark05, AQ3,etc) and more in high intensity ones (Vantage, 3DMark11, Unigine). The only card that have IHS is a Matrix that's a poor clocker on air and on LN2, but I managed to do 1520MHz 2k3 and 1375MHz Unigine easy...

    The way to go is definately with IHS but I still don't understand why? The question is how do I mount now the IHS back on my very good Lightning?!
    Agreed. Removed the IHS on my 1550MHz Lightning, now it won't go past 1400MHz in 3DM11, no matter what I try. Reinstalling the IHS doesn't really help either.
    I KNOW MASSMAN DISLIKES YOU.

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    yo yo... man, you gotta lose the beard... you look like a drunk :P
    Competition ranking: Better than the danes in everything I've ever entered.

  8. #433
    take me to the manbar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Africa :)
    Posts
    1,182
    well the IHS touches around the core aswel, maybe that helps cooling the core down?

  9. #434
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by Vivi View Post
    well the IHS touches around the core aswel, maybe that helps cooling the core down?
    The issue is probably related to the cooling area, it's just too much heat for a pot to cool down in a too small of a space without the IHS.
    I KNOW MASSMAN DISLIKES YOU.

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    yo yo... man, you gotta lose the beard... you look like a drunk :P
    Competition ranking: Better than the danes in everything I've ever entered.

  10. #435
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    I reinstalled my IHS simply by applying new TIM to the core and then sitting the IHS on top.
    And it worked as before? What TIM did you used?
    Born to lose, live to win!

  11. #436
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    5,275
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Ok, so I tested some more GTX 580 with and without IHS. If you make good contact (Freeze or GC-Extreme thin layer, backplate and high pressure) and have a good card without IHS you can do ~1525MHz 3DMark03, ~1450MHz 3DMark11 and <1400MHz Heaven.
    In the same condition but with IHS you gain ~125MHz in low intensity benchmarks (3DMark03, 3DMark01, 3DMark05, AQ3,etc) and more in high intensity ones (Vantage, 3DMark11, Unigine). The only card that have IHS is a Matrix that's a poor clocker on air and on LN2, but I managed to do 1520MHz 2k3 and 1375MHz Unigine easy...

    The way to go is definately with IHS but I still don't understand why? The question is how do I mount now the IHS back on my very good Lightning?!
    I have yet to test a 580 Lightning, but on the 480 Lightning, no IHS appeared to result in better core frequencies while the memory became pretty much un-overclockable. Actually did a test one step further with an IHS and a shim on top of the IHS, and I ended up getting stunningly high memory clocks, higher than 1400MHz, whilst normally the card would struggle to break past ~1220 on LN2. So, it appeared that the memory clocked worse the closer the pot was to the PCB. With the IHS off, not even 1200 was doable, with the IHS, a bit past 1200, and with a shim on top of the IHS, over 1400. It might not necessarily be the memory causing problems in the case of the 580 Lightning, but my guess would be that it's something on the PCB that's getting just a little too cold because the pot is closer to it when IHS-less. (yes, that 2mm is significant)

    It might be worth a shot to pull out the hair dryers when going without the IHS. It's no secret that it helped the 480L.

  12. #437
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    started to lap in hopes of turning a good card to a great one lol epic fail IHS?

    hopes this helps break into 1600's will know tomorrow

    lap lightning.jpg
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  13. #438
    Maybe you need to lap the underside of the IHS too :p

  14. #439
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    1 thing at a time
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  15. #440
    Xtremely Bad Overclocker
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Blue
    Posts
    3,663
    Quote Originally Posted by Mean Machine View Post
    The issue is probably related to the cooling area, it's just too much heat for a pot to cool down in a too small of a space without the IHS.
    That's something I specially see with singlestage and cascade lately. Cards with HS (benching 8800-series of all kind) will get much lower GPU core temperature compared to thoose without. Also getting the optimal mounting without heatspreader is a pita...I know the perfect target for cascade is ~-64°C idle but I usually only get ~-55°C idle and ~-9°C after longer load (03, 06)....tightening the screws during running - helps a bit but just in rare cases I am getting an even pressure on every edge of the core.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam View Post
    no IHS appeared to result in better core frequencies while the memory became pretty much un-overclockable. Actually did a test one step further with an IHS and a shim on top of the IHS, and I ended up getting stunningly high memory clocks, higher than 1400MHz, whilst normally the card would struggle to break past ~1220 on LN2. So, it appeared that the memory clocked worse the closer the pot was to the PCB. With the IHS off, not even 1200 was doable, with the IHS, a bit past 1200, and with a shim on top of the IHS, over 1400. It might not necessarily be the memory causing problems in the case of the 580 Lightning, but my guess would be that it's something on the PCB that's getting just a little too cold because the pot is closer to it when IHS-less. (yes, that 2mm is significant)
    Same issues already appearing with G80/G92 - I have one 8800 GT here that won't do even stock mem clocks on cascade...the problem is very hard in 03 and 05 (GT2-GT3, funny fuzzy squares for 1-2 seconds and then freeze).
    Depending on the card it does start with PCB temperatures below 10°C (A64 anyone?! ) - Try to keep the pcb warm, not using to much rubber (it strongly supports that effect!) and maybe even heat up the pcb are the only ways to overcome that issue...
    | '12 IvyBridge - "ticks different"... | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round I by SoF | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round II by angoholic & stummerwinter
    | '11 The SandyBridge madness... | AwardFabrik / Team LDK OC-Season 2011/2012 Opening Event
    | '10 Gulftown LaunchDay OC round up @ASUS RIIE | 3DM05 2x GPU WR LIVE @Cebit 2010 @ASUS MIIIE | SandyBridge arrived @ASUS P8P67

    | '09 Foxconn Avenger | E8600 | Foxconn A79A-S | Phenom II 940 BE | LaunchDay Phenom II OC round up
    | '08 7.438s 1m LN2 | AMD 1m WR LN2 | 2nd AOCM | Phenom II teasing
    | '07 100% E2140 | 106.5% E2160 | 100% E4500 | 103% E4400 | 5508 MHZ E6850 | 7250 MHZ P4 641 126.5% by SoF and AwardFabrik Crew all on Gigabyte DS3P c? and LN2...
    | '06 3800+ X2 Manchester 0531TPEW noHS 3201MHZ c? | 3200+ Venice noHS 3279MHZ c? | Opteron 148 0536CABYE 3405MHZ c? all on Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI compressorcooled

    | '05 3500+[NC], 3000+[W], 2x 3200+[W], 3500+[NC], 3200+[V] 0516GPDW

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    sof pulled a fermi on all of us !!!

  16. #441
    Quote Originally Posted by Splave View Post
    1 thing at a time
    I hear ya....hey, I'm just glad someone finally showed me a good reason to buy eraser

  17. #442
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by G H Z View Post
    I hear ya....hey, I'm just glad someone finally showed me a good reason to buy eraser
    lol baggin on my eraser rofl

    seems to be working well, lapped to 2000 grit (did my fattie while I was at it too)
    heaven 2717.jpg

    memory was getting mad from being cold for a couple hours, I'll try higher prob tomorrow night or monday
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  18. #443
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SIENA TUSCANY ITALY
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by Splave View Post
    lol baggin on my eraser rofl

    seems to be working well, lapped to 2000 grit (did my fattie while I was at it too)
    heaven 2717.jpg

    memory was getting mad from being cold for a couple hours, I'll try higher prob tomorrow night or monday
    You made this to a card you previously removed the IHS ? or just lapped new card ?
    Sorry for my bad english, I'm from italy

  19. #444
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    this is my pre-MOA card, never took the ihs off just lapped.
    Have you done anything to your awesome 3d11 card?
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  20. #445
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SIENA TUSCANY ITALY
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by Splave View Post
    this is my pre-MOA card, never took the ihs off just lapped.
    Have you done anything to your awesome 3d11 card?
    no, nothing I'll try to run again unigine tomorrow
    Sorry for my bad english, I'm from italy

  21. #446
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SIENA TUSCANY ITALY
    Posts
    885
    benched today .....but was so fuxxxing hard.
    Got the crack a couple of time, will try to catch you again next week end this benchmark is really really hard and the setup need to be really fine .

    What was the real voltage to reach 1560 core stable ?
    Last edited by giorgioprimo; 10-26-2011 at 10:05 AM.
    Sorry for my bad english, I'm from italy

  22. #447
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Athens , Hellas
    Posts
    556
    Aristidis lapped his card !

    We're going to bench it later today .

  23. #448
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by Splave View Post
    started to lap in hopes of turning a good card to a great one lol epic fail IHS?

    hopes this helps break into 1600's will know tomorrow

    lap lightning.jpg
    So the lapping helped or not ?
    Born to lose, live to win!

  24. #449
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by giorgioprimo View Post
    benched today .....but was so fuxxxing hard.
    Got the crack a couple of time, will try to catch you again next week end this benchmark is really really hard and the setup need to be really fine .

    What was the real voltage to reach 1560 core stable ?
    1.63v

    Lapping helped a lot. Have not gotten the crack since doing it as well as gained mhz
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  25. #450
    easegantini
    Guest
    Anyone got 1600/1400 so far?

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 81516171819 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •