OCN2
Page 1 of 29 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 722

Thread: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later" with an update

  1. #1
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595

    Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later" with an update

    Source

    At a presentation to Nvidia's new graphics card in the GeForce 500-series revealed that Crysis 2 initially will not include support for DirectX 11, instead, all PC gamers had to make do with the six year old DirectX 9.

    In practice this means that all graphics hungry gamers with later generations of graphics cards can not take advantage of graphics-enhancing features such as tesselering. According to Nvidia promises the developers to include a DX11 mode in a future update, when exactly is still unclear.
    Also : http://www.incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=32659

    Hope that's not true, if so, Maximum Fail

    Update 03/04 :

    I sent E-mail to Crytek asking when we can expect a statement about this DX11 issue.

    EDIT: Got a reply saying that next week there will perhaps be some information on when we can expect an announcement.
    http://www.incrysis.com/forums/viewt...508638#p508638
    Last edited by Olivon; 03-04-2011 at 05:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Rack Freak
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Belle River, Canada
    Posts
    1,812
    Are we in 2008 ...

    Main Rigs...
    Silver : i7-2600k / Asus P8H67-I Deluxe / 8GB RAM / 460 GTX SSC+ / SSD + HDD / Lian Li PC-Q11s
    WCG rig(s)... for team XS Full time
    1. i7 860 (Pure Cruncher)
    2. i7-870 (Acts as NAS with 5 HDDs)
    3. 1065T (Inactive currently)

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    I believe this proves, or at least comes close to proving what I was fearing.........
    Crysis 2 is primarily developed for the XBox360, and then ported to the PC
    With PC enhancements bolted on.

    I am shocked it does not even include DirectX 10, even Crysis was a DirectX 10 showpiece.
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    927
    I just don't understand why they didn't just make it a DX11 title from the bottom up... Tired of DX9 honestly...
    Silverstone RAVEN RV02|
    Core i5 2500K@4.4GHz, 1,300V|
    Corsair A70|ASUS P67 Sabertooth|Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty|
    Corsair Dominator DDR1600 4x4096MB@DDR3-1600@1.65V|Sapphire HD7970 3GB 1075/1475MHz|
    Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD SATA-II, WD Caviar Black 2x1TB SATA-II 32mb, Hitatchi 320GB SATA-II 16mb|Silverstone DA750 750w PSU|

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,771
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnZS View Post
    I believe this proves, or at least comes close to proving what I was fearing.........
    Crysis 2 is primarily developed for the XBox360, and then ported to the PC
    With PC enhancements bolted on.

    I am shocked it does not even include DirectX 10, even Crysis was a DirectX 10 showpiece.
    John
    the original was not really dx10, just a glazed over effects layer.

    and once they posted the system requirements wasnt it apparent that it was a console game, or maybe when it was demoed and the cross hairs were moving slow and in fixed directions. did u really expect anything more for crytec they have been worthless with everything affter farcry and were much better off as rare pre MS buyout, but even then with 3d games they were more about shinny than content or complete games.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    70
    Consoles 1 PC 0. It shouldn't come to a surprise, console players first and foremost.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    But they were disappointed from the PC community ... haha, this is so pathetic.
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    320
    It's the very logical result which came from console domination. And additionaly to that it's a vicious cycle. The more powerful consoles are in the market the less reasons console makers would have to update them.

    They say PS3 would complete a decade of life before being replaced, that would had been like playing the original prince of persia on the PC in 1999 instead of Half Life and be astonished by its game mechanics being *slightly* updated...

    The situation has been close to worse in video-games -than ever- as far its evolution goes (if one's to think about it). Never before 4 years of wait amounted to sth worse graphically. The original Crysis still holds the top of graphics engines and that's very depressing. Say hello to your $500 paperweight that you call "graphics card"...

    One word "Stagnation".

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,550
    Crytek also lied about the patch that they promised for the first game. I wouldn't get my hopes up.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    927
    It's just funny... They've been touting the graphics, showing off all their DX11 effects and a lot of other things... And now they all but bug out on the game... You can't "patch" an entire code-path, that's just ridiculous... My guess (and I'm only guessing here), is that somewhere along the line, they were told to focus on consoles... Probably around the point MW2 became the best selling shooter of all time...

    Best Regards
    Silverstone RAVEN RV02|
    Core i5 2500K@4.4GHz, 1,300V|
    Corsair A70|ASUS P67 Sabertooth|Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty|
    Corsair Dominator DDR1600 4x4096MB@DDR3-1600@1.65V|Sapphire HD7970 3GB 1075/1475MHz|
    Corsair Force F120 120GB SSD SATA-II, WD Caviar Black 2x1TB SATA-II 32mb, Hitatchi 320GB SATA-II 16mb|Silverstone DA750 750w PSU|

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,832
    It will be... "later"... in "some" update... maybe... at "some" point...
    Clearly, total BS.
    It's a DX9 game from a ground up, DX11 will be barely used if at all. Another crappy console port.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    Perhaps it is something to do with a lack of true DirectX11 style threading within drivers from ATi and nVidia?!?
    A few developers have expressed their concerns over this, the good news is nVidia's upcoming CUDA 4.0RC driver HAS major enhancements

    Share GPUs across multiple threads
    Use all GPUs in the system concurrently from a single host thread
    No-copy pinning of system memory, a faster alternative to cudaMallocHost()
    Layered Textures for working with same size/format textures at larger sizes and higher performance
    Faster Multi-GPU Programming
    Perhaps this is what Crytek are waiting for? The DirectX11 path may already be coded, and in theory ship with the game, just the vital .exe is missing and that is because the drivers are currently not ready.... yet.
    ?!?

    Either way I am still disappointed at this, even the lack of DirectX10!!

    I am not quite so sure zanzabar, to me Crysis DirectX10 looks a lot better than Crysis DirectX9!
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    163
    Wow, if true I will not buy this game. Of course if sales will be bad they will claim it was because of the leak of the beta version of the game. Ridiculous.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast Kai Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East Sussex
    Posts
    831
    Seriously? A f*cking console port? Crytek can jam it up my back door.

    Main Rig

    Intel Core i7-2600K (SLB8W, E0 Stepping) @ 4.6Ghz (4.6x100), Corsair H80i AIO Cooler
    MSI Z77A GD-65 Gaming (MS-7551), v25 BIOS
    Kingston HyperX 16GB (2x8GB) PC3-19200 Kit (HX24C11BRK2/16-OC) @ 1.5v, 11-13-13-30 Timings (1:8 Ratio)
    8GB MSI Radeon R9 390X (1080 Mhz Core, 6000 Mhz Memory)
    NZXT H440 Case with NZXT Hue+ Installed
    24" Dell U2412HM (1920x1200, e-IPS panel)
    1 x 500GB Samsung 850 EVO (Boot & Install)
    1 x 2Tb Hitachi 7K2000 in External Enclosure (Scratch Disk)


    Entertainment Setup

    Samsung Series 6 37" 1080p TV
    Gigabyte GA-J1800N-D2H based media PC, Mini ITX Case, Blu-Ray Drive
    Netgear ReadyNAS104 w/4x2TB Toshiba DTACA200's for 5.8TB Volume size

    I refuse to participate in any debate with creationists because doing so would give them the "oxygen of respectability" that they want.
    Creationists don't mind being beaten in an argument. What matters to them is that I give them recognition by bothering to argue with them in public.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,960
    Damned Nvidia, the game have been annonced a lot of time ago supporting DX11,,, Nvidia put 5 millions of dollars in this title,the release is pushing back from 4 months, and so DX11 features are not here then ?
    What, they want, a second Hawx2 titles ?
    Last edited by Lanek; 03-01-2011 at 04:22 PM.
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,597
    Quote Originally Posted by Lanek View Post
    Damned Nvidia, the game have been annonced a lot of time ago supporting DX11,,, Nvidia put 5 millions of dollars in this title,the release is pushing back from 4 months, and so DX11 features are not here then ? What, they want an Hawx2 ?
    Why would nVidia pay NOT to have DirectX11?!?

    nVidia have decent DirectX11 cards out! nVidia are innocent here.

    Although I may have to eat my words if the DirectX11 patch is actually a CUDA and PhysX patch
    John
    Stop looking at the walls, look out the window

  17. #17
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,127
    Well I guess I won't buying the game until "later"

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    Quote Originally Posted by Lanek View Post
    Damned Nvidia, the game have been annonced a lot of time ago supporting DX11,,, Nvidia put 5 millions of dollars in this title,the release is pushing back from 4 months, and so DX11 features are not here then ?
    What, they want, a second Hawx2 titles ?
    So, it's all nVidia's fault ? it's a rapid shortcut IMHO ...

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    965
    Later on they will claim high piracy on PC, and because of that... the DX 11 patch will be canceled.

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,832
    Quote Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
    Well I guess I won't buying the game until "later"
    Seriously, this.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,960
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnZS View Post
    Why would nVidia pay NOT to have DirectX11?!?

    nVidia have decent DirectX11 cards out! nVidia are innocent here.

    Although I may have to eat my words if the DirectX11 patch is actually a CUDA and PhysX patch
    John
    I don't say Nvidia have not pay for get DX11, i mean they have pay for get it how they want it to favor them ... you don't hope Nvidia pay 5 millions of dollars just for the fun and have their logo on start no ?

    Ok i exagarate a bit on this... but well, i have work on this industry for a so long time, this will not surprise me at all.
    Last edited by Lanek; 03-01-2011 at 04:30 PM.
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    wow complete and uter FAIL. wont get my money

    waiting for battlefield 3
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hollywierd, CA
    Posts
    1,284
    well thank you xbox for F%&*ing another pc game...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    I am an artist (EDM producer/DJ), pls check out mah stuff.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    Quote Originally Posted by Lanek View Post
    I don't say Nvidia have not pay for get DX11, i mean they have pay for get it how they want it to favor them ... you don't hope Nvidia pay 5 millions of dollars just for the fun and have their logo on start no ?
    They paid a lot to be on start screen for Crysis and the game runs better on ATI

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,960
    you are speaking about crysis2 there ?


    Don't tell me crytek are so noob, they are not able to code in DX11 a games who should be released 3 months ago, and pushedi it back after Nvidia give them some " back " money.
    We are speaking about Crytek engineer team... not a unknown team from russia.
    Last edited by Lanek; 03-01-2011 at 04:44 PM.
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

Page 1 of 29 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •