MMM
Page 20 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1017181920212223 ... LastLast
Results 476 to 500 of 722

Thread: Crysis 2 only DX9 - DX11 will be "later" with an update

  1. #476
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    I play in super soldier mode and the game is quite challenging. One mistake means most of the time death.

  2. #477
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    511
    DX11 Without Tessellation

  3. #478
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by cold2010 View Post
    DX11 Without Tessellation
    = Pointless
    **RIG**
    -Intel i5 4670K 4.5GHz
    -Noctua NH-D14
    -AsRock Killerx87
    -Gskill 2100 c9
    -AMD Radeon HD7970
    -CM 690II

  4. #479
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Toon
    Posts
    1,555
    Quote Originally Posted by D4rkn3ss View Post
    just buy the game and see.
    I did, lights flickers like mad, eye-strain and nausea, would probably trip a migraine if I played too long.

    Turning V-Sync off helps a bit but then I get tearing. I'm going to have to hold off playing it until a patch/driver/profile is out.

    Am I the only one that thinks this was a tad rushed?
    Intel i7 920 C0 @ 3.67GHz
    ASUS 6T Deluxe
    Powercolor 7970 @ 1050/1475
    12GB GSkill Ripjaws
    Antec 850W TruePower Quattro
    50" Full HD PDP
    Red Cosmos 1000

  5. #480
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West hartford, CT
    Posts
    2,792
    and the even delayed it 3 months lol...causei t was supposed to come out in december 2010
    FX-8350(1249PGT) @ 4.7ghz 1.452v, Swiftech H220x
    Asus Crosshair Formula 5 Am3+ bios v1703
    G.skill Trident X (2x4gb) ~1200mhz @ 10-12-12-31-46-2T @ 1.66v
    MSI 7950 TwinFrozr *1100/1500* Cat.14.9
    OCZ ZX 850w psu
    Lian-Li Lancool K62
    Samsung 830 128g
    2 x 1TB Samsung SpinpointF3, 2T Samsung
    Win7 Home 64bit
    My Rig

  6. #481
    Quote Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
    Great, and they still haven't fixed the SLI/Crossfire flickering problem
    I believe AMD fixed that with their latest Application Profile.

  7. #482
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    588
    Radeon HD 5870 X2 runs through CryEngine 3 like butter

    We have heard Radeon HD 5870 X2 runs Crysis 2 DX11 like butter and now HD 6990 runs Crysis 2 DX 9 ........ Hell yeah no DX 11

  8. #483
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Flying through Space, with armoire, Armoire of INVINCIBILATAAAAY!
    Posts
    1,963
    Quote Originally Posted by killerxp100 View Post
    = Pointless
    and if you do tessellation, it will never-ever be backwards compatible.

    just like i said several pages ago.

    honestly, what were people expecting?
    Sigs are obnoxious.

  9. #484
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    U.S of freakin' A
    Posts
    1,931
    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    I believe AMD fixed that with their latest Application Profile.
    I don't have Crossfire, but it seems that this problem isn't a driver issue, and more of a game issue.

    Because a lot of people that have SLi and Crossfire have no problems, whilst many others do have problems..

    And even after trying the so called "fixes," the flickering problems still remain.
    Intel Core i7 6900K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Asus X99A II
    32 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3400 CL15 CR1
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Sennheiser HD-598
    Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Western Digital Raptor 600GB
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Burner
    Sony Optiarc 24x DVD Burner with NEC chipset
    Antec HCP-1200w Power Supply
    Viewsonic XG2703-GS
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
    Logitech G502 gaming mouse w/Razer Exact Mat
    Logitech G910 mechanical gaming keyboard
    Windows 8 x64 Pro

  10. #485
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    anyone bothered renaming the exe?
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  11. #486
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    anyone bothered renaming the exe?
    Tried on the beta - doesn't work ;/
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  12. #487
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,485
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    and if you do tessellation, it will never-ever be backwards compatible.
    Nope

  13. #488
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    PHX
    Posts
    1,497
    Crysis 2 to get Direct X 11, sometime today.
    -Kitguru

    Before I saw that, I read Digital Trend's review and it seems pretty fair. Either way, I'm getting excited about this game again.

  14. #489
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near Venice as they say
    Posts
    1,314
    Quote Originally Posted by Jodiuh View Post
    Crysis 2 to get Direct X 11, sometime today.
    -Kitguru

    Before I saw that, I read Digital Trend's review and it seems pretty fair. Either way, I'm getting excited about this game again.
    3 days after release?So why not making the direct launch with Directx11?It doesn't seem real to me
    TRUE Lapped - Intel Core i7 2600k 4,7Ghz - ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 - Nvidia GTX 1080 FE - 16Gb Crucial 2133 Mhz CL9 1,51v - Crucial M4 256Gb - Crucial MX300 1050Gb - Corsair AX850 - Fractal Define R3


  15. #490
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Toon
    Posts
    1,555
    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    I believe AMD fixed that with their latest Application Profile.
    I hope so, it's unplayable as is.

    Got to applaud Wasdie for making a gui for tweaking Crysis 2.
    Intel i7 920 C0 @ 3.67GHz
    ASUS 6T Deluxe
    Powercolor 7970 @ 1050/1475
    12GB GSkill Ripjaws
    Antec 850W TruePower Quattro
    50" Full HD PDP
    Red Cosmos 1000

  16. #491
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    Quote Originally Posted by SubZero.it View Post
    3 days after release?So why not making the direct launch with Directx11?It doesn't seem real to me
    Because it probably isn't real. I fail to see how running Crysis 2 with a DX11 executable will change anything. As was said, there won't be tesselation, so what's the point?

    It doesn't look mediocre because of DX9, it looks mediocre because of the mediocre textures and blurred draw distance. They try to hide it with the motion blur crap but it doesn't really work. And they just re-used textures from Crysis 1 at half-res (link a few pages back). I mean a game that's 4 years old had double the texture quality on the same platform.

    I'm waiting to see how this patch goes. If the multiplayer is any good (assuming it's working now), I might pick it up for that to help hold me over for BF3, as Bad Company 2 is getting a little long in the tooth for me.

    How large are the multiplayer levels? Are they the same itty bitty Call of Duty MW2 type levels? Or can you actually spread out a little?
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

  17. #492
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    I HEAVILY feel that it won't just be a switch to a DX11 executable...

    http://twitter.com/CRYTEK_TIAGO
    Quote Originally Posted by Principal R&D Graphics Programmer at Crytek
    Cooking some great DX11 tech bits for C2 fans, be patient guys. All I can say, is that we have 16 ms or more to have fun with pc hardware...
    I love how people assume they can't add tessellation... It wouldn't be the first game to do so via a patch you know. Metro 2033 ring any bells?
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  18. #493
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by kgk View Post
    Are they the same itty bitty Call of Duty MW2 type levels? Or can you actually spread out a little?
    MW2 maps are actually too big given the fact that there are max 12 players.
    ..:Core i7 870///eVGA P55 Classified///VTX3D Radeon 6970///Asus Xonar D2X///16GB F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL///WD 6400AAKS 640Gb///Samsung F2 EcoGreen 1.5TB///Samsung F4 EcoGreen 2TB///Pioneer DVR 216///Seasonic X-series 850///Corsair Obsidian 800D///Logitech G15 rev.1///Logitech G400@Zowie G-TF Spawn///Philips 240SW:..

    ..:EK Supreme Acetal///Bitspower Black Freezer EIP55NSC///Magicool Pro III///S-Flex E@7v///Laing DDC-1T w/ EK Plexi top///EK Multioption 150:..

  19. #494
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech View Post
    I HEAVILY feel that it won't just be a switch to a DX11 executable...

    http://twitter.com/CRYTEK_TIAGO


    Cooking some great DX11 tech bits for C2 fans, be patient guys. All I can say, is that we have 16 ms or more to have fun with pc hardware...
    Does that mean they have 16 months or more to have fun with pc hardware? Why 16 months?
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

  20. #495
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    Quote Originally Posted by kgk View Post
    Does that mean they have 16 months or more to have fun with pc hardware? Why 16 months?
    I don't think it means months. The theory right now is that he means they have 16 more milliseconds(which is the usual game based term for ms) in the rendering calls due to the switch to DX11 in which to add effects and still keep an identical frame-rate.

    That's enough time to add quite a bit of effects(and textures, hint hint) to the title--especially since most would agree that DX11 was probably being worked on along side DX9, it just wasn't finished by the time EA said "GET IT OUT THE DOOR NOW!".
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  21. #496
    Xtremely Kool
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,874

    Rumour: Crytek was paid money to delay support of DirectX 11 for Crysis 2

    When it was announced that Crysis 2 will not be supporting DirectX11, Crytek was met with a lot of criticism, and it got lesser scores than what it should have… well, more or less.

    NVidia was reported to have spent around $2 million for marketing of their graphics card, GTX 590. They made a deal with EA that allowed them exclusive features for the PC version of Crysis 2.

    According to the rumour mentioned in the title, the money NVidia paid to EA was not for marketing, but to delay the support for DirectX 11 in Crysis 2, so that players would have access to their graphics card when DirectX 11 ‘s support was released. The rumour also says that DirectX 11 will only support GTX 590 in Crysis 2.

    NVidia have been notorious for such stunts before. They did the same with Arkham Asylum, which got disabled every time it read AMD’s ATI Radeon graphics hardware.

    AMD’s Ian McNaughton later confirmed this. He said: “Additionally, the in-game AA option was removed when ATI cards are detected. We were able to confirm this by changing the ids of ATI graphics cards in the Batman demo. By tricking the application, we were able to get in-game AA option where our performance was significantly enhanced. The option is not available for the retail game as there is a secure-rom”

    We will keep you updated. Till then, read out Xbox 360 and PS3 reviews of Crysis 2. Our PC review will be up soon, and we will have video reviews as well.
    http://gamingbolt.com/rumour-crytek-...1-for-crysis-2

  22. #497
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,760
    Old news, and yeah... it's BS.

    Like anyone REALLY believes DX11 mode will only work on the GTX590.
    Quote Originally Posted by Leon2ky
    "dammit kyle what's with the 30 second sex lately?" "Sorry sweetie, I overclocked my nuts and they haven't been stable since"
    Quote Originally Posted by trinibwoy View Post
    I don't think his backside has internet access.
    Quote Originally Posted by n00b 0f l337 View Post
    Hey I just met you
    And this is crazy
    But I'm on bath salts
    And your face looks tasty

  23. #498
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    I call BS

  24. #499
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,116
    brain dead rumor. nvidia paid crytek to leave out dx11 because nvidia doesnt like dx11. oh yeah, and dx11 will only work on nvidia cards. and unicorns.

  25. #500
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech View Post
    I don't think it means months. The theory right now is that he means they have 16 more milliseconds(which is the usual game based term for ms) in the rendering calls due to the switch to DX11 in which to add effects and still keep an identical frame-rate.

    That's enough time to add quite a bit of effects(and textures, hint hint) to the title--especially since most would agree that DX11 was probably being worked on along side DX9, it just wasn't finished by the time EA said "GET IT OUT THE DOOR NOW!".
    Ahhhhh, that makes more sense. Sorry, need coffee

    And I can definitely believe EA having a large part to do with this. They are notorious for that "ZOMG DEADLINE HERE RELEASE GAME NAO NAO NAO!" bs they pull with the companies they acquire.

    Hopefully Crytek does right by PC Gamers on this.

    Anywho, with regards to multiplayer, how large are the levels? Are they the tiny little things that are intended to keep the gameplay in frenetic "spawn, shoot, die in 15 sec or less" mode ala COD, or is there actually enough room to spread out and play with a little more tactics? I tried watching some of the multiplayer gameplay vids on YouTube but couldn't really get a good feel for it since a lot of them have the guy taking the same route every time.
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

Page 20 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1017181920212223 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •