Thread: XtremeLabs.org Snowflake (simple SS project)

Champion

XtremeLabs.org Snowflake (simple SS project)

Hi guys!
    Decided to share the info about my first SS build here -) I'm quite new to phase-change though I've read much info about it. Decided to 'get rid' of some unused components and make a system which would cool down the SB below zero (that would be a good opportunity concerning that recently LN2 became very expensive in Kiev).
    Planned to spend as little money as possible for this system (not calculating the stuff I already have).

Components:
    - Aspera NE2125E compressor;
    - LuVe STFT 14 1 21 condenser with quite noisy native fan;
    - 2 Shradders; simple dryer filter;
    - copper tube of variable diameters; captube 0.8 mm;
    - some R22;
    - previously used evap built years ago by my friend
    List of main instruments: propane-oxygene burner, pipe-cutter, tube-expander, some solder and flux.

I wanted to create a small and cute system, shiny one, not ghetto like this:

Evap:

Compressor has been used earlier by another noobish SS builder who used lead to solder tubes

It should be pretty small, yepp?

Some tubes, handbended -)

Used an old filter to make the desuperheater:

Soldering was not a problem (except 'fighting' with that ghetto evap).

Black and white should be stylish, I suppose:

There is a thermoprobe wire under the sleeve:

Some insulation (K-flex only):

That handle present on the pic should make the system carriage much more convenient.

First tests on SB clocked to 5500 MHz showed that evap's temp is approx. -40 C idle, -25-30 loaded with single-thread applications. Full load caused the temp to increase to -5 C.
    Good enough still

Some technical data:
    - idle pressure ~4,6 bar;
    - high-pressure line when working ~10-11 bar;
    - suction 1(+/-0,5) bar;

Unfortunately this is not the end, and later I will explain why. Have to clear out everything at first