Thread: NEW BUILD ... Raven RV02-E-White ... It flies!

NEW BUILD ... Raven RV02-E-White ... It flies!

Hey guys, I recently did a new system build - utilizing most of my components, but updating my water loop and putting it all into a new Raven RV02 case.

I thought I'd share with you some photos and commentary of the process. Hope you enjoy *

*Inspiration*

My system consists of the following:

Asus Rampage III Extreme
    i7 930
    3 x MSI GTX 580's
    6GB G-Skill Trident
    1200W Antec Truepower
    4 x 1TB Cavier Black
    1 x 120GB G-Skill Phoenix SSD
    1 x Samsung Blu Ray

I had housed this tech inside a Cosmos 1000, which I purchased back at the end of 2007. It's served me pretty well, and I had made several modifications to the case. Here is a link to the first build I did with the case, when I was a complete beginner to watercooling. It was a messy build, but worked well: http://forums.overclockers.com.au/sh...d.php?t=656482

Anyway, the Cosmos 1000 saw many changes; moving from 3870's in Crossfire, to Quad SLI GTX295's, different CPU's, etc etc. The case isn't bad, but it had very bad airflow, which I had to augment in a few ways. I installed a Cosmos S side panel (with the 20cm fan) from my partner's old rig (he's upgraded to a LANBOY Air). This side fan did help my thirsty-for-air 3-way 580's ... but it was just more added noise. I had to use a 12cm fan on the end of the cards inside the case also ... they just needed so much air, and the Cosmos 1000 starved them.

I realised I had an itch to get a new case, about 6 months ago. It's a pretty common thing here on OCAU, hey I just wanted something new, and something that was a technological improvement on my current case. I looked far and wide, considered everything from the Antec 1200, to Lian Li high-end systems, to HAF X, to Bifenix blah blah.