MMM
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: IDE capture card BIOS SS

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252

    IDE capture card BIOS SS

    Hey guys, maybe someone here can tell me if this is possible. I used to do BIOS screenshots using a IDE controller card with code required to make SS flashed in place of the bios. Basically you just hit print screen and it write the screenshot to floppy. Problem is boards dont have ide anymore or floppy so I cant do it. I got a ide to sata adapter so the card should work but it is programmed to write to floppy and I have nothing to connect a floppy to.

    This procedure - http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=104408

    Any idea of a work around?

    cheers
    Last edited by Eldonko; 02-14-2011 at 08:01 PM.
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    picture or link to device in question?


  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    Syba Ultra ATA - IDE controller card
    Ultra SATA to IDE ATA 100/133 Adapter



    Original source:

    http://translate.google.com/translat...cord21&act=url
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  4. #4
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    You could use something like this with a second PC, but it's an expensive solution - VGA grabber costs 300 $ and DVI version costs 1000$ .
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia! :)
    Posts
    6,099
    I'm a lil confused to what significance the 2 items u pictured, have in reference to a floppy drive
    DNA = Design Not Accident
    DNA = Darwin Not Accurate

    heatware / ebay
    HARDWARE I only own Xeons, Extreme Editions & Lian Li's
    https://prism-break.org/

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    G.Foyle yeah that is what Im trying to avoid, big $$ of grabber.

    tiro_uspsss the ide card is flashed with code that takes a SS and copys to floppy. Problem is no floppy. The code was created 5 years ago before the time of usb drives and such
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    ASRock offers SS on bios by pressing F12 with last bios.
    Request Gigabyte, if ASRock can do it Gigabyte too

    Last edited by Olivon; 02-15-2011 at 07:42 AM.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,252
    I may pick up a usb floppy drive and see if that works. Pretty sure gigabyte is not going to develop a util for me to do a SS heh
    MB Reviewer for HWC
    Team OCX Bench Team

  9. #9
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    maybe when Gigabyte goes UEFI on bioses ?
    ---

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,595
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
    I may pick up a usb floppy drive and see if that works. Pretty sure gigabyte is not going to develop a util for me to do a SS heh
    Not only for you dude but for the community

    It's a nice feature (a little gimmick, right) and hope Gigabyte will do it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •