Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 67

Thread: MSI 890FXA-GD65 reviews????? **UPDATE** board installed

  1. #1
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428

    MSI 890FXA-GD65 reviews?**UPDATE 2/9/11** OC with new cooler

    I just bought this board on newegg, however throught the "WEB" I cant seem to find any reviews on it.... Anyone here have experience with this board? I havent had an MSI board since the NF4 SLi days, but im hoping I like it! It seems MSI has REALLLLLLLY come a long way!
    Last edited by newls1; 02-09-2011 at 04:36 PM. Reason: I now have the board
    Nothing anymore

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    12
    I have the 890FXA and i love it, very easy overclocking, the oc dial is a pretty cool feature. But the layout of the board is just awesome. You will love it.
    The Windtunnel
    All cooled by air

    CPU: AMD 965 @ 4.55 on air
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
    MOBO: MSI 890FXA
    PSU:1000 watt rosewill
    Video: 2 MSI 6950 flashed to 6970 950 core 1420 mem
    Mem: 4G OCZ AMD Black Edition 8-8-8-24 1856 mhz
    HD: OCZ Agility 2 SSD
    OS:Windows 7 home 64-bit

    4.592 on AIR

  3. #3
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    coo, thanks... I cant understand why there are no reviews of it on the internet anywhere... strange
    Nothing anymore

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    coo, thanks... I cant understand why there are no reviews of it on the internet anywhere... strange
    That isn't the only AMD based motherboard that doesn't have any reviews... they were all too busy playing with intel boards I guess.
    Either that, or nobody bothered to request a sample board ?

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    Because it's new. The GD70 is what most own.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member Royalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    China
    Posts
    266
    IMO not much difference with GD70






  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    92
    Board uses 6pin PCI-E power plug. I wounder what that's for.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict Daveburt714's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,486
    newls1: I guess you'll get to be the one to give us a first hand review...

    The one thing I did notice in looking at the board is that it has 10 chokes in the power section, compared to the 5 on the GD70.
    That would suggest to me that it has 8+2 power compared to the 4+1 on the GD70.

    I actually like MSI but the weak power section on their boards have kept me away from them for a couple years.
    Lots of folks like their GD70's and I was really tempted to buy one, but that was the one thing that scared me away (justified or not)...

    Hope you'll post some results when you get the new board!
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  9. #9
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    Quote Originally Posted by Daveburt714 View Post
    newls1: I guess you'll get to be the one to give us a first hand review...

    The one thing I did notice in looking at the board is that it has 10 chokes in the power section, compared to the 5 on the GD70.
    That would suggest to me that it has 8+2 power compared to the 4+1 on the GD70.

    I actually like MSI but the weak power section on their boards have kept me away from them for a couple years.
    Lots of folks like their GD70's and I was really tempted to buy one, but that was the one thing that scared me away (justified or not)...

    Hope you'll post some results when you get the new board!
    SO are you saying the GD65 actually has a better "Power" setup? also, if you look close near the CPU socket area / I think near the top of the PCIE 16x slot, it says "AM3+" ready........... HMMMMMM
    Nothing anymore

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor eXa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evje, Norway
    Posts
    3,424
    But it aint AM3+ ready tho...
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    Not to be outdone by rival ATi, nVidia's going to offer its own drivers on EA Download Manager.
    X2 555 @ B55 @ 4050 1.4v, NB @ 2700 1.35v Fuzion V1
    Gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h v2.1
    HD6950 2GB swiftech MCW60 @ 1000mhz, 1.168v 1515mhz memory
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1866 cas 9 @ 1800 8.9.8.27.41 1T 110ns 1.605v
    C300 64GB, 2X Seagate barracuda green LP 2TB, Essence STX, Zalman ZM750-HP
    DDC 3.2/petras, PA120.3 ek-res400, Stackers STC-01,
    Dell U2412m, G110, G9x, Razer Scarab

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,411
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post


    SO are you saying the GD65 actually has a better "Power" setup? also, if you look close near the CPU socket area / I think near the top of the PCIE 16x slot, it says "AM3+" ready........... HMMMMMM
    its some bull*t, because AM3+ is more PINs.
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    First it was exploding caps, 1997-2004...then a period of recession followed by Dr.Mos and his happy passion for fire and explosions:
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1524927

    Feel free to read all 11 pages, one guys GD70 caught his desk on fire. Were he not sitting there and left Prime run all night he would have woken up to his house burning down.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme Manicdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,747
    thats some scary info
    the weird thing is my OC is hardly an increase, and im running some of the lowest voltages available AND when it died the PC was just idling

    funny thing is, i kinda mentioned this could happen back before thuban came out, wondering if 50% more cores means 50% more power draw once people touch the voltages a little. yet it seemed to not be the case. so why does MSI seem to hate thuban?
    2500k @ 4900mhz - Asus Maxiums IV Gene Z - Swiftech Apogee LP
    GTX 680 @ +170 (1267mhz) / +300 (3305mhz) - EK 680 FC EN/Acteal
    Swiftech MCR320 Drive @ 1300rpms - 3x GT 1850s @ 1150rpms
    XS Build Log for: My Latest Custom Case

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme BeepBeep2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,395
    Well, my Thuban at 4 Ghz / 3 Ghz CPUNB at 1.44v/1.35v is enough to make my board throttle the CPU due to PWM overheating...
    Though this board took a 965BE @ 4.06 Ghz / 2.9 Ghz CPUNB at 1.62v/1.5v just fine.

    I believe Thuban uses a touch more power than Deneb

    TDP does not equal power draw.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  15. #15
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    OK, I just did a fresh install of win7 64... blah, blah, blah.. Everything is updated to absolute newest drivers, etc.. After my last driver install (AMD 11.1a driver for my 6870) it says its running PCIE 8x mode... WTF!!!! There is no bios setting that I can see that has anything to do with this! And YES, It is installed in a PCIE x16 slot....

    **EDIT**

    This is driving me craZY! I guess Since the board is so new, and only 1 bios is out for it, that I just have to wait for MSI to release a BIOS fix for this???? Other then this issue, the board OC's nicely so far. Im @ 3.61GHz @ 1.375vcore, NB @ 2600MHz Auto NBv, HT @ 2008, ram @ DDR1741 @ 8/8/8/24 1t unganged
    Last edited by newls1; 01-27-2011 at 05:09 PM.
    Nothing anymore

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member AlleyViper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    OK, I just did a fresh install of win7 64... blah, blah, blah.. Everything is updated to absolute newest drivers, etc.. After my last driver install (AMD 11.1a driver for my 6870) it says its running PCIE 8x mode... WTF!!!! There is no bios setting that I can see that has anything to do with this! And YES, It is installed in a PCIE x16 slot....

    **EDIT**

    This is driving me craZY! I guess Since the board is so new, and only 1 bios is out for it, that I just have to wait for MSI to release a BIOS fix for this???? Other then this issue, the board OC's nicely so far. Im @ 3.61GHz @ 1.375vcore, NB @ 2600MHz Auto NBv, HT @ 2008, ram @ DDR1741 @ 8/8/8/24 1t unganged
    If you're watching 8x on gpu-z, produce some 3D load with furmark or anything at hand. Some cards idle at lower pci-e modes. Mine reverts to pci-E 1.1 16x on idle, and then back to 2.0 16x on load.
    DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | PII X4 965BE C3 + TRUE B 120, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x4GB Ballistix Tactical 1866C9 .16FMR | ASUS HD7870 DCII V2 | Xonar DX, WMP600N | M500 240GB, ST1000528AS, ST3500418AS | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | PC P&C S75QB

  17. #17
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    negitive.... This graphics card was in my other build and it was 16x all the time.. I've never heard/seen any GPU kick back to 8x speed.... That is rediculous!
    Nothing anymore

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member AlleyViper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    261
    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-1_vis...7_32-64_sb.exe tried that one too? IIRC it also installs a NB filter driver, but it sound more like a mb issue. Try changing slots also just to be sure.
    DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | PII X4 965BE C3 + TRUE B 120, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x4GB Ballistix Tactical 1866C9 .16FMR | ASUS HD7870 DCII V2 | Xonar DX, WMP600N | M500 240GB, ST1000528AS, ST3500418AS | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | PC P&C S75QB

  19. #19
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    thanks brotha, I'll try that link now!!

    **EDIT** That link didnt work?
    Nothing anymore

  20. #20
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    I put in a support request @ MSI's site... Maybe 6 months from now someone might look into this issue!!

    Damn, this reminds me of the Asus P5B-DLX days... anyone remember the PCIe issue with that board!
    Last edited by newls1; 01-27-2011 at 06:21 PM.
    Nothing anymore

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member AlleyViper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    thanks brotha, I'll try that link now!!

    **EDIT** That link didnt work?
    Sorry, didn't notice that direct links aren't allowed in there.
    http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloa...downloads.aspx
    Motherboard/Integrated Video Drivers>w7 x64>Optional Downloads>South Bridge Driver -> should take you to the above link

    (imho this is completely out of hand for people who come looking for sb/raid/ahci drivers)
    DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | PII X4 965BE C3 + TRUE B 120, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x4GB Ballistix Tactical 1866C9 .16FMR | ASUS HD7870 DCII V2 | Xonar DX, WMP600N | M500 240GB, ST1000528AS, ST3500418AS | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | PC P&C S75QB

  22. #22
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    the SB controls the PCIe speed? And thank you for your quick replies man......
    Nothing anymore

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member AlleyViper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    261
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    the SB controls the PCIe speed? And thank you for your quick replies man......
    No, I just said that driver package also contains a NB Filter driver that you MIGHT be missing, even if the download only state SB package. Your other bets should be double checking bios options, trying other 16x slot or updating to last bios if there's any. Btw, what does your GPU-Z report on load?
    PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x8 or
    PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ 2.0 x8
    Have you tried also to disable your NEC USB 3.0 or any other onboard devices that take space on the bus, just to check if it's eating PCI-E lanes on that particular slot due to a bios bug? (890FX should have plenty lanes to spare)
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 01-28-2011 at 05:57 AM.
    DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | PII X4 965BE C3 + TRUE B 120, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x4GB Ballistix Tactical 1866C9 .16FMR | ASUS HD7870 DCII V2 | Xonar DX, WMP600N | M500 240GB, ST1000528AS, ST3500418AS | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | PC P&C S75QB

  24. #24
    NREMT-I newls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    near Atlanta Georgia (and hate it)
    Posts
    2,428
    Quote Originally Posted by AlleyViper View Post
    No, I just said that driver package also contains a NB Filter driver that you MIGHT be missing, even if the download only state SB package. Your other bets should be double checking bios options, trying other 16x slot or updating to last bios if there's any. Btw, what does your GPU-Z report on load?
    PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x8 or
    PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ 2.0 x8
    Have you tried also to disable your NEC USB 3.0 or any other onboard devices that take space on the bus, just to check if it's eating PCI-E lanes on that particular slot due to a bios bug? (890FX should have plenty lanes to spare)
    GPUz reports "PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ 2.0 x8" at all times... I have disabled all bios options that aren't needed. This board is so new, that there isnt any other BIOS out for it. I wonder if I could flash it to the GD70 version board bios???
    Nothing anymore

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
    GPUz reports "PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ 2.0 x8" at all times... I have disabled all bios options that aren't needed. This board is so new, that there isnt any other BIOS out for it. I wonder if I could flash it to the GD70 version board bios???

    Hi!

    I just read your problem and wanted to check whether my new 6850 is running properly @16.
    Started GPU-Z and had to realize that it was running @x4 -

    I knew it was in the right (top) slot in my CHIV so I reinserted it and voila - back to 16x.
    So maybe just try resitting yours, too.
    PhenomII X6 1055T-250x14@1,30v,T15,5 (1011 APMW) |Watercooled by Zern PQ | Crosshair IV Formula Bios 2002| 4x4Gb Kingston HyperX 1333 9-9-9-25-34 @ 1.5v | Radeon 6850 | Crucial C300 128GB / Samsung F3 1TB | Thermaltake M450W PSU | WIN7 64 Bit Pro | EYE-2020XB Server-tower

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •