Thread: Crossfire suddenly causing 3D crashes

L-l-look at you, hacker.

Crossfire suddenly causing 3D crashes

Hey folks
    Have come across a very, very strange issue.

I've been running sig rig for nearly six months now, with no issues at all. I left my machine for just over a week while I was away out of the state, and ever since I got back I've been having issues with 3D crashes. At first I was only playing one game - Neverwinter Nights II, that I got in the Steam Christmas specials - so I put it down to an application issue, particularly as NWN2 was supposed to be quite buggy anyway. Once I finished the campaign in NWN2 and started firing up other titles, though, I noticed that almost everything was starting to bug out and crash.

I initially thought it might be a heat issue, so checked temps, but no problems. Next I thought it might be something to do with my OC, so I tried first off running FurMark and Heaven, then doing Linpack and Prime runs, then Memtest - everything checked out OK, no issues. In case they weren't picking up the issue, I tried running everything stock - CPU, RAM, GPUs, etc etc - problems remained when gaming. Next I thought driver issues, so I uninstalled, ran Driver Cleaner, and re-installed the latest 10.12 package and Catalyst App Profiles - problems remained.

Finally I thought it might be one card going bad, so I disabled Crossfire in CCC, leaving just the top (primary) card doing the work - problems fixed. To confirm, I disabled the first card via jumpers (my mobo, the Classified, allows you to disable PCI-E slots) leaving just the second card running - problems remained fixed. Enabled the first card again - problems remained fixed. Enabled Crossfire - problems reappeared.