Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP!! Someone is licensing my photos.

Xtreme Cruncher

HELP!! Someone is licensing my photos.

About a month ago someone came across my works and wanted to use two of my photos as an "internal web application."

He says that the application will not be of any commercial use and will only be shown to selected clients. Since I've applied an attributions license (anyone can use it; as long as they are not of commercial use) to all my photos, I simply gave him permission to use those two photographs.

Now the thing is, he tells me that the web application will be changed to Commercial Use. He is asking to purchase a license for "Commercial use for 1 year and web only."

I certainly didn't expect making money from my photographs, as I've never done these things before. How much should I charge this guy?

Here are the two images that he was talking about:

www.flickr.com/photos/lkiller123/5236424710/
    www.flickr.com/photos/lkiller123/4796269343/
    Last edited by lkiller123; 01-19-2011 at 09:31 PM.
    Team XS: xs4s.org

Xtreme Cruncher
    Honestly, I would ask more questions about the commercial software. If you said $5000 you might be happy. But what if it was going into the next version of Windows? They sell millions of copies. Now what if you had said you want 1 cent for each copy of the software sold. You could make alot more money.

I'm just saying you shouldn't necessarily consider a flat number. Example...Jack Nickelson wanted a percent of the profits from the 1980s movie "Batman" instead of a flat fee. The studios laughed at him all the way to the bank...until the movie made BIG BIG money. It was the single smartest decision of any actor in recent history. I've heard he made more money from that movie than any actor in any other movie to date.

I think Josh is getting ahead of himself.