Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: P67 Sabertooth question

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    107

    P67 Sabertooth question

    Looking at the new Asus Sabertooth P67 layout with that shroud.... I immagine air is being pushed under it to cool the board.... With a watercooler you dont get no air...... Board would overheat covered like that. I am I reading this board correctly? NO good for watercooling..
    2600k@4800mhz 1.4Vcore

    Radeon HD4870
    Asus P67 Sabertooth

    2 X Corsair Vengence DDR3 (2X4) 9-9-9-24
    Hauppauge TV
    Corsair Hydrocool200 EX
    Main drive Crucial C300 SSD.
    PWS: Seasonic Gold X 850W

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6
    I guess you could always take the, uh... "tactical jacket" off.
    X3450 | P7P55D-E Deluxe | 4x2 GB ECO CL7 | GTX460 1 GB TOP SLI | X-Fi Forte | XFX 850W BE

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    467
    You can fit a 70mm fan to the jacket.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Not a big deal if you don't use a top-down cooler... hell it's military grade materials that have been tested in the center of the Sun


    Quote Originally Posted by Multiplectic View Post
    I guess you could always take the, uh... "tactical jacket" off.
    Blasphemy, she looks beautiful with the Tux on
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    107
    Ya, I read that you can remove a small cover and install a 70mm fan shooting down on the boad. That may be the way to go. I am still wondering if it will overclock as well as the other 2 boards I am looking at : the Asus P67 deluxe and the Gigabyte UD5...
    So far, I am favoring the Sabertooth but waiting for more reviews and comparaisons..
    2600k@4800mhz 1.4Vcore

    Radeon HD4870
    Asus P67 Sabertooth

    2 X Corsair Vengence DDR3 (2X4) 9-9-9-24
    Hauppauge TV
    Corsair Hydrocool200 EX
    Main drive Crucial C300 SSD.
    PWS: Seasonic Gold X 850W

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    182
    Its a nice and clean looking board. I would have bought it if the price was a tad lower.
    Asus Laptop

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Any truth to the rumor they are shipping a small 70mm fan with the board? Got one on order.
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    didn't see one in my box they prefer a CPU cooler that blows down on the board... but honestly don't think adding a cooler is a must for normal ops... temp swing isn't that much worse then with an added fan...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Evidently it's been added after the first batch went out, but so far can't confirm it
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    I just got mine and no fan in it. Latest batch from the Egg. But it's a GREAT board, love it so far!
    Ci7 7700K/32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz/Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1/PNY RTX 3090 XLR8 Epic-X/Samsung 960 Pro 512gb/Toshiba X300 6Tb/Corsair Carbide 400C/Corsair HX850i Platinum/EVGA CLC 240 AIO/Windows 10 Pro

  11. #11
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    Quote Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
    I just got mine and no fan in it. Latest batch from the Egg. But it's a GREAT board, love it so far!
    How how is the northbridge and Mosfets? Heatsinks cool ? More info please guys

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    you don't have the cold boot syndrome moshpit ? My board 100% only posts at 1333Mhz with my Corsairs. If I select a higher ram divider when the rig is OC'ed it's a no post... will try with the other rams
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  13. #13
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    hey leg what dimm voltage and u upp'd the vccio??

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    tried from 1.57-1.65. Vccio not upped, doesn't do anything on my CPU. I don't even need to up it one bit for 5200 superpi 32M at 5.2Ghz... either I have a flakey board or Asus didn't adress the CB issue with the sabretooth yet. Board always posts at 1333Mhz. If I put 1600Mhz it' sno post. Same behaviour too when it hard crashes, never comes back... ( similar to the pro and Dlx boards with earlier biosses )
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    Definately sounds like a bios issue dude..

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    I'm running bios version 1204 on mine, and the only boot issue I ever had was the double-post issue, which 1204 fixed. I have so few problems with mine that I set everything to auto (except memory) and multi to 46 and it's smooth as butter, 78C Prime95 max, vcore is auto'ing up to 1.336 on it's own from 32C/0.996 it idles at. Memory is running full speed 1600mhz @ 8-8-8-21 1T, but I had to manually set it up as the XMP profile for 1600 on these Patriot Viper II's suck donkeydong, manual setup is the only way they work on any i7 board.
    Ci7 7700K/32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz/Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1/PNY RTX 3090 XLR8 Epic-X/Samsung 960 Pro 512gb/Toshiba X300 6Tb/Corsair Carbide 400C/Corsair HX850i Platinum/EVGA CLC 240 AIO/Windows 10 Pro

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Oh so not cool, I can't get this board for months now

    Intel Finds Design Flaw in New Sandy Bridge Chipset

    http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=20789
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by godsfist View Post
    Oh so not cool, I can't get this board for months now

    Intel Finds Design Flaw in New Sandy Bridge Chipset

    http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=20789
    This news is breaking my heart. This is easily the finest PC I've ever built, and I was happier with it then any I've ever owned.
    Ci7 7700K/32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz/Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1/PNY RTX 3090 XLR8 Epic-X/Samsung 960 Pro 512gb/Toshiba X300 6Tb/Corsair Carbide 400C/Corsair HX850i Platinum/EVGA CLC 240 AIO/Windows 10 Pro

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
    This news is breaking my heart. This is easily the finest PC I've ever built, and I was happier with it then any I've ever owned.
    There is a huge chance yours is not affected, it was only one shipment by the sounds of it, just keep an eye on your drives and if there is a problem they'll replace it according to Intel.
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by godsfist View Post
    There is a huge chance yours is not affected, it was only one shipment by the sounds of it, just keep an eye on your drives and if there is a problem they'll replace it according to Intel.
    I'm doing better with the whole thing now that I know there's a way around it. SATA 6Gbs slots FTW!
    Ci7 7700K/32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz/Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1/PNY RTX 3090 XLR8 Epic-X/Samsung 960 Pro 512gb/Toshiba X300 6Tb/Corsair Carbide 400C/Corsair HX850i Platinum/EVGA CLC 240 AIO/Windows 10 Pro

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by godsfist View Post
    There is a huge chance yours is not affected, it was only one shipment by the sounds of it, just keep an eye on your drives and if there is a problem they'll replace it according to Intel.
    Dunno where you got that. Intel's press release clearly states it effects all Cougar Point, that's all H67/P67 chipsets shipped, includes laptops as well. Its a design flaw, not a manufacturing problem.

    That's why its going to cost them a billion dollars.

    http://newsroom.intel.com/community/...nting-solution
    Asus Rampage Formula
    Intel Core2Quad QX9650 @ 3.3GHz
    Corsair H50
    GSkill 4x2GB DDR2 F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 5-5-5-12
    Corsair 750HX 750W PSU
    Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5870
    AuzenTech AZT-FORTE X-Fi Forte
    Audio-Technica ATH-A700 Headphones
    Intel X25-M G2 160GB SSD
    ASUS DRW-2014L1T
    Corsair Obsidian 800D
    Microsoft Windows 7 x64

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member godsfist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by seamumc View Post
    Dunno where you got that. Intel's press release clearly states it effects all Cougar Point, that's all H67/P67 chipsets shipped, includes laptops as well. Its a design flaw, not a manufacturing problem.

    That's why its going to cost them a billion dollars.

    http://newsroom.intel.com/community/...nting-solution
    Yeah I read their release wrong.. oh well port 0 and 1 until Z68 I guess
    INTEL CORE i7-10700K
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E
    CORSAIR DDR4 3200 32GB
    MSI RTX 3070 VENTUS 8GB
    SAMSUNG QA65Q7FN 65 TV
    DARK BASE PRO 900 REV2
    DARK ROCK 4 HEATSINK
    SEASONIC PRIME 750W
    SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB
    CRUCIAL X8 SSD 1TB
    ADATA HD770G 1TB
    SENNHEISER HD598
    LOGITECH Z-5500
    LOGITECH K800
    ASUS RT-AC88U
    DEATHADDER

  23. #23
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    Easy fix to, grab a PCIE raid card

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12
    Here is a good review of the Sabertooth P67 whit nice OC to 5.1Ghz

    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=3064252
    Phenom 9550 @ 2.8
    DFI LanParty UT 790FX-M2R
    4 * 2gb Adata DDR2 800 @ 1050
    Asus HD4870
    Scythe Ninja Plus


Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •