Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Asus Maximus IV + Sandy Bridge OC problem

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Konin - Poland
    Posts
    82

    Asus Maximus IV + Sandy Bridge OC problem

    Hi guys.


    I really need to solve this problem fast.

    I have both 2500K and 2600K from Intel and Maximus IV from Asus. Iím trying to make some OC to our CPU review, but I have really strange problem. This is my first contact with Sandy Bridge OC (Iím still riding on E8400 on P5Q Deluxe) so sorry if my question is stupid.


    Iíve started with 2600K. Just typed 39 ration and go. What I saw in OS? This:

    http://img823.imageshack.us/i/75704632.jpg/


    As you can see here Ė CPU is somehow lowering BCLK to keep 3400 MHz all the time. Iím really trying to disable most of EIST/C1E/SpeedStep functions but it doesnít work. Here are some BIOS pics.

    http://img543.imageshack.us/i/110110140129.jpg/

    http://img43.imageshack.us/i/110110140143.jpg/

    http://img135.imageshack.us/i/110110140421.jpg/


    What if I try to turn Turbo mode off (keeping all C1/C3 on Disable)?

    There is no difference in CPU-Z Ė still 3400, with proper BCLK on 100 MHz and 34 multiplier :/ But I put 39, so where is it?!

    http://img208.imageshack.us/i/22579228.jpg/


    My question is Ė what is affecting BCLK so the CPU is always working with 3400 MHz?

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,374
    Are you on the latest bios ? I had a locked multiplier on my Dlx mobo ( even though some other reviewers could unlock the multi from the vanilla bios...)

    I didn't touch any of the speedsteps and states, works fine like that...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Konin - Poland
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Are you on the latest bios ? I had a locked multiplier on my Dlx mobo ( even though some other reviewers could unlock the multi from the vanilla bios...)

    I didn't touch any of the speedsteps and states, works fine like that...

    I think this is the newest BIOS - from 6th of January, but I just asked Asus for any newer.

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,374
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Konin - Poland
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Here is my current BIOS version - MaximusIV-Extreme-ASUS-0654

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,123
    1. You need to keep EIST, C-States, and Speedstep enabled to ensure turbo/multi modes work correctly.
    2. For best clocking and highest multis, you need to set S3 to disable, ensure Internal PLL Overvoltage is enabled, and depending on cooling, set your voltages accordingly. For LN2 with a good chip, CPU Core Voltage to 1.6V~1.7V, PLL to 2.1V, play with the SKEWs for fine tuning, keep temps between -80C~-100C, on most D2 chips this should get you 5.8 (58x multi), on good air or water, keep CPU voltages around 1.45V~1.5V (outer limit), PLL to 1.9V, play with the SKEWs, and you should see anywhere from 5.0~5.2, with the best chips hitting 5.4.
    3. Balance of settings at Auto, expect DRAM where you need to set based on memory type, timings and clock settings.

  7. #7
    HWGurus
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    798
    Hmm, I doubt you can reach 5.8 with 2600k... it seems there is lock at about 5.5GHz - 5.6GHz

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Konin - Poland
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo13 View Post
    1. You need to keep EIST, C-States, and Speedstep enabled to ensure turbo/multi modes work correctly.
    Thank you for your support, but nothing happend :/
    Here are screens from BIOS with actuall situation
    http://img529.imageshack.us/i/110110171817.jpg/
    http://img84.imageshack.us/i/110110171838.jpg/
    http://img98.imageshack.us/i/110110171831.jpg/
    For the last screen - even with Maxium Power Enable it's all the same - ratio is 38, but BCLK is 89,5, which gives us 3400 :/

    Quote Originally Posted by bingo13 View Post
    2. For best clocking and highest multis, you need to set S3 to disable, ensure Internal PLL Overvoltage is enabled, and depending on cooling, set your voltages accordingly. For LN2 with a good chip, CPU Core Voltage to 1.6V~1.7V, PLL to 2.1V, play with the SKEWs for fine tuning, keep temps between -80C~-100C, on most D2 chips this should get you 5.8 (58x multi), on good air or water, keep CPU voltages around 1.45V~1.5V (outer limit), PLL to 1.9V, play with the SKEWs, and you should see anywhere from 5.0~5.2, with the best chips hitting 5.4.
    For best clocking and highest multis, you need to set S3 to disable itd.
    I would really like to solve this BCLK/mutliplier problem, then I can think about some records and 5 GHz

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,123
    Quote Originally Posted by quake6 View Post
    Hmm, I doubt you can reach 5.8 with 2600k... it seems there is lock at about 5.5GHz - 5.6GHz
    Actually there are a few chips doing 6GHz now, you have to play with the skews and PLL to fine tune it in, also temp is critical, some CPUs with the new BIOS will easily hit 5.8 but sometimes at -80C and others at -96C, it just requires a lot of tuning up top.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,123
    Quote Originally Posted by Awers View Post
    Thank you for your support, but nothing happend :/
    Here are screens from BIOS with actuall situation
    http://img529.imageshack.us/i/110110171817.jpg/
    http://img84.imageshack.us/i/110110171838.jpg/
    http://img98.imageshack.us/i/110110171831.jpg/
    For the last screen - even with Maxium Power Enable it's all the same - ratio is 38, but BCLK is 89,5, which gives us 3400 :/



    For best clocking and highest multis, you need to set S3 to disable itd.
    I would really like to solve this BCLK/mutliplier problem, then I can think about some records and 5 GHz
    I will get the board setup tonight and send you a configuration list.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Konin - Poland
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo13 View Post
    I will get the board setup tonight and send you a configuration list.
    That would be absolutly great, hope this will solve my problem.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,160
    You need to change the Turbo Multiplier (Maximum Turbo Ratio Setting)



    If you disable the turbo you canīt reach higher multipliers as x34

    Edit: didnīt see that you tested this...

    Has you enabled "CPU Maximum Power" in CPU Perfomance Settings?
    Last edited by Chri$ch; 01-11-2011 at 05:35 AM.

  13. #13
    HWGurus
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    798
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo13 View Post
    Actually there are a few chips doing 6GHz now, you have to play with the skews and PLL to fine tune it in, also temp is critical, some CPUs with the new BIOS will easily hit 5.8 but sometimes at -80C and others at -96C, it just requires a lot of tuning up top.
    And where is that

    There is no 5.7GHz 2600k, not even for verification and 5.8 - 6 GHz is almost impossible...

    Also skews can help a little, but 200-400MHz with it :/ IMO, no way

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •