MMM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: max voltage for Q6600

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126

    max voltage for Q6600

    what would YOU push into it? G0 VID 1.325

    past 350MHz bus it stops scaling well with vcore but i'm at 380 now (3.42)

    temps are fine, what are common max voltages for Q6600's (I had the Q6600 one day before I blew a board mid-December, just got my UD3R today, so i don't have any experience with the chip (first board i clocked with was a 750i that wouldn't break 2.7GHz)) at 24/7 clocks
    Last edited by skier; 01-06-2011 at 05:32 PM.
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    254
    I used to have one of those G0 @ 1.55V (MM'd) for a year or so, and it rarely idled So no drama @ 1.55 given that the temps are ok... it's a 65nm chip after all

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    thanks, I'm Blend loading at ~60C with 1.45v at 3.33GHz without using my fan controller (so my CPU fans are running on the auto settings)
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sydney - Australia
    Posts
    223
    Wow 1.45v with 3.33Ghz!! you should be able to lower that voltage a little BTW my G0 is also a 1.325 vid chip.
    ASUS Rampage Formula X48 (Bios 1002 SoLoR MOD) | Intel Q6600 @ 3.6GHz (8x450) | 2x2GB GSKILL F2-9600CL5-2GBTD @ 1200Mhz
    XSPC Rasa + RX360 | Antec P182 | Xonar ST+H6 | XFX Black Edition 850W | BFG 280GTX OC 713/1458/2646 1.149V

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    644
    im at 3.6@1.58 in bio... load is 1.51 IIRC... i think i did 3.2 on 1.28v or something....
    SYSTEM
    i5-3750K @ 4.6ghz - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - 16GB Samsung DDR3 - Sapphire R7 370 Nitro 4GB
    Water Cooling
    EK Supremecy - DDC-3.2 w/XSPC Top -Swiftech MCR320-QP - EK Multioption 150

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by RoadconeTuning View Post
    im at 3.6@1.58 in bio... load is 1.51 IIRC... i think i did 3.2 on 1.28v or something....

    think im heading down just about the same path, set to 1.5125 for 3.465 GHz

    just wish i knew more about all of those voltages
    3.465.jpg
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,588
    Quote Originally Posted by RoadconeTuning View Post
    im at 3.6@1.58 in bio... load is 1.51 IIRC... i think i did 3.2 on 1.28v or something....
    Try 3.7-3.9ghz at the same volts, 3.4 to 3.6ghz is a bad spot on the nvidia chipset. My q6600 GO did 3.9ghz with 1.43v set in bios on a 680i board.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by dengyong View Post
    3.4 to 3.6ghz is a bad spot on the nvidia chipset.
    what about P45 :p
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  9. #9
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    P45 is fine at that FSB. I'd be more concerned for the board PWM longevity rather than the CPU's at those voltages, make sure the board is well cooled.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    P45 is fine at that FSB. I'd be more concerned for the board PWM longevity rather than the CPU's at those voltages, make sure the board is well cooled.
    well:
    IMG_0095.JPG

    IMG_0096.JPG

    while the cpu is loading at 70C the PWM sinks aren't even warm to the touch
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    44
    nice....what fan is that?
    MSI 790FX-GD70 / 965 BE C3 @ 3991 @ 1.392v / GSKILL PI @ 1637 6-8-6-20-28-1T / Cooler Master Hyper 212+ / Corsair HX850

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,996
    Nice, looks like you have board cooling covered then
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    215
    I am running my G0 @ 3850 at 1.45v on a EVGA 790i Ultra. Max temps are 66 degrees while gaming

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by dood001 View Post
    nice....what fan is that?
    The white fan is an NZXT case fan from a Hades, the intake is from....god knows what, and the exhaust is the exhaust case fan from my TT Armor A90

    can't seem to get much more out of it stable, but there is certainly more
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    VCore depend on each CPU.........................
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    527
    Mine ran better with nvidia also. 1.5Vcore@4G on i780 was best but never ran over 3.9G with x38,x48 or p45. It was at it best running 475x8 @3.8G and 1.4Vcore on x38 at 60C full load, was like that more than a year. Still using this chip in wifes comp at 400x9 @3.6G and stock? vcore? have not looked at it in a year. No problems 100% stable or she would be complaining.
    Rampage III Gene I7 950@4.48G--1.485V HR-02 12G G.Skill 1600-1.5V, GTX470-SLI@725core 1750mem, Antec P180 MINI

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    it's strange that all of you are having much higher clocks on nvidia, but my 750i couldn't boot 2.7

    imma try dropping down to 8x to see if I can get more since I know this board should carry me to 500FSB or better

    edit: stressing 434x8 3.47G
    Last edited by skier; 01-08-2011 at 09:13 AM.
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    kos - greece
    Posts
    7
    my 24/7 settings
    Untitled.jpg
    max fsb
    max.jpg
    an old wprime
    wprime.JPG
    the multi is 6x at idle and 8x at load(coretemp read wrong multi)
    Capture.JPG

    watercooled
    Last edited by antonis; 01-08-2011 at 09:51 AM.
    CPU:Q6600 @3600 Mhz (450x8) 1.4 V On Eleven block.
    GPU:Gigabyte Gtx 460 1gb On Eleven block.
    MOBO:Asus p5q deluxe 1.36 vnb.
    RAM:4x1 Kingston HyperX 8500 @ 540 5-5-5-15 2.22v
    SSD:Samsung 830 128gb
    HDD:2xWd 1Tb
    PSU:Silverstone Olympia 750 Watt.
    CASE:CM Stacker 831 Blue.
    Sound Card:Creative X Fi Champion.
    Speakers:Logitech X-530.
    Monitor:Samsung 245b.

  19. #19
    HARD CRUNCHER!!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,787
    put your ram @ 1:1 ratio & you will get more fsb for sure. You will also be able to reach higher daily oc.
    Quote Originally Posted by mike047 View Post
    CRUNCH HARD, it may not help me and you, but it might help the Kids.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    well I got 451x8 stable

    wprime-451x8.jpg
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    254
    ( I think you are very easy on that cpu termination, bump it a bit, it may save you some vcore )

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by Ccaution View Post
    ( I think you are very easy on that cpu termination, bump it a bit, it may save you some vcore )
    i would have gave it more if i had any idea what it was for :p all i got was the board and a backplate no manual or anything

    and define bump
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

  23. #23
    HARD CRUNCHER!!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,787
    Cpu term & cpu v is too high.

    You can kick up the cpu term to 1.4 & drop your pll to 1.6 & v core to 1.45. Should be able to run the 9 multi like that. Drop your multi & see how much fsb she has in her. My ud3 does 550+. X3210, x3330, q9505, e8400
    Quote Originally Posted by mike047 View Post
    CRUNCH HARD, it may not help me and you, but it might help the Kids.

  24. #24
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    pll voltage is too high cpu will degrade

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Western Maine
    Posts
    126
    what is the highest safe CPU term? I'm on 1.44 and it still gives me voltage-related blue screens

    you're all sure the highest safe pll is 1.6? 1.5v is stock

    edit: also what about MCH (NB)? how high can I go on that?

    also I disabled LLC now, and am starting over from 300x9
    Last edited by skier; 01-09-2011 at 09:10 AM.
    If I forget to say it, Thank You

    As of 9-12-2013: Core i7 920 D0 / EVGA X58 SLI / Corsair Dominator 3x4G 2000MHz CL9 / GTX 460 1GB / HX750 / CoolerMaster Hyper N520 / Acer 23" 1080p TV
    To Be DICE'd: GA-EP45-UD3R F12, 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC, Q8400/Q8300/E8400/E7500/E7400's/Pentium Ds/Celeron Ds/Pentium4s under a man-made CopperPot (w/ manuf. Copper NB pot)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •