MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 22 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1219202122232425 ... LastLast
Results 526 to 550 of 637

Thread: 6950 to 6970 flash thread

  1. #526
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,620
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Synthetickiller View Post

    For those of you who've been running flashed 6950s in crossfire, how do you guys like the experience (drivers experience primarily)? I've always heard a lot about how ATIs drivers are garbage and I haven't touch ATI since my old x1900xtx. If they seem to have fixed a lot of issues, I'd gladly jump back.
    While over the years I've had significantly more issues with ATI drivers in multi-card setups, this round they are doing just fine. CF scaling is now better than SLI in terms of performance increase (a nod to good driver support) and is entirely a viable option.

    Still won't be able to talk me into a dual GPU "single" card though, the 3870X2 ruined that for me with dismal drivers
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  2. #527
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    283
    Ive got 2 questions for you guys if u dont mind:

    1. So i downloaded MSI afterburner and adjusted the core voltage to 1.100mV. How come when a game is running the voltage jumps back to 1.175? but when im on desktop its at 1.00. I made sure that i checked "Force constant voltage" to turn it on.

    2. I changed the thermal paste to AS 5 and my temperatures are still high. When playing splinter cell conviction with my fan at 55%, im hitting 93C. I need to turn up the fan really high to reduce the temps. Anything else I can do to lower gpu temps?
    Last edited by turok_t; 04-04-2011 at 08:28 PM.
    Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (Coolermaster Hyper 212)
    EVGA X58 3-SLI (132-BL-E758-A1)
    Corsair XMS3 Dominator 6GB (8-8-8-24)
    Corsair 850HX
    Diamond HD 6970 2GB
    Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

  3. #528
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    283
    So my 6950/6970 is still running a bit hot. With Crysis 2, Im getting around 90-92C (fan set to 65-70%) when the GPU is full load. I already changed the thermal paste to AS 5 and reheated the heatsink. Currently, my clock speeds are set to 855/1300 using 1.1mV for the gpu core. I want to further overclock my card but im worried about the temperatures. Any suggestions?
    Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (Coolermaster Hyper 212)
    EVGA X58 3-SLI (132-BL-E758-A1)
    Corsair XMS3 Dominator 6GB (8-8-8-24)
    Corsair 850HX
    Diamond HD 6970 2GB
    Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

  4. #529
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,550
    Quote Originally Posted by turok_t View Post
    So my 6950/6970 is still running a bit hot. With Crysis 2, Im getting around 90-92C (fan set to 65-70%) when the GPU is full load. I already changed the thermal paste to AS 5 and reheated the heatsink. Currently, my clock speeds are set to 855/1300 using 1.1mV for the gpu core. I want to further overclock my card but im worried about the temperatures. Any suggestions?
    That sounds way too hot. What are the ambient temps around where you are?

    I'm running two in crossfire with a shader unlocked bios at 900/1350 and in Crysis (the first one) the core speed doesn't top 80c with less than 40% fan speed but I keep the house cool.


    This is with at most 36% fan speed after about a half hour of Borderlands.

    Last edited by BababooeyHTJ; 04-06-2011 at 02:48 PM.

  5. #530
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    1,462
    Mine was running just as hot in Crysis2 until i put the Thermalright Shaman on
    7820X | Asrock X299 Taichi XE | Gigabyte 1080 Ti Xtreme | 32GB Memoriez | Corsair HXi1000 | 500GB 960 Evo

  6. #531
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by Budwise View Post
    Mine was running just as hot in Crysis2 until i put the Thermalright Shaman on
    Actually, my temps were taken while playin Crysis 2.. my room is a bit warm because there is alot of electronics around.

    How has the Thermalright Shaman served you?

    EDIT: is the thermalright shaman even compatible with 6950? I read its specs and its for 5850, 5870
    Last edited by turok_t; 04-06-2011 at 08:03 PM.
    Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (Coolermaster Hyper 212)
    EVGA X58 3-SLI (132-BL-E758-A1)
    Corsair XMS3 Dominator 6GB (8-8-8-24)
    Corsair 850HX
    Diamond HD 6970 2GB
    Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

  7. #532
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    yes it fits the 6950 as well, i have the shaman and its wonderful, VERY quiet and does a great job. I run 1000mhz core/1500mem on my flashed 6950>70 with 1.3v and i think i hit like 65c max so far. Usually most games only bring it to 55-56 including 3dmark11. Definitely a worthy upgrade. The down side is it takes up 3 slots so xfire is usually out of the question in most cases. However i dont mind i wanted a single card so i really enjoy it

  8. #533
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    133
    Ya. I just bricked my Asus Direct CU II 6950 when using bios flashing method. But the shader can be unlocked to 6970 using RBE 1.28. Tonite I have to flash back to original bios and hope the card on bios 1 still can be revived.....Bios 2 is already unlock to 6970 shader........

    So, better use shader unlock method on non ref card rather than bios flashing.

  9. #534
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Turkey - Istanbul
    Posts
    143
    So guys,
    I want buy msi 6950 twn frozr ii , can i unlock shaders on this card and how can i do that ?
    ||[b] Intel i7 4770K @ Phanteks PH-TC14PE || Asus Maximus VI Hero || 16 GB Gskill TridentX @ 2400MHz || CoolerMaster CosMoS S II || Asus GTX 780 @ AC Accelero Xtreme III[size=1]|| 24" BenQ XL 2410T @ 120HZ || 256GB Samsung 840 Pro || WD Green 1 TB , WD Green 2 TB || OCZ ZX 1000W || @ [size=1]|| Creative SoundBlaster Zx - Logitech Z-2300 || Logitech G19 || Logitech G700s|| [/color] ||

  10. #535
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,550
    Quote Originally Posted by Ziwro View Post
    So guys,
    I want buy msi 6950 twn frozr ii , can i unlock shaders on this card and how can i do that ?
    The utility made by Wizzard might be your best bet. Radon Bios Editor might work too.

    Just don't flash a 6970 bios like some people out there unless you want to brick the card.

  11. #536
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    216
    My 6950 XFX will be here soon, is it more advisable to just unlock shaders, or actually flash a 6970 bios????

    A buddy says he been reading a lot about people using the 6970 bios and frying there ram cause it raises the volts and the ram is different.

    What do you guys advise???
    ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
    AMD Phenom II 1090T Megahalems Rev. B 4ghz
    2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
    XFX 6950 (6970 clocks/shaders)
    2x250gb WD SATA
    1x1tb WD SATA
    750 watt PCP&C Quad Silencer
    X-Fi Titanium
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit



    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Jefferson
    I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.

  12. #537
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2,550
    Quote Originally Posted by Slagathor View Post
    My 6950 XFX will be here soon, is it more advisable to just unlock shaders, or actually flash a 6970 bios????

    A buddy says he been reading a lot about people using the 6970 bios and frying there ram cause it raises the volts and the ram is different.

    What do you guys advise???
    That is a bunch of fud, I have yet to see one reputable person post that a 6970 bios has caused any damage to their reference 6950.

    Either way I think that a shader unlocked 6950 bios is best. Of the three 2GB 6950s that I have owned every one had been able to hit 6970 clocks without touching the core voltage. They run cooler, quieter, and draw less juice because of that. The only downside is having to use a utility like Trixx to edit the clock speed.
    Last edited by BababooeyHTJ; 04-07-2011 at 02:43 PM.

  13. #538
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    283
    Anyone know where I can get the Thermalright Shaman in Canada? I cant find a single retailer.
    Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (Coolermaster Hyper 212)
    EVGA X58 3-SLI (132-BL-E758-A1)
    Corsair XMS3 Dominator 6GB (8-8-8-24)
    Corsair 850HX
    Diamond HD 6970 2GB
    Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

  14. #539
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    216
    I flashed to unlock shaders, games run fine, temps rpetty good, using MSI AB to control fan, but, when I boot, the text on the screen has little speckles around it.
    Tomorrow I can get some pics of it, but has anyone else encountered it???


    EDIT:
    Speckling was from loose monitor cable....tee hee
    Last edited by Slagathor; 04-07-2011 at 06:42 PM.
    ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
    AMD Phenom II 1090T Megahalems Rev. B 4ghz
    2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
    XFX 6950 (6970 clocks/shaders)
    2x250gb WD SATA
    1x1tb WD SATA
    750 watt PCP&C Quad Silencer
    X-Fi Titanium
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit



    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Jefferson
    I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.

  15. #540
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    579
    I was thinking to buy Asus 6950 Direct CU II , Do you guys think it is a good idea?
    Intel i7 2600k, Asus p8p67 EVO, Thermalright Archon, G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB, Asus EAH6970 DCII, Corsair AX850W, Asus xonar essence ST, Coolermaster HAF 932,
    Crucial C300 128GB, WD Caviar Black 1 TB, Samsung F3 1TB.

    The world needs your support.
    Join The XS WCG team and help cure Cancer, AIDS, and other diseases.

  16. #541
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Weesp, Netherlands
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by EagleRock View Post
    I was thinking to buy Asus 6950 Direct CU II , Do you guys think it is a good idea?
    I was thinking about those as well. As I want to put 2 6950s in CF and these cards take 3 slots I think it's not the best for me. Also, I've heard rumours that these cards can not be flashed properly.
    - Asus P8P67 PRO
    - i5 2500K - L103A965
    - Intel Postville X25-M 80Gb SSD
    - MSI HD6950@6970
    - Thermaltake Toughpower 750W.
    - EK Supreme HF Full Copper
    - Laing DDC3.2 /w Petrastech top
    - Feser Xchanger 360mm

  17. #542
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    flashed with an unlocked 6950 bios, using afterburner and enable unofficial overclocking method, I still cant get the slider to go higher than 950mhz core (which it does with ease)

    I want 1000mhz or 1050mhz... help!!! haha
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  18. #543
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
    flashed with an unlocked 6950 bios, using afterburner and enable unofficial overclocking method, I still cant get the slider to go higher than 950mhz core (which it does with ease)

    I want 1000mhz or 1050mhz... help!!! haha
    how do you guys deal with the lack of power tune settings when overclocking with AB?
    PII 940@965
    Xigmatek Balder Push Pull
    Asus M4A78-E
    G.Skill 4gb 1066 5-5-5-15
    OCZ Vertex 2 60GB Boot
    WD BLACK 1TB
    WD GREEN 1.5 TB
    OCZ VERTEX 2 60 Boot
    OCZ VERTEX 2 50 Database
    XFX 6950 2GB@6970 1536 960/1470
    Creative Audigy
    Razer DeathAdder
    Razer Carcharias
    OCZ Fatality 550W
    Antec 1200
    Win7
    Dell U211H

  19. #544
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    216
    Quote Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
    flashed with an unlocked 6950 bios, using afterburner and enable unofficial overclocking method, I still cant get the slider to go higher than 950mhz core (which it does with ease)

    I want 1000mhz or 1050mhz... help!!! haha


    After adding this to AB cfg:
    [ATIADLHAL]
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it


    I can slide core to 1320mhz



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
    AMD Phenom II 1090T Megahalems Rev. B 4ghz
    2x4gb G.Skill Ripjaws
    XFX 6950 (6970 clocks/shaders)
    2x250gb WD SATA
    1x1tb WD SATA
    750 watt PCP&C Quad Silencer
    X-Fi Titanium
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit



    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Jefferson
    I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.

  20. #545
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    563
    Hey guys, flashed 2 6950s with their stock bios and unlocked shaders, I get bsod when using unofficial overclocking with msi afterburner, does this have something to do with ulps? I did disable it but I don't want to risk the constant bsod. Can someone confirm disabling ulps will fix this, this is with crossfire cards.

  21. #546
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belanda
    Posts
    229
    Did u disable it all in registry? I had to disable 8x or so. After that restart your system.
    i7 2600K Batch L039B470.
    Asus Maximus IV-Gene-Z
    Single Stage
    RipJawsX 4gb 2133 7-9-7-27-1T
    H2O 6970
    _______________________________________


  22. #547
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Coimbra - Portugal
    Posts
    683
    Quote Originally Posted by HelixPC View Post
    Hey guys, flashed 2 6950s with their stock bios and unlocked shaders, I get bsod when using unofficial overclocking with msi afterburner, does this have something to do with ulps? I did disable it but I don't want to risk the constant bsod. Can someone confirm disabling ulps will fix this, this is with crossfire cards.
    It will

  23. #548
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by Bullu$ View Post
    Did u disable it all in registry? I had to disable 8x or so. After that restart your system.
    these three registry entrys correct? Is there more to disabling the ULPS?

    http://www.overclock.net/ati/667144-...ling-ulps.html
    Last edited by HelixPC; 04-11-2011 at 10:30 AM.

  24. #549
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Coimbra - Portugal
    Posts
    683
    run regedit
    search for ULPS and disable them all, it was what I did and I had 0 problems. But IMO there are better ways for CF with high clocks.

  25. #550
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by st0ned View Post
    run regedit
    search for ULPS and disable them all, it was what I did and I had 0 problems. But IMO there are better ways for CF with high clocks.
    like what?

Page 22 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1219202122232425 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •