Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 84

Thread: ASUS HD6970 Voltage Tweak OC results@1015/1520MHz Stock cooling

  1. #1
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377

    ASUS HD6970 Voltage Tweak OC results@1015/1520MHz Stock cooling

    Hello All, this is quick tried with mine ASUS HD6970 Voltage Tweak on stock cooling well for voltage is asus smartdoc can adjust 1.5V max but i'm not sure it can true delivery same as setting because GPUZ and other can't report it, GPUZ only show 1.175V on full load so don't care about it let to see what it can do

    Max GPU Clock@1015MHz and Mem@1520MHz



    well for other benching i'll try again tomorrow, Thanks
    Last edited by ZoLKoRn; 12-25-2010 at 08:02 AM.
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    130
    Hi..

    I saw the review of the overclocked Diamond 6970 XOC card and the performance increase is not worth the hassle for 1 - 2FPS increase in most situation..The 6970 OC volt mod is nice for DIY experience..
    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/374...ard/index.html
    On the other hand the 6950 is just better value from every point of view.Overclocking the card you just get a 6970 and you remain with 70$ in the pockets and you actually feel the difference really..Just my opinion.The 6970 look to me like PHenom CPU.The "big" overclock just don't deliver the performance to be entuazistic about..

    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...0_7.html#sect1
    -AMD Phenom II X4 940BE oced to 3.6ghz with Scythe Kama Angle
    -4 gb ram DDR2 Mushkin
    - Gigabyte 790X UD3P with F7A beta bios
    - Sapphire 6950
    - WD 1001AALS Caviar Black
    - win7 x64 with all updates
    -Asus Xonar DX
    -Samsung 223C DVD-RW
    - Broadcom Xtreme NIC
    -PSU: Corsair 750HX

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    very nice ZoLKoRn
    can you share a bios dump please?
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    106
    Hello.

    Same problem here, i have got a Asus 6950 since yesterday but can not increase voltage with smartdoctor 5.74 !!

    Incredible !

    I bought an Asus especially for this .

  5. #5
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    6000+ score is good
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  6. #6
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Pyr0 View Post
    very nice ZoLKoRn
    can you share a bios dump please?
    No problem !
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    West Covina. CA
    Posts
    1,301
    Hi, can you share the BIOS dump, please? Thank you.

  8. #8
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Last edited by ZoLKoRn; 12-25-2010 at 06:42 PM.
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    thanks ZoLKoRn, flashed it to my HIS card

    before: after:

    I've uploaded the version of ATIFlash I used to Mediafire:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?cgl0st3ng21i1
    or http://www.multiupload.com/QKSBG29TBH

    I put the ROM and ATIFlash onto a bootable USB drive and booted from it.

    First I backed up my cards original BIOS with the command:
    atiflash -s 0 backup.rom

    Next it needed unlocking so it could be flashed:
    atiflash -unlockrom 0

    and finally flashed with:
    atiflash -p -f 0 asus6970.bin

    Last edited by Pyr0; 12-26-2010 at 05:44 AM.
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  10. #10
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Ahhh the ninja edit, I really appreciate your help guys, I will be giving this a shot. Been a rough 2 weeks so far with no real tools for these cards.

    BTW: Awesome scores
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    West Covina. CA
    Posts
    1,301
    Does the voltage tweak actually change the voltages, even though gpu-z says it's at stock? Is it increasing your overclocks? (by how much?)

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,250
    Gee, now we need a asus 6950 bios
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  13. #13
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Does the voltage tweak actually change the voltages, even though gpu-z says it's at stock? Is it increasing your overclocks? (by how much?)
    Don't sure i'm not serious for tried it but maybe about 60-70MHz stock
    voltage from not increasing vgpu

    Quote Originally Posted by flopper View Post
    Gee, now we need a asus 6950 bios
    No problem again !, i'll upload for you later
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by ZoLKoRn View Post
    Don't sure i'm not serious for tried it but maybe about 60-70MHz stock
    voltage from not increasing vgpu



    No problem again !, i'll upload for you later
    6950 bios would be awesome
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    there's a guy on guru3d who flashed the 6970 bios to his 6950
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335313
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    ^ No way!!!
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,250
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    ^ No way!!!
    yes yes yes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5sQhTVz5IjQ

    Likely artifcating might happen unless they cut off in bios only but that is highly unlikely.
    might be samples that didnt cut the 6970 criteria, and not lasercut which would suprise me.

    fun anyhow
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    6950 bios would be awesome
    Quote Originally Posted by flopper View Post
    Gee, now we need a asus 6950 bios
    Enjoy guys : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=9XOP68VM

    But voltage increase do not work with smartdoctor .

    Asus :

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Holy , my card unlocked too :O

    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  20. #20
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    Holy , my card unlocked too :O
    What do you mean for unlocked ? Flashed 6970bios to 6950card success ???

    if yes i'll back to my benching table now for try it quickly
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Yes, thats a 5950
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    France
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    Yes, thats a 5950
    Did voltage change too ?

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,251
    if it's really possible to unlock a 6950 into a 6970, my headaches whether to buy a 6970 or 570 will vanish immediately and i'll get a 6950 instead

    btw, why did nobody try that earlier? or was customization to the 6970 bios needed to get it to work?
    1. Asus P5Q-E / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @~3612 MHz (8,5x425) / 2x2GB OCZ Platinum XTC (PC2-8000U, CL5) / EVGA GeForce GTX 570 / Crucial M4 128GB, WD Caviar Blue 640GB, WD Caviar SE16 320GB, WD Caviar SE 160GB / be quiet! Dark Power Pro P7 550W / Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA / LG L227WT / Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 // SysProfile


    2. Asus A8N-SLI / AMD Athlon 64 4000+ @~2640 MHz (12x220) / 1024 MB Corsair CMX TwinX 3200C2, 2.5-3-3-6 1T / Club3D GeForce 7800GT @463/1120 MHz / Crucial M4 64GB, Hitachi Deskstar 40GB / be quiet! Blackline P5 470W

  24. #24
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    hehehe.... Flashed success now for mine Sap6950 to ASUS6970
    and benching to checking for performance
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,251
    grats!

    let us know how's it going.

    if it's working for you guys it looks like amd has some great yields with their cayman cores.
    1. Asus P5Q-E / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @~3612 MHz (8,5x425) / 2x2GB OCZ Platinum XTC (PC2-8000U, CL5) / EVGA GeForce GTX 570 / Crucial M4 128GB, WD Caviar Blue 640GB, WD Caviar SE16 320GB, WD Caviar SE 160GB / be quiet! Dark Power Pro P7 550W / Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA / LG L227WT / Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 // SysProfile


    2. Asus A8N-SLI / AMD Athlon 64 4000+ @~2640 MHz (12x220) / 1024 MB Corsair CMX TwinX 3200C2, 2.5-3-3-6 1T / Club3D GeForce 7800GT @463/1120 MHz / Crucial M4 64GB, Hitachi Deskstar 40GB / be quiet! Blackline P5 470W

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •