Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44

Thread: Antec HCP1200w with GTX580 4way SLI OC'ed, Monster 2200w input !

  1. #1
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536

    Antec HCP1200w with GTX580 4way SLI OC'ed, Monster 2200w input !

    Nvidia GTX580 already launched 3weeks . Lots people care about the power consumption of it .

    Nvidia also did some OCP tweak inside of the card . So u will not get the real power consumption of it unless u release the OCP function.

    So i tried the real power consumption of GTX580 4way SLI on Antec HCP1200w. And i have also recorded videos , it easily shows the " input "watts from wall .



    Testing hardware :

    PSU : Antec HCP1200W (Retail Version)
    CPU : 980x
    VGA : MSI GTX580 4way SLI
    MB : Gigabyte X58 UD9
    HDD : Adata S599 100GB
    RAM : Adata XPG + 2200 CL8 2GBx3
    Cooler : Antec Kuhler Flow + Formula 7 Paste
    Dimas Benchtable



    Before we do 4way SLI on Gigabyte X58 UD9 , u have to plug-in the molex 4pin input of the VGA extra power .

    Or u will burn ur 24pin connector on mobo .

    It is big problem of 4way SLI . Bcz 4 cards pull a lots from 24pin 12V input .

    And it only has one 12v+ wired on mobo 24pin connector . When u are benching the 3Dmark program or Gaming .

    The current which goes through 24pin connector will reach 20~25A . Actually the safe value of it is around 7~10A .

    That is why lots people burn their rigs with 4way SLI even 3way SLI recently.
















    Using Prime95 and Furmark for GPU & CPU Full loading test .

    Let's see video of the real input power consumption of GTX580 4way SLI of whole system.

    It is around 1500~1600w from wall . Before unlocking OCP , it is around 1200~1300w .

    The efficiency of HCP1200 is around 89% with such loading .

    So output watt is around 1350~1400w




    Input Voltage 110V , upper right value (KW) is power consumption ,


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rx9GHQyn8m4







    i like to push hardwares to extremity. So i add the VGA voltage to 1.1 vcore

    Core speed to 820 Mhz . Totally 2200w continue input loading done .

    The efficiency of HCP1200 is around 81% with such loading .

    So output watt is around 1700~1800w .



    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtZdg3PvSQU






    This HCP1200 is mass production version (retail one) . 1200 watts output is recommanded value .

    Seems that it can endure higher output watts .

    So , Maybe we can fry something with the heat from 4 pcs GTX580 again , ROLF !
    Last edited by nickshih; 11-28-2010 at 11:28 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  2. #2
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,852
    Really nice PSU! Need to get one when available!

    You are as good as your samples are!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,438
    jeebus lot of power, Would u say this is better then the tpq 1200?

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  4. #4
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    lol, thats impressive... one psu powering 4 580 cards?
    well, if you cool the psu well enough this might work fine for months i guess...
    actually... if you would ln2 cool the psu, wouldnt it improve efficiency and you could pull even more power? hehehe that would be a fun experiment!

  5. #5
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,231
    Awesome ......
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  6. #6
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    sick PSU
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  7. #7
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny87au View Post
    jeebus lot of power, Would u say this is better then the tpq 1200?


    Ya, it is totally better than TPQ1200







    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    lol, thats impressive... one psu powering 4 580 cards?
    well, if you cool the psu well enough this might work fine for months i guess...
    actually... if you would ln2 cool the psu, wouldnt it improve efficiency and you could pull even more power? hehehe that would be a fun experiment!


    actually i tried one time . And i killed one PSU with LN2 on it .

    Something short ... haha , BTW. Vasline inside the PSU everywhere for sure.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #8
    PIfection
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,002
    antec psu, antec cooler, antec paste

    when will you be shipping me my antec rams, mobo and gpus mate?

    only 2200w though? you cant do more? this is serious high load, nice result mate

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,831
    Outstanding PSU! Antec is on the roll!
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens - Hellas
    Posts
    739
    I woulid like to see the consumption of the same setup on LN2

    Too bad that there isn't this psu in Greece

  11. #11
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by youngpro View Post
    antec psu, antec cooler, antec paste

    when will you be shipping me my antec rams, mobo and gpus mate?

    only 2200w though? you cant do more? this is serious high load, nice result mate

    i am afraid of that if i do more ...someone will say that is bull ..

    i tried ... 1500w output loading was working well for 24 hours ...

    But u have to take the risk of overclocking the PSU ..

    anyway ...that is why we need warranty ....
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  12. #12
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by sofos1990 View Post
    I woulid like to see the consumption of the same setup on LN2

    Too bad that there isn't this psu in Greece



    Bcz i did the test under aircooling . The card will get higher power consumption which is scaling the heat .

    So if u can cool down the GPU . u will get lower for sure .

    if u overclock GTX580 to 1200 core and running vantage with 1.3vcore .

    the power consumption is around 33A .

    33x 12 = 396 watts

    so , if u are running 4way with Vantage . totally 1800~1900 watts input for sure . I have measured it last time .
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    thanks nick for the video ...i love it

    best psu in the world
    Attached Images Attached Images


  14. #14
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    thanks nick for the video ...i love it

    best psu in the world


    damn , u are so fast to get it ..

    Is it available there @@?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #15
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    it was released in limited quantity on release date, i think it was released last month.

    splave also has one also

    patch also has one


  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mytilini,Hellas
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by sofos1990 View Post
    I woulid like to see the consumption of the same setup on LN2

    Too bad that there isn't this psu in Greece
    Actually there is one in Greece.

  17. #17
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    it was released in limited quantity on release date, i think it was released last month.

    splave also has one also

    patch also has one



    Ya ..... the first batch was sold out in one week ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4
    Amazing

  19. #19
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,193
    thats just SICK Nick

    KEEP PUSHING IT

  20. #20
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Absolute madness! Who's the OEM on this?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Oj101 View Post
    Absolute madness! Who's the OEM on this?
    delta electronics


  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    191
    What were you using to disable OCP to do the tests? Have you tried this with the 1200 tpq? Mine have been golden, wondering if I should update...

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    gpu ocp....i think thats what he disabled...not the 12v rail ocp..lol


  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    191
    Whoops meant gpu ocp... Did he use the Gpuz trick... or another way... I haven't tested it out myself.. will later today..

  25. #25
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Romania, lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,710
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    lol, thats impressive... one psu powering 4 580 cards?
    No biggie, one strong PSU can take 4 GTX 580 and i980X under LN2
    Weissbier - breakfast of champions



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •