Page 21 of 42 FirstFirst ... 111819202122232431 ... LastLast
Results 501 to 525 of 1028

Thread: NVIDIA GTX 595 (picture+Details)

  1. #501
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,657
    Quote Originally Posted by InCredible View Post
    i flip the switch boot flip it again flash bios and its done..simple and easy...flashing a bios within a minute..love it..
    OC'ing is built into CCC as well as profiles, why reboot or tear apart your case to flip a switch for something that is done via software on the fly without shutting down. You have much more control via software than you do with a fixed function switch. It's makes about as much sense as the original turbo button on the early computers which everyone ran in turbo mode all the time but at least that could be toggled while the computer was on without shutting down.

    Why would anybody spending top dollar for a 6990 or 590 want to deal with having to flip a switch to get your hardware to run at the level it should be running at from the start, thats senseless. It's gimping a product in order to fit within a TDP window and I would bet everyone runs it on high and leaves the switch alone, zero added functionality, features or convenience.
    Work Rig: Asus x58 P6T Deluxe, i7 950 24x166 1.275v, BIX2/GTZ/D5
    3x2048 GSkill pi Black DDR3 1600, Quadro 600
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 810

    Game Rig: Asus x58 P6T, i7 970 24x160 1.2v HT on, TRUE120
    3x4096 GSkill DDR3 1600, PNY 660ti
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 830

    AMD Rig: Biostar TA790GX A2+, x4 940 16x200, stock hsf
    2x2gb Patriot DDR2 800, PowerColor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  2. #502
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by highoctane View Post
    OC'ing is built into CCC as well as profiles, why reboot or tear apart your case to flip a switch for something that is done via software on the fly without shutting down. You have much more control via software than you do with a fixed function switch. It's makes about as much sense as the original turbo button on the early computers which everyone ran in turbo mode all the time but at least that could be toggled while the computer was on without shutting down.

    Why would anybody spending top dollar for a 6990 or 590 want to deal with having to flip a switch to get your hardware to run at the level it should be running at from the start, thats senseless. It's gimping a product in order to fit within a TDP window and I would bet everyone runs it on high and leaves the switch alone, zero added functionality, features or convenience.
    you are right, its there to push past TDP which is very intelligent, giving them a faster card. Guarantee people will flip it before installing and just leave it at 880 at the very least. I guess you're not understanding the point of it but it gives and edge over Nvidia if they do not do the same. Meaning nvidias performance is capped by TDP limits, where amd bypassed them with a switch possibly giving them a victory for fastest card which may not seem important but is great for marketing.

  3. #503
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,657
    Quote Originally Posted by InCredible View Post
    great for marketing.
    Like I was getting at, a switch of this sort from any shop is pure bs, marketing.

    It's more of a shady loop hole type work around on a piece of hardware few buying at this level care about whether its marketing or otherwise.
    Work Rig: Asus x58 P6T Deluxe, i7 950 24x166 1.275v, BIX2/GTZ/D5
    3x2048 GSkill pi Black DDR3 1600, Quadro 600
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 810

    Game Rig: Asus x58 P6T, i7 970 24x160 1.2v HT on, TRUE120
    3x4096 GSkill DDR3 1600, PNY 660ti
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 830

    AMD Rig: Biostar TA790GX A2+, x4 940 16x200, stock hsf
    2x2gb Patriot DDR2 800, PowerColor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  4. #504
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    wont disagree. however i do like it for my particular case with the 6950 to 70 flash. it has came in use a good 4 times now and made it SO easy to reflash the card. Not sure how others will use it but its definitely a great way to fix a bad flash. So it does have its uses.

  5. #505
    Xtreme Enthusiast Heinz68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto ON
    Posts
    566
    Quote Originally Posted by highoctane View Post
    OC'ing is built into CCC as well as profiles, why reboot or tear apart your case to flip a switch for something that is done via software on the fly without shutting down. You have much more control via software than you do with a fixed function switch. It's makes about as much sense as the original turbo button on the early computers which everyone ran in turbo mode all the time but at least that could be toggled while the computer was on without shutting down.

    Why would anybody spending top dollar for a 6990 or 590 want to deal with having to flip a switch to get your hardware to run at the level it should be running at from the start, thats senseless. It's gimping a product in order to fit within a TDP window and I would bet everyone runs it on high and leaves the switch alone, zero added functionality, features or convenience.
    HD 6990 830MHz default clock voltage is 1.12v, the 880MHz core clock (same as HD 6970) needs 1.175v core voltage. The voltage increase can not be set in CCC, therefore the bios switch is very convenient for most people that wont OC any further.

    With the HD 5970 I had to use MSI afterburner to increase the voltage and clocks to 5870 level cards. Anyway except for some benchmarks I used my HD 5970 set to reference clocks, there was no need for any OC for my 1080p gaming.

    I'm waiting for the HD 6990 delivery in couple days and most likely will also run the card at reference clocks except for few benchmark. I rather have the card run cooler and little more quiet since the OC wont make much difference on my setup.
    Core i7-4930K LGA 2011 Six-Core - Cooler Master Seidon 120XL ? Push-Pull Liquid Water
    ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition LGA2011 - G.SKILL Trident X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3 1866
    Sapphire R9 290X 4GB TRI-X OC in CrossFire - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
    Intel X25-M 160GB G2 SSD - WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6
    Corsair HX1000W PSU - Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R
    Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
    Sennheiser RS 180 - Cooler Master Cosmos S Case

  6. #506

  7. #507
    Xtreme Member japamd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    257
    Quote Originally Posted by kaktus1907 View Post
    Vr-zone is talking about a single slot cooler.

  8. #508
    Xtreme Guru RPGWiZaRD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,326
    Quote Originally Posted by japamd View Post
    Vr-zone is talking about a single slot cooler.
    O.o LOL
    Intel® Core i7-860 @ 4.1 GHz ¦ Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5 ¦ G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB @ DDR3-2340 9-10-9-24 ¦ Gigabyte GTX 460 OC 1GB @ 880/1760/2000 MHz ¦ Corsair HX 750W ¦ ViewSonic VX2268wm 120Hz LCD ¦ CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus ¦ Audigy 2 ZS w/ kX Audio drivers ¦ Sony MDR-XB500 ¦ Logitech MX-518 ¦ Win 7 x64 Professional ¦ 500GB, 640GB, 750GB & 2x1.5TB

    If all people would share opinions in an objective manner, the world would be a friendlier place

  9. #509
    Registered User PurpleMonkey910's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    33
    Single slot cooler on the 590, I'm finding that hard to believe

  10. #510
    Xtreme Addict Lanek's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,956
    it's why VR Zone have update their article .. it's seems not to be the 590 coolers, as it's confirmed the card use " 2 slots ".

    " Update : Pardon for the mistake, we missed out the bottom part of the cooler which is about a slot thick so GeForce GTX 590 is still a dual slot card. The lenght is 297mm which is similar to its older counterpart GeForce GTX 295. Anyway, the card is still slated for March 22nd launch. The performance driver closest to the launch is version 267.52 and you can find this string in the inf file : NVIDIA_DEV.1088.01 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590". NVIDIA seems confident that this card will win the Radeon HD 6990. Specs will be finalized next week.

    Read more: http://vr-zone.com/articles/nvidia-g...#ixzz1GPkngh9u ""


    I like the last line: oooh 10 days before release the card they are just " confident " ? lol.
    Last edited by Lanek; 03-12-2011 at 10:18 AM.
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

  11. #511
    Xtreme Mentor onethreehill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by onethreehill View Post
    Leaked specs?
    Two GTX 580 chips
    Clockspeed 60xMHz/12xxMHz/3400MHz
    http://www.sweclockers.com/nyhet/136...as-den-22-mars

    Simulated GTX 590 performance
    http://plaza.fi/muropaketti/artikkel...eforce-gtx-590

  12. #512
    Xtreme Member MaddMuppet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    436
    I'm really interested to see how this performs. The 6990 runs hot and loud, but performance is beastly. Should be an interesting battle ahead. It is good to see Nvidia will challenge ATI in the dual GPU department.

  13. #513
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    So near, yet so far.
    Posts
    736
    At stock it won't totally overpass the 6990 - well maybe in few games; yet consumes less(er) power and..... w/ a decent OC, its a different thing.

    I know, I suck at guessing... March 22 is not that far though.
    [[Daily R!G]]
    Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz w/ 1.325 vcore.
    Rampage II Gene||CM HAF 932||HX850||MSI GTX 660ti PE OC||Corsair H50||G.Skill Phoenix 3 240GB||G.Skill NQ 6x2GB||Samsung 2333SW

    flickr

  14. #514
    Xtreme Enthusiast kaktus1907's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    606

  15. #515
    Xtreme Enthusiast cold2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    511
    Dual 512

  16. #516
    Xtreme Addict Chrono Detector's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1,104
    Would be great if it was 3GB per core, lets see how this card stacks up against the 6990.
    PC 1: Intel i7 5820k at 4.2Ghz | 32GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 4 2400Mhz | 2x MSI 4GB GTX 970 in SLI | Corsair AX1200 watt Power Supply | 20x LG SATA DVD+/- RW | LG BluRay/HD DVD Combo Drive| Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers | 55" LG 55UB8500 4K UHD TV | ASUS X99 Rampage V Extreme| Aerocool Strike-X ST Black | Cruical MX100 512GB SSD | 1x 4TB Western Digital Hard Drive | Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

  17. #517
    Xtreme Member takamishanoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    466
    So it looks like more and more the card that no one believed could exist, is about to be released...

  18. #518
    Xtreme Mentor onethreehill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    3,242
    One tidbit we picked up on while at PAX was Nvidia’s launch of the GTX590. However, unlike previous releases, the GTX590 will be limited to just two vendors in the U.S.—mainly ASUS and EVGA. Other manufacturers will be making GTX590 products but those will only be available outside of the U.S.......
    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/pax...gtx,12379.html

  19. #519
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    India
    Posts
    393
    3dm11 king is here :P

  20. #520
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,473
    wow, next slide...
    Last edited by FlanK3r; 03-14-2011 at 04:09 AM.
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  21. #521
    Xtreme Member Postmodum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    272
    365W? wow ... or the really cut some serious core/memory/shaders speeds ... or they really did rebuilt the freaking PCB in a way that i can't understand

    I know that Direct CU II consumes less 20Watts than reference do to VRM design ...

    But 365 ... that would be naice!
    Oh...your ass is grass and I've got the weed-whacker.

  22. #522
    Xtreme Member vern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    香港 , Hong Kong
    Posts
    463
    The price?
    I think the performance must better than HD6990 , but the price ...
    If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you'll most certainly be right.

  23. #523
    Xtreme Member Kimofil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by vern View Post
    The price?
    I think the performance must better than HD6990 , but the price ...
    Who cares about a price of such a card?
    CPU: i7 930 3002A648 (Venomous X+Ultra Kaze 2000rpm)
    MB: Asus P6X58D Premium Bios 1501
    Video: Saphire HD 5970
    Memory: Corsair Dominator TR3X6G1600C8D @ 1600MHz
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer Fatality Pro
    HDD: Vertex 2 100GB+WD Caviar Black 1Tb
    Case: TT Kandalf LCS Silver
    Power: CM Real Power Pro 1000W
    Display: Samsung 275T
    Input: Logitech G25/G15/G500/Z-2300

  24. #524
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,473
    If are spec:
    "Originally Posted by onethreehill
    Leaked specs?
    Two GTX 580 chips
    Clockspeed 60xMHz/12xxMHz/3400MHz
    http://www.sweclockers.com/nyhet/136...as-den-22-mars "

    Think, its not 100%, this card will be better in performance than 6990...
    AMD FX-8350@5 GHz 1.52V + H100 Corsair, Crosshair V Formula-Z, 2x 4GB GSKill TridentX 2400 MHz+ 10-12-12-25, EAH HD6870 DirectCU, Corsair TX850W
    CPUs:next 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, 2x Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930K, i7-5960x coming this yearAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  25. #525
    Xtreme Enthusiast kaktus1907's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    606
    nvidia tdp for GTX 580 244W,
    GTX 590 365W..
    50% faster than GTX 580 ??

Page 21 of 42 FirstFirst ... 111819202122232431 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •