Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 81516171819 LastLast
Results 426 to 450 of 452

Thread: *** Official HD6XXX Series Overclocking Thread ***

  1. #426
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    21
    my was blacking out on me with stock 6950 voltage at 950, 940 stable everywhere though. for memory I have it stable at 1470 and I was actually freaked out a bit by that, I was upping it by 10 and I was like jesus stop already bsod on me cause I thought the clocks somehow cheated me lol. So now i'm wondering is it worth it to keep it at 960 with 1.175 and just back off a bit to 940 with stock volts. Wonder if its much of a difference I guess not really. However with 1.175 I could go until 990 which was benchable (p5106) but it would freeze,crash after 30 min of gaming and 1k freezed in a matter of seconds so I wonder how much additional voltage would need to be applied for stable 990. And since I plan to keep my gfx long lived to do a crossfire later on this year and since power bill in the hot months is higher anyway so why push it?
    PII 940@965
    Xigmatek Balder Push Pull
    Asus M4A78-E
    G.Skill 4gb 1066 5-5-5-15
    OCZ Vertex 2 60GB Boot
    WD BLACK 1TB
    WD GREEN 1.5 TB
    OCZ VERTEX 2 60 Boot
    OCZ VERTEX 2 50 Database
    XFX 6950 2GB@6970 1536 960/1470
    Creative Audigy
    Razer DeathAdder
    Razer Carcharias
    OCZ Fatality 550W
    Antec 1200
    Win7
    Dell U211H

  2. #427
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    i mean really i guess it depends on temps and if the games u play actually NEED those clocks. I was like ill go back to 900 and i have that as a setting however now im using eyefinity with 3x1920x1200 and the 1000core i think is needed. My temps are great even at the higher voltage and clocks so i guess imma just keep it and like said may try to lower voltage.

  3. #428
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Quote Originally Posted by InCredible View Post
    @ the_game hmm, not sure man i guess some just aren't capable. Others cant even get stock 6970 clocks so id say consider your self lucky already. But i know how you feel, at first i was pissed i was seeing 1000core+ clocks and i couldnt get over 950 like wtf? Then shaman came along and got that going. Usually i dont achieve the highest overclocks possible but im normally in the small percentage of high clocks most people dont get(with air/water). So i get angry when something cant clock well.
    I don't complain about bad memory clocking(well at least the core clocks well 1075MHz @1.35v 3d mark 06 with stock cooler 100%). @soyea mentioned something about memory voltage tweak and I was just wondering if there is a chance to change the memory voltage .

  4. #429
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    511
    i havent tried 06 at all.. I did get 1050-60 benchable on 3dmark11 but never tried to game that high. Didn't really need it. Good clocks though either way. The downside is the stock fan noise. Im happy as hell to have 1000 core with silence and great temps. Just wish the fan color scheme was better

  5. #430
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by soyea View Post
    for memory I have it stable at 1470 and I was actually freaked out a bit by that, I was upping it by 10 and I was like jesus stop already bsod on me cause I thought the clocks somehow cheated me lol.
    bsod/artifacts are not the only indication the memory is unstable.

    the error detection is very very subtle. you won't feel or notice that the card is slower. run a bench with your mem at 1470, 1450, 1400, 1350, 1300 and see where the card starts to repeat the data.

  6. #431
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    124
    Wasnt sure what thread to place it in lol

    Here is another furmark bench with 920/1375 on both cards with a power control of 13% to stop the cards throttling when overclocked with vsync disabled

    as you can see cards are completely stable and the highest temps that my system would ever get i get no where near these fan speeds or temps with normal games



    and yes i also wedged my cards apart now and the temps are much improved. lol
    Intel I7 3.5ghz 4770k @4.5Ghz 1.285v HT-Enabled | Gigabyte OC z87 DDR3 | 2x8 Avx 2133 C9 @2400 C10 1.64v | PC-Power & Cooling 950w MKII Single Rail Monster | Creative ZXR Sound Card | 24" NeC MultiSync 24WMGX3 1920x1200 60hz | Sennhizer HD650 Headset | Various HDDs 5+ Terabyte | Noctua D14 Heatsink Push/Pull Config | 2x His 7950`s X-Fire @1120/1450 *Stock Cooling* | LG Bluray Drive/Writer |

  7. #432
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    480
    help!

    I have a crossfire sapphire 6970 which I flashed to asus bios a while ago, I did try to OC it to 930mhz on 1.2v, even on lower speeds it still crashes. I'm using R3E board with one EZ_Plug plugged (is this really necessary?)

    Also I tested 1000Mhz on 1.3-1.4v still crashes on 3dmark11 then BSOD

  8. #433
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Suddenly, Minneapolis...again
    Posts
    1,399
    6950 stock vs 6950 flashed to 6970 levels.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by little_scrapper; 05-30-2011 at 08:34 PM.
    Boy that info was old. As am I. Currently my kids have taken over my desktops. They are both sporting matching GTX1080's. Last Christmas I got everyone Oculuses and thus GTX1080's. My eldest is some sort of CSGO champion gold label something or other. Me I work and shoot real guns. Build Comps as needed.

  9. #434
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chattanooga, TN
    Posts
    374
    Just got a Sapphire HD 6850, 775MHz stock clocks. Was just wondering what the best overclocking program is currently for these cards and if I am able to adjust voltage on this model? I had a 6870 for a while when they came out and used Sapphire's TRIXX program. Right now I've got it at 850/1100 in the CCC Overdrive.

    Core i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.31v [L041C123] | Gigabyte P67-UD3P-B3 | Corsair H60 | 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1866 8-9-8-24-1T | Samsung F3 1TB |
    ASUS GTX 670 2GB| PCP&C Silencer 500W | Antec Three Hundred "Blacked Out" | Dell Ultrasharp 23" U2311H IPS 1920x1080



  10. #435
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    I wonder when i use MSIAfterburner as main oc tool (adjust voltage / core / mem)

    do i still need to adjust power control in CCC ? (i am not use it yet)
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  11. #436
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Yeah that`s why CCC is needed. You need to do it +20% and then you can use which software you want. I`m using MSI afterburner for core/memory + voltage and CCC for +20%.

  12. #437
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    My 6970 maxes out just shy of 1GHz on Stock Cooling, 992/1479/1.27v

  13. #438
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    6870 X 2 def

    2011


    VANTAGE

  14. #439
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    Hi there...

    Can anyone tell me the difference, in what concerns to hardware, between Sapphire HD6870 Toxic and Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X??? Does the Toxic has hardware that is not in the Vapor-X???

    Cheers
    E8400 @ 4.15Ghz @ 1.37500v @ BIOS | 1.344v @ CPU-z
    Asus P5K Pro
    GSkill PC2-8400 1069Mhz @ 5-5-5-15 | 2.02v
    TG Xtreem PC5300 @ DDR2-800Mhz @ 3-3-3-8 @ 2.20 (resting)
    Sapphire HD6870 1Gb GDDR5 256bit @ 955Mhz/4288Mhz stock vGPU
    Sapphire X1950XT 256Mb GDDR3 256bit @ 702Mhz/2000Mhz (resting)
    PSU LC Power 700Watt 4 12v rail @ 18A
    1 WD VelociRaptor 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD RaptorX 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD 1Tb 7200rpm

  15. #440
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    544
    org asus 6870cu bios
    3DMark11 - Performance 10109 marks with 2x Radeon HD 6870 at 1024/1176MHz
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2205266_...70_10109_marks

  16. #441
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evje, Norway
    Posts
    3,425
    Is this ok?
    Asus 6950 2gb DCII, cooled by MCW60
    Voltage is 1.168 on the gpu
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    Not to be outdone by rival ATi, nVidia's going to offer its own drivers on EA Download Manager.
    X2 555 @ B55 @ 4050 1.4v, NB @ 2700 1.35v Fuzion V1
    Gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h v2.1
    HD6950 2GB swiftech MCW60 @ 1000mhz, 1.168v 1515mhz memory
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1866 cas 9 @ 1800 8.9.8.27.41 1T 110ns 1.605v
    C300 64GB, 2X Seagate barracuda green LP 2TB, Essence STX, Zalman ZM750-HP
    DDC 3.2/petras, PA120.3 ek-res400, Stackers STC-01,
    Dell U2412m, G110, G9x, Razer Scarab

  17. #442
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    21
    I can can max my 6970 (XFX Reference card) at 1056//1485 for benching (3dmark11) but I have to bring the memory clock down for gaming. Thats at 1.3v on the card and it never goes above 58c (Thermalright Shaman cooler). I back it off quite a bit and run daily at 1003//1471 @ 1.27v.
    Asus P8P67
    Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz w/ Noctua D14
    8gb Corsair 1600mhz c8
    XFX 6970 @ 1003//1471 w/ Thermalright Shaman
    OCZ Agility2 240gb, (2) WD 1tb black
    CM HF932 w/ Corsair HX750

  18. #443
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    IS there any other software than Ati Tool to stress the gpu? I'm using this one but i did want to test stability with more than one.

    I have a Sapphire HD6870 Vapor-X and i'm testing it at 976/1170 @ 1181mV... Temps are at 64ºC max...
    E8400 @ 4.15Ghz @ 1.37500v @ BIOS | 1.344v @ CPU-z
    Asus P5K Pro
    GSkill PC2-8400 1069Mhz @ 5-5-5-15 | 2.02v
    TG Xtreem PC5300 @ DDR2-800Mhz @ 3-3-3-8 @ 2.20 (resting)
    Sapphire HD6870 1Gb GDDR5 256bit @ 955Mhz/4288Mhz stock vGPU
    Sapphire X1950XT 256Mb GDDR3 256bit @ 702Mhz/2000Mhz (resting)
    PSU LC Power 700Watt 4 12v rail @ 18A
    1 WD VelociRaptor 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD RaptorX 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD 1Tb 7200rpm

  19. #444
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,809
    ATI Tool, Kombustor, all tools like that suck. Download Unigine Heaven, set all settings and resolution to max and let it loop. It will stress the GPU and memory to over 94% consistently. Max GPU usage I've seen is 98%, truely a excellent tester.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 1866MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Gigabyte GTX980, custom cooler @ 1.5GHz / 7.6GHz | Xonar DX 7.1 | 2TB Barracuda | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  20. #445
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Ket View Post
    ATI Tool, Kombustor, all tools like that suck. Download Unigine Heaven, set all settings and resolution to max and let it loop. It will stress the GPU and memory to over 94% consistently. Max GPU usage I've seen is 98%, truely a excellent tester.
    Ok. I've already did that but does Unigine shows me artifacts as Ati Tool does?
    E8400 @ 4.15Ghz @ 1.37500v @ BIOS | 1.344v @ CPU-z
    Asus P5K Pro
    GSkill PC2-8400 1069Mhz @ 5-5-5-15 | 2.02v
    TG Xtreem PC5300 @ DDR2-800Mhz @ 3-3-3-8 @ 2.20 (resting)
    Sapphire HD6870 1Gb GDDR5 256bit @ 955Mhz/4288Mhz stock vGPU
    Sapphire X1950XT 256Mb GDDR3 256bit @ 702Mhz/2000Mhz (resting)
    PSU LC Power 700Watt 4 12v rail @ 18A
    1 WD VelociRaptor 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD RaptorX 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD 1Tb 7200rpm

  21. #446
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    It will show you. It feel freeze or something. Ati tool is a good tool for a QUICK test, not for full stability. When you find a stable clock with ati tool, try with 3D Mark 11, unigine, playing games and you will see that these clocks are not stable and you have to lower the clocks. Ati tool loads the card ~75%, it`s not a dx10/11 bench and it is too old, use it for a quick tests only.

  22. #447
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    Ok... I'll do that from now on...

    Edit;

    Do you know anything about TriXXX? I can't increase the vGPU notch by notch. Is it normal?

    I mean if i try to set 1176mV it goes back to 1175mV. Same if i try to set 1177mV or 1178mV.
    Teh if i try to set 1179mV it jumps to 1181mV...
    Last edited by PsySc0rpi0n; 11-24-2011 at 02:53 AM.
    E8400 @ 4.15Ghz @ 1.37500v @ BIOS | 1.344v @ CPU-z
    Asus P5K Pro
    GSkill PC2-8400 1069Mhz @ 5-5-5-15 | 2.02v
    TG Xtreem PC5300 @ DDR2-800Mhz @ 3-3-3-8 @ 2.20 (resting)
    Sapphire HD6870 1Gb GDDR5 256bit @ 955Mhz/4288Mhz stock vGPU
    Sapphire X1950XT 256Mb GDDR3 256bit @ 702Mhz/2000Mhz (resting)
    PSU LC Power 700Watt 4 12v rail @ 18A
    1 WD VelociRaptor 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD RaptorX 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD 1Tb 7200rpm

  23. #448
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056
    @ ^ = already try MSI after burner ?

  24. #449
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    IND
    Posts
    1,056

  25. #450
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    41
    quick question ive just put a second card in my system, whats the best cat version to use with crossfire 6850's? ive tried 12.2 and up and wont run anything fullscreen, i see alot of you are running 11's
    i5 2500k @ 5Ghz @ 1.475v
    Asrock Extreme 3 Gen 3 + Crossfire 6850
    EK DCP4.0 - EK Acetal HF - GTX360 Rad

Page 18 of 19 FirstFirst ... 81516171819 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •