Page 43 of 45 FirstFirst ... 33404142434445 LastLast
Results 1,051 to 1,075 of 1111

Thread: How to: Arima AMD Opteron Quad Core Socket F 3000 series

  1. #1051
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    I wish I didn't have so many projects on the go.. thats an epic deal!

  2. #1052
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    interesting development guys

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Arima-AMD-Op...item232622d83a is the usual Arima we all have... i found another variant with diff power phases

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Arima-Quad-C...item232622d92c

    Could this one be... hex core able? I'll try find out in feb!

  3. #1053
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    First one is (I think) earlier PBC revision (40GCMG020-B500-005 vs 40GCMG020-D400-100), have extra jumpers and diagnostic ports on-board.
    Second one is different version (80-MSVBD0-G0D01-1001)? Network and USB ports are in different place, battery holder is different, some new dip switches and not even single fan connector on-board, etc.



    BTW I have one on my way (ETA 1/10).
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-05-2013 at 12:16 AM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  4. #1054
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Which one is on the way to you? There are fan connectors on the MS board, they're just harder to find :P

  5. #1055
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109

  6. #1056
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by confusis View Post
    which one is on the way to you? There are fan connectors on the ms board, they're just harder to find :p
    80-msvbd0-g0d01-1001

    I'm blind!
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-05-2013 at 01:06 AM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  7. #1057
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Let me know about the MS board. 1/4 the ram slots on my green board are..dead.. so I'm investing in a new board in Feb.. either one of those boards, and swap my green bios chip in if needed

  8. #1058
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by AXm77 View Post
    First one is (I think) earlier PBC revision (40GCMG020-B500-005 vs 40GCMG020-D400-100), have extra jumpers and diagnostic ports on-board.
    Forgot to mention, my green is D750-106
    Interestingly, if the codes match, the MS board has bios version 10.01!

  9. #1059
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by confusis View Post
    Let me know about the MS board. 1/4 the ram slots on my green board are..dead.. so I'm investing in a new board in Feb.. either one of those boards, and swap my green bios chip in if needed
    I will.

    Quote Originally Posted by confusis View Post
    Forgot to mention, my green is D750-106
    Interestingly, if the codes match, the MS board has bios version 10.01!
    So far I saw 4 PCB revisions of the board:

    41-CMG020-B00G / 40GCMG020-B500-005 - older version ?

    41-CMG020-D00G / 40GCMG020-D400-100 - most popular blue one

    41-CMG020-D01G / 40GCMG020-D750-106 - your green PCB

    ___-______-____ / 80MSVBD0-G0D01-1001 - mysterious one.

    So following your logic, looks for me like it is newer PCB revision (80 vs 40 - maybe split plane power delivery for Istanbul) at early stages (BD0 vs 020). Not sure how to compare G0D01 vs D750. Last section is BIOS revision (my D400 have 1.00, yours 1.06 so new one looks like 10.01 or maybe 1.001).
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-05-2013 at 02:11 AM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  10. #1060
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    I hope it's split power plane - the power phases are much different. I note 7 instead of 5 caps per CPU around each socket. I suppose the real defining factor will be a real world test. I sense my manual will be getting an update :P It's the first time I've seen a diff layout on the Arima quad so either way it could be interesting.

    On a side note.. if it is indeed a dev board.. dev bioses are usually entirely unlocked.. i.e. unlocked clock and multipliers >.> I'm also hoping for better ACPI so we can run windows server, but I'm not holding my breath. Bonus side is Valve is moving a lot of games to linux compatible so these could make gaming rigs soon enough :P

  11. #1061
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    If i could actually get a BIOS opened up properly, we could see and grab the best bits of each BIOS version, mash em up and see what we get

  12. #1062
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54

    Thumbs down

    I have bad news.
    Yesterday, I set my spare Arima to test components (cpu, memory, graphic, psu adapters), to be 100% sure, all are in working order.
    Fedex speed up delivery, and I got motherboard today. First, I swapped components from my spare to new board, turn on switch, fans spun up
    light on, but I saw constant 4th LED (red) on and nothing on monitor. On my spare board that LED making single flash, just before monitor turns on.
    That new board have bunch DIP switches, so I started playing with that, with no results. After that, I installed Opteron 2378 (Shanghai) - same thing
    constant red LED and nothing on monitor. Next was 2419 (Istanbul) - results were same..
    In next step, I decided to go back to 8354 (B2) and swapped BIOS chips with my spare - nothing new.
    After that I set up my spare board with Barcelona and dropped BIOS chip from new board - surprise - I saw light on monitor switching from amber to blue.
    Next - kick in a.. - "Obey Man" welcome me, but it look different (he was smaller). I hit DEL and in BIOS, I went to check AGESA version
    big disappointment - same 3.1.1.0. When you look at first page:



    you can see older Core version (4.6.0 vs 4.6.1 in 1.06) and older date (08/10/2007 vs 04/16/2008).



    So 80MS board is older revision - bad surprise. I'll try to backup that BIOS just for sake having it, and I'll send it back to seller (can't get it to work).

    So list will look:

    ___-______-____ / 80MSVBD0-G0D01-1001 - first revision

    41-CMG020-B00G / 40GCMG020-B500-005 - older version ?

    41-CMG020-D00G / 40GCMG020-D400-100 - most popular blue one

    41-CMG020-D01G / 40GCMG020-D750-106 - your green PCB
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-10-2013 at 06:06 AM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  13. #1063
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Damn. Good to know though - a copy of that BIOS would be appreciated, maybe it's a bit more.. open than 1.06 (i.e. easier to hack), or have different ACPI. If you could, could you please grab a photo of all the BIOS menu screens (only the main ones)

    As a quick test, could you try boot a windows instal disc as well? Quickest way to test ACPI :P could be WHAMI spells out Windows host AMI, but i'm probably clutching at straws here

  14. #1064
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    I have Flashrom backup of BIOS, but it is very unstable. I did it on my spare board (never got 80MS board to boot). In Ubuntu it have huge problem with graphic - (12.04 never started correctly, in 10.4 I have to wait 10~15s for any graphical window to open (terminal working OK). Flashrom was instantly crashing system with PCI-E graphic installed (ATI X300 PCI-E, AMD FirePro V5900 - both working perfect with 1.xx BIOS-es). It was better, when I installed ATI X1300 PCI card (that is biggest difference I found - Arima with this card never booted in any 1.xx BIOS-es), but still after read or write it was locking system. Did not tested any Windows, but for that, I guess, I need some Server version - 2003 or 2008?
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-11-2013 at 06:12 AM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  15. #1065
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    7/vista pro/ultimate should be fine - it will only show two cpus, but all I want to see is if the ACPI is complete. Thanks dude

  16. #1066
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    This is link for that BIOS:

    0.07

    I highly recommend to have second BIOS chip with backup before flashing this one.

    BTW If you stay too long in BIOS, it will freeze.

    Windows 7 installation (USB pen drive) do not even start, just continuously rebooting.

    Screen shots:





    Last edited by AXm77; 01-11-2013 at 03:27 PM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  17. #1067
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,890
    jesus, all this talk some how you guys have made an arima even more unstable

    Sad Incomplete Rig
    Case : CaseLabs Mercury S5 | Heatsink : Corsair H80i | Motherboard : | CPU : | Ram : |Storage : Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - 2x WD Black 2TB Raid1 | PSU : SeaSonic Platinum 1000w | GPU : Sapphire R9 290x | Monitor : ASUS VG248QE

    Crunchy Fileserver
    Supermicro CSE-732i-500B | Supermicro H8DMi-2 | 2x AMD Opteron - 2419ee | 2x Cooler Master Hyper T2 | 6GB DDR2 REG ECC | Samsung Spinpoint 500GB - JBOD Pile of drives
    →People Crunching4Me←
    2x Opteron 2419ee | Intel Core2Quad Q8300 | Intel i7 920 | Intel Core2Quad Q6600

  18. #1068
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Glen Ellyn, IL
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by NKrader View Post
    jesus, all this talk some how you guys have made an arima even more unstable
    I don't know what are you talking about. My two D400-100 Arimas are rock solid. One as cruncher ( I don't even remember, but I think 5 months without touching).
    Second one, as a tester, with many hardware changes, survived screwed power supply and cpu, still booting up every time I turn on power. Very solid hardware ( as server one is).
    Last edited by AXm77; 01-11-2013 at 04:07 PM.
    Heatsinks Mods
    Arima F3000 BIOS : 1.0.0 : 1.0.4 : 1.0.6

  19. #1069
    Nanoseconds from Permaban retro77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,854
    I've got a couple of boards that are sitting idle. One I think is dead hard core and the other I dont know whats its pre-medona problem is. If someone wants them for the price of shipping, PM me

  20. #1070
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Hi Guys,

    A little off topic so apologies for the bad etiquette on my first post

    Have been following the thread, reading up on the past posts etc... as I was considering picking up one of the Arima boards and this thread has been an absolute goldmine of details about a board for which, quite frankly, details are scarce to non-existent.

    I did in the end decide not to go for the Arima board as it does not seem to be something for the faint at heart and I really needed something a bit more "consumer" oriented. I managed to find a Supermicro board (H8QMi-2-0) which supports six core 8400 series for ?129 which will hopefully be easier on my stress levels but nowhere near the bargain value of the Arima!

    I just wanted to say thank you to everyone who has provided input to this thread, without which I may have ended up buying a board that wasn't really suitable for me.

    I'm amazed at what you have managed to achieve with so little information, keep up the good work as I'm sure there are other people out there beside me who've found this thread invaluable, and good luck in your continuing efforts to tame the Arima

    Regards

    Xeinn

  21. #1071
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    AXM77, very much appreciated.

    Yeah, the Arima is a fussy beast, only for those who are determined to get older, obsolete, unsupported hardware running.. it's frustrated me on more than one occasion! Hope your H8QMi serves you well

  22. #1072
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Vancouver WA, USA
    Posts
    2,890
    Quote Originally Posted by confusis View Post
    Yeah, the Arima is a fussy beast, only for those who are determined to get older, obsolete, unsupported hardware running.. it's frustrated me on more than one occasion!
    yes got so tired of it stopping working once a week for no reason

    Sad Incomplete Rig
    Case : CaseLabs Mercury S5 | Heatsink : Corsair H80i | Motherboard : | CPU : | Ram : |Storage : Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - 2x WD Black 2TB Raid1 | PSU : SeaSonic Platinum 1000w | GPU : Sapphire R9 290x | Monitor : ASUS VG248QE

    Crunchy Fileserver
    Supermicro CSE-732i-500B | Supermicro H8DMi-2 | 2x AMD Opteron - 2419ee | 2x Cooler Master Hyper T2 | 6GB DDR2 REG ECC | Samsung Spinpoint 500GB - JBOD Pile of drives
    →People Crunching4Me←
    2x Opteron 2419ee | Intel Core2Quad Q8300 | Intel i7 920 | Intel Core2Quad Q6600

  23. #1073
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Odd, apart from the RAM slot issue, mine has been stable!

  24. #1074
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    109
    Sirs. I have found a cheaper source of plugs for these monsters:
    http://lutro0-customs.myshopify.com/...male-connector
    http://lutro0-customs.myshopify.com/...male-connector (url is funky but it works)
    $0.60 each (USD)

  25. #1075
    Fanboy of Good Products shoota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,045
    what an odd thing to be passionate enough about to make a website and then sell them.
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

Page 43 of 45 FirstFirst ... 33404142434445 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •