Page 2 of 45 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 1113

Thread: How to: Arima AMD Opteron Quad Core Socket F 3000 series

  1. #26
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    Quote Originally Posted by retro77 View Post
    We heard that Windows Server 2008 or Windows 7 might work, but no one as gotten them to work yet. You're looking at Ubuntu right now.
    Professional & Ultimate will only support 2 CPU sockets. You'd be limited to two Barcys with Pro/Ult...

    Server 08/08r2 not working?

    Has anyone tried Server 03r2?

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  2. #27
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    I think Sparky tried server 08 without success. I'd like to see if 03 would work
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  3. #28
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    Quote Originally Posted by shoota View Post
    I think Sparky tried server 08 without success. I'd like to see if 03 would work
    Ja. I know that you can run a dual-core with 512megs RAM so I'd assume that you can run quad quad-cores with 4gigs RAM. My average RAM usage seems to be 100MB/thread so you'd only need 1.6GB for the CPUs plus OS overhead.

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  4. #29
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048
    Quote Originally Posted by shoota View Post
    I think Sparky tried server 08 without success. I'd like to see if 03 would work
    Correct. Can't boot direct from the DVD because of the lack of full ACPI (starts to boot then BSOD with an ACPI error). The EFI shell hangs at detecting the SATA DVD ROM drive. Copying the contents of the DVD to another hard drive and trying to install that way just made the system hang...

    An interesting tidbit of info that I did find, somebody on some other forum somewhere was modifying bioses for some other Arima boards to give full ACPI functionality to allow windows to load. He hadn't done one for this board, nor do I know how you'd even go about flashing this board's bios, but maybe if someone can figure out how to do that we could then use any windows server version.
    Last edited by Sparky; 09-06-2010 at 07:14 AM.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  5. #30
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    Quote Originally Posted by Kryja View Post
    Cheers Sparky, I've updated the psu detail.

    Blake, averaging your numbers there suggest that you're getting 19.97 ppd per mhz. Would you be able to average out your range of 22 days runtime?

    Sparky & Shoota, would you also be able to do the same for however long your's have been up and running?

    Edit: Something just twigged. The 15.2 ppd per mhz is on Windows x64. I thought Jcool more or less proved that ubuntu produces less points than windows. Or am I mistaken?

    Just to check, which linux distro are you all using?
    just a quick check puts me at around 15 ppd/mhz. Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  6. #31
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparky View Post
    Depends. I've seen some deltas rated to pull a whopping 16W each although, those would be the ones that scream at 8000RPM and generate a windstorm in the house

    I'm running yate loon mediums on my radiators.
    alright i looked up my Delta's and i think they are pulling ~13w each! looks like my YL mediums are replacing them asap since they use ~3w
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  7. #32
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,283
    Sshhhh Don't tell everyone .....the ones I sent out are 1.6A 12v..>..19.2watts


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  8. #33
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth (UK)
    Posts
    786
    Aw.. I was kinda hoping that Vapor's thread was wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by AceNZ View Post
    Is this the best $ / ppd system at the moment?

    Are there alternatives that might use less power?
    An I7 860 setup still holds that crown I believe, as they consume less from the wall?
    Just a quick setup I picked out;

    i7 860 £211.49
    Asus P7P55D-E LX £99.99
    Corsair Dominator 4GB £79.89
    OCZ ModXStream Pro 600w £64.61
    Total £455.98

    My quad's cost me

    CPU's 8356 x 4 = £151.00
    Board = £105.00
    Ram 16 x 512mb = £40.00
    PSU = £60.00
    Heatsinks = ~£50.00
    Adapters = ~£8
    Total £414.00

    You could prob get a cheaper i7 setup than what I picked. It would fit in a standard case. And it would just work out of the box.

    But where's the fun in that
    Nymph - Xeon 5675 @ 4.1 w/ x2 680
    Ikaros - i7 920 w/ 275 - Build In Progress

    Long live LGA1366

  9. #34
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post
    Sshhhh Don't tell everyone .....the ones I sent out are 1.6A 12v..>..19.2watts
    mine say 1.6A 12V as well but when i googled the model number it said 1.06 for most of the Rev. i'm going to go with the 1.6 on the sticker so i feel even better about switching them out
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  10. #35
    Wuf
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    2,403
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobsama View Post
    Professional & Ultimate will only support 2 CPU sockets. You'd be limited to two Barcys with Pro/Ult...

    Server 08/08r2 not working?

    Has anyone tried Server 03r2?
    2008r2 should work as it's based on windows 7 and they support EFI.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...are-specs.aspx

    And every version of 2008r2 supports 4 cpu sockets ecxept foundation version.
    You use IRC and Crunch in Xs WCG team? Join #xs.wcg @ Quakenet
    [22:53:09] [@Jaco-XS] i'm gonna overclock this damn box!
    Ze gear:
    Main rig: W3520 + 12GB ddr3 + Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev2.0! + HD7970 + HD6350 DMS59 + HX520 + 2x X25-E 32gig R0 + Bunch of HDDs.
    ESXI: Dell C6100 XS23-TY3 Node - 1x L5630 + 24GB ECC REG + Brocade 1020 10GbE
    ZFS Server: Supermicro 826E1 + Supermicro X8DAH+-F + 1x L5630 + 24GB ECC REG + 10x 3TB HDDs + Brocade 1020 10GbE
    Lappy!: Lenovo Thinkpad W500: T9600 + 8GB + FireGL v5700 + 128GB Samsung 830 + 320GB 2.5" in ze dvd slot + 1920x1200 @ 15.4"


  11. #36
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048
    Quote Originally Posted by s0lid View Post
    2008r2 should work as it's based on windows 7 and they support EFI.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsserv...are-specs.aspx

    And every version of 2008r2 supports 4 cpu sockets ecxept foundation version.
    I know... but I couldn't get the setup to load. If anyone figures out how to get the EFI shell to allow the setup to load, let me know.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  12. #37
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,646
    I'll be trying soon. Chips today, power supply+adapters tomorrow. Think I'm short on brackets though, doh.

  13. #38
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    no biggie you can add the other brackets and cpus later. i wanna see some windows magic out of you lol!
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  14. #39
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    ok new thought: is there any way to adjust the cpu fan speed? they run slower as the bios loads up then ramp up to full speed right before it loads into ubuntu.
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  15. #40
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,646
    Fan controller! :P

    Why are all the decently priced brackets in Hong Kong?

  16. #41
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Plymouth (UK)
    Posts
    5,283
    what do you want the fans to do? full speed from the off? connect direct to psu!

    oddly enough on my sm board they spin up full then drop back to temp related speed if allowed in bios.


    My Biggest Fear Is When I die, My Wife Sells All My Stuff For What I Told Her I Paid For It.
    79 SB threads and 32 IB Threads across 4 rigs 111 threads Crunching!!

  17. #42
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Very nice work Kryja
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  18. #43
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    Quote Originally Posted by OldChap View Post
    what do you want the fans to do? full speed from the off? connect direct to psu!

    oddly enough on my sm board they spin up full then drop back to temp related speed if allowed in bios.
    this is what i want, mine do the opposite.
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  19. #44
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,646
    FYI, if you need a cheap graphic card for these there are several x300 PCIe cards on ebay right now for $10 shipped that work great.

  20. #45
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth (UK)
    Posts
    786
    Updated the first post.

    I've made a few small amendments here and there and added a couple of Questions & pictures . Again once mine is up and running I'll test the minimum amount of ram these things need to post.
    Nymph - Xeon 5675 @ 4.1 w/ x2 680
    Ikaros - i7 920 w/ 275 - Build In Progress

    Long live LGA1366

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    768
    Got a small problem

    I have setup my board with 1 CPU and 4 1GB sticks in CPU0_dimm0-4.

    The board boots up woo! But it won't load into the BIOS, it just hangs on "entering setup"

    If I don't enter setup the board posts and I can get into the EFI shell, etc.

    Also another weird thing is the BIOS loader graphic says OBEY and has a picture of a bloke


  22. #47
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    831
    I have special plans for my ARIMA with 4 Quad-Core AMD Opteron 8358 2.4Ghz CPU's.

    Im going to try how this rig works as how gaming goes gonna put gtx480 or my Ares card to this and bench it

    After that, i go and put it as dedicated wcg rig.

    Edit: And yeah, i bought one PCIE 2.0 x16 raiser so i dont need care about those caps and buttons.
    Last edited by rintamarotta; 10-01-2010 at 12:17 PM.

    ::: Desktop's - Intel *** Intel 2
    2 x Xeon E5-2687W *** Intel i7 3930k
    EVGA SR-X *** Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    96Gb (12x8Gb) G.Skill Trident X DDR3-2400MHz 10-12-12-2N *** 32Gb (8x4Gb) G.Skill Trident X DDR3-2666 10-12-12-2N
    3 x Zotac GTX 680 4Gb + EK-FC680 GTX Acetal *** 3 x EVGA GeForce GTX780 + EK Titan XXL Edition waterblocks.
    OCZ RevoDrive 3 x4 960Gb *** 4 x Samsung 840 Pro 512Gb
    Avermedia LiveGamer HD capture card
    Caselabs TX10-D
    14 x 4 TB WD RE4 in RAID10+2Spare
    4 x Corsair AX1200

    ::: Basement DataCenter :::
    [*] Fibreoptic connection from operators core network
    [*] Dell PowerConnect 2848 Ethernet Switch [*] Network Security Devices by Cisco
    [*] Dell EqualLogic PS6500E 96Tb iSCSI SAN (40 2Tb Drives + 8 Spare Drives, Raid10+Spare Configuration, 40Tb fail safe storage)
    [*] Additional SAN machines with FusionIO ioDrive Octal's (4 total Octals).
    [*] 10 x Dual Xeon X5680, 12Gb DDR3, 2x100Gb Vertex 2 Pro Raid1 [*] 4 x Quad Xeon E7-4870, 96Gb DDR3, 2x100Gb Vertex 2 Pro Raid1

    [*] Monster UPS unit incase power grid failure backed up by diesel powered generator.

  23. #48
    Xtreme crazy bastid
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    On mah murder-sickle!
    Posts
    5,881
    Quote Originally Posted by Anarki View Post
    Got a small problem

    I have setup my board with 1 CPU and 4 1GB sticks in CPU0_dimm0-4.

    The board boots up woo! But it won't load into the BIOS, it just hangs on "entering setup"

    If I don't enter setup the board posts and I can get into the EFI shell, etc.

    Also another weird thing is the BIOS loader graphic says OBEY and has a picture of a bloke

    Looks like it's been customised to me.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  24. #49
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,646
    Quote Originally Posted by D_A View Post
    Looks like it's been customised to me.
    Customized by Google no less. Try pulling the battery for awhile and letting the BIOS reset if you haven't already Anarki.

  25. #50
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,646
    Quote Originally Posted by rintamarotta View Post
    Im going to try how this rig works as how gaming goes gonna put gtx480 or my Ares card to this and bench it
    Hmm, I'm guess not so great on the gaming front. Your Thuban would destroy it for instance.

Page 2 of 45 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •