Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Results posted must have bandwidth tests

  1. #1
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,031

    Results posted must have bandwidth tests

    Show your bandwidth numbers or posts in this section will be removed.

    It also helps to have CPUTweaker open for extensive result sharing.

    Please state the B2B setting for others to duplicate results.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  2. #2
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    Show your bandwidth numbers or posts in this section will be removed.

    It also helps to have CPUTweaker open for extensive result sharing.

    Please state the B2B setting for others to duplicate results.
    Is this up for discussion...?
    This is pretty lame IMO....

    CPU-Z max, suicide... That is one category...
    B2B should always be stated... Though....
    1M / 8M / 32M is another.....
    BW, why? We all know that the ram isnt bottleneck...
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  3. #3
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    Methinks this only applies to OC reports, where people try to prove that memory XXX is very good for 24/7 or for heavy duty benching. I can't imagine this would apply to suicide runs...
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,478
    Quote Originally Posted by G.Foyle View Post
    Methinks this only applies to OC reports, where people try to prove that memory XXX is very good for 24/7 or for heavy duty benching. I can't imagine this would apply to suicide runs...
    I hope so, cause whats the point to show bandwidth when you aim for max. freq?

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    213

    Like this???

    Not to shabby for 24/7
    REX4F - X79A-Sabertooth
    Noctua NH-D14 Pull-Pull NoiseBlocker PK3
    X3930 @4.5 - 1,325V
    X3860 @4.5 - 1,28V
    Geil Ultra+ 6x4 7-8-7-24@1814 1,65V Elpida???
    Gskill RJ-X 4x8 9-11-11 @2200 1,65V Sammy
    580 SLI




  6. #6
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,031
    Marc, it is sad to see people exploiting/clueless to B2B to fudge results.

    Look at Mat's results of 3Ghz yet he stats bandwidth was bad...

    Look at your results, you exploited B2B to the fullest without a single bandwidth test.

    Lastly, this is the "Xtreme Bandwidth" section, not the "Xtreme B2B exploit" section.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,440
    So, this better only apply to i7, correct? ...and only for results like that where its possible there were exploits? I'm not running Everest Memory Bandwidth for my 32M runs. Sorry.
    I'm not buying the latest version of Everest again.

    You oughta open up the "Xtreme Memory Overclocking Section" because this just opened up a huge can of worms all over some of us.
    Intel all dey erry dey
    AMD all nite erry nite party party party

  8. #8
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,216
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    So, this better only apply to i7, correct? ...and only for results like that where its possible there were exploits? I'm not running Everest Memory Bandwidth for my 32M runs. Sorry.
    I'm not buying the latest version of Everest again.

    You oughta open up the "Xtreme Memory Overclocking Section" because this just opened up a huge can of worms all over some of us.
    a few apps will show what is b2b setting and its free
    cpu tweaker is best

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  9. #9
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,525
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    So, this better only apply to i7, correct? ...and only for results like that where its possible there were exploits? I'm not running Everest Memory Bandwidth for my 32M runs. Sorry.
    I'm not buying the latest version of Everest again.

    You oughta open up the "Xtreme Memory Overclocking Section" because this just opened up a huge can of worms all over some of us.
    There are ways to extract more frequency at the cost of performance on AMD as well..........

    No one said you need use latest verion of everest.

    I think the point is not to mislead users into purchasing a set of ram based on shady tactics used to extract the most speed.
    heatware chew*
    Guess who's back ,back again

  10. #10
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    Marc, it is sad to see people exploiting/clueless to B2B to fudge results.

    Look at Mat's results of 3Ghz yet he stats bandwidth was bad...

    Look at your results, you exploited B2B to the fullest without a single bandwidth test.

    Lastly, this is the "Xtreme Bandwidth" section, not the "Xtreme B2B exploit" section.
    Dear lord, you still believen that sh1t, dont ya?
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    Marc, it is sad to see people exploiting/clueless to B2B to fudge results.

    Look at Mat's results of 3Ghz yet he stats bandwidth was bad...

    Look at your results, you exploited B2B to the fullest without a single bandwidth test.

    Lastly, this is the "Xtreme Bandwidth" section, not the "Xtreme B2B exploit" section.
    As I said in my thread, I am aware of B2B CAS Delay and tried it, but it didn't do much good, because the memory (as M.Beier said) is not the problem. Even less under ln2 ... I tried to show that, nothing else. Have you even read my whole post? I am experimenting with things like that and just wanted to show my results.

    Where again did I say that bandwidth was bad? Didn't test that yet, as I remember.

  12. #12
    PIfection
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,002
    HUH?

    90% of the posts in this section are valid, to be honest i think maximum mhz is a valid section also...

    for a cpuz validation you don't need to show a superpi 32m result next to it to show how fast it is, how is this any different?

    i really enjoy doing ram testing and posting up results here but i am not going to have a everest bandwidth result n every picture..

    is this a requirement now for every post in this section?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Berlin, germany
    Posts
    509
    I think that´s ok- as I usually do DDR2 tests at the moment this doesn´t bother me, but I also have no problem in showing CPUTweaker or MaxMem whwn I test DDR3- buying my memory myself, testing on air and having no sponsor I think this new rule helps to see if a kit is worth buying it or not. High frequency isn´t evrything if it comes to performance

  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    strange decision this one
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  15. #15
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Does anyone base their RAM purchase decisions based on max MHz validation? Cooled with LN2?
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,616
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    Does anyone base their RAM purchase decisions based on max MHz validation? Cooled with LN2?
    Of course. If you are looking for high clocking RAM for the same thing

    This isn't necessarily a section aimed at helping people find the RAM they want to purchase, it can also be used to showcase results, etc.
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  17. #17
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    People chasing MHz seriously will know or at least have a pretty idea whats going on with B2B.

    Its just part of a bigger picture and meeting of the right parts.... CPU with strong IMC, right board + BIOS, right RAM ICs + batch- regardless of the seller etc etc etc.
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  18. #18
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    Does anyone base their RAM purchase decisions based on max MHz validation? Cooled with LN2?
    Is there any alternative methods?
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  19. #19
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,031
    Its not strange, this is xtreme bandwidth and lack of a bandwidth shot kinda defeats the purpose.

    Its like me showing my RPM and posting in a horsepower section and that is absolutely useless, deliver numbers proving the overclock is what I am asking.

    If that 3Ghz cas 7 delivers a 13k read and 12k write it is a bogus overclock of the ram, now if it delivers 27k read then bravo, hats off to you.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  20. #20
    Xtreme Owner FUGGER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,031
    After talking with reason (Gautam) I see my error in not stating this section is for bandwidth and performance shots only. Everything else belongs in XOC or AMD/Intel.
    Intel 7700K @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Maximus IX Formula
    ASUS GTX Titan X
    32GB Galax HOF
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    Platimax 1350W
    Enermax 240 Liqtech AOI

    Intel 6950X ES
    Asus Rampage E10
    Asus GTX 980
    32GB HyperX AFR
    Intel 750 SSD 1.2TB
    MaxREVO 1500W
    Dimas Benchtable

  21. #21
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    After talking with reason (Gautam) I see my error in not stating this section is for bandwidth and performance shots only. Everything else belongs in XOC or AMD/Intel.
    I will permanently post it in xtreme overclocking then....
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  22. #22
    .
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,613
    so if i am not wrong :

    Higher memory MHZ with any kind of performance must be post in XOC (if xtremecooling), intel/amd if previews or testing room (bought/got a kit want to show the tests etc)

    High PERFORMANCE showing bandwidth with open cpu tweaker and other tools if needed in this section

    right?
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  23. #23
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    XOC = xtreme overclocking hiwa

    i foresee the death of a section.
    You probablky want to change the description of this forum too, it still says "Memory overclocking and bandwidth results"

  24. #24
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    death of a section >> yeah hence the reason i thought it was strange
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  25. #25
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    End of a dark era
    Posts
    2,565
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    XOC = xtreme overclocking hiwa

    i foresee the death of a section.
    You probablky want to change the description of this forum too, it still says "Memory overclocking and bandwidth results"
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    death of a section >> yeah hence the reason i thought it was strange
    Are you guys saying that no one cares about bandwidth ?

    I really can't see what all the fuss is about.... why such opposition to showing bandwidth ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •