Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Very best AMD cpu for a DFI Nf4?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189

    Question Very best AMD cpu for a DFI Nf4?

    Hey guys,

    I'm building a little machine for my nephew and wanna know what's the absolute best dual core amd cpu out there for this mobo? Yes I intend to overclock it w/ stable 24/7 settings.

    Setup:
    Amd CPU???
    - DFI NF4 SLI
    - 2 x 8800 GT
    - Sandisk 30Gb SSD + Seagate 640Mb;
    - 2Gb of Mushkin Redline DDR
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  2. #2
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    Hey guys,

    I'm building a little machine for my nephew and wanna know what's the absolute best dual core amd cpu out there for this mobo? Yes I intend to overclock it w/ stable 24/7 settings.

    Setup:
    Amd CPU???
    - DFI NF4 SLI
    - 2 x 8800 GT
    - Sandisk 30Gb SSD + Seagate 640Mb;
    - 2Gb of Mushkin Redline DDR
    opty was the best duallie.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    opty was the best duallie.
    Which one chew*? 180, 175 etc?
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  4. #4
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    Which one chew*? 180, 175 etc?
    ehhh i'm not sure i would just search for the highest model.

    He really need a dually?

    I got a couple chips left over from this comp i grabbed up for cheap paid $30 for 2 chips.. can hook it up for you with like a 3700 sandiego.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    ehhh i'm not sure i would just search for the highest model.

    He really need a dually?

    I got a couple chips left over from this comp i grabbed up for cheap paid $30 for 2 chips.. can hook it up for you with like a 3700 sandiego.
    Thanks chew*!

    I did receive the board today and the seller was kind enough to send it with a cpu, I still don't know what is it but will report back
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,619
    High end 939 chips are still worth stupid prices on eBay so shop on forums where people sell them for much less than they are worth.
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    597
    You mean they sell them for what they are worth on forums.

    If I remember Opty 165 and X2 4200+ were the best bang for buck those days.
    ..:Core i7 870///eVGA P55 Classified///VTX3D Radeon 6970///Asus Xonar D2X///16GB F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL///WD 6400AAKS 640Gb///Samsung F2 EcoGreen 1.5TB///Samsung F4 EcoGreen 2TB///Pioneer DVR 216///Seasonic X-series 850///Corsair Obsidian 800D///Logitech G15 rev.1///Logitech G400@Zowie G-TF Spawn///Philips 240SW:..

    ..:EK Supreme Acetal///Bitspower Black Freezer EIP55NSC///Magicool Pro III///S-Flex E@7v///Laing DDC-1T w/ EK Plexi top///EK Multioption 150:..

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Quote Originally Posted by tool_462 View Post
    High end 939 chips are still worth stupid prices on eBay so shop on forums where people sell them for much less than they are worth.
    Quote Originally Posted by Erklat View Post
    You mean they sell them for what they are worth on forums.

    If I remember Opty 165 and X2 4200+ were the best bang for buck those days.
    I will keep looking for a good opty within a reasonable price, but $144 bucks is just too much:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    597
    You could try X2 3800+ Manchester core too.

    Doubt your nephew is going to notice smaller cache size and possibly somewhat lower frequency.
    Go for whatever you manage to find cheapest.
    ..:Core i7 870///eVGA P55 Classified///VTX3D Radeon 6970///Asus Xonar D2X///16GB F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL///WD 6400AAKS 640Gb///Samsung F2 EcoGreen 1.5TB///Samsung F4 EcoGreen 2TB///Pioneer DVR 216///Seasonic X-series 850///Corsair Obsidian 800D///Logitech G15 rev.1///Logitech G400@Zowie G-TF Spawn///Philips 240SW:..

    ..:EK Supreme Acetal///Bitspower Black Freezer EIP55NSC///Magicool Pro III///S-Flex E@7v///Laing DDC-1T w/ EK Plexi top///EK Multioption 150:..

  10. #10
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    I will keep looking for a good opty within a reasonable price, but $144 bucks is just too much:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...=STRK:MEWAX:IT
    $15 for a 3700+ sandy sounds alot better
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    $15 for a 3700+ sandy sounds alot better
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  12. #12
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Quote Originally Posted by Erklat View Post
    You could try X2 3800+ Manchester core too.

    Doubt your nephew is going to notice smaller cache size and possibly somewhat lower frequency.
    Go for whatever you manage to find cheapest.
    Look at the rest of the system specs though, pretty much any CPU will bottleneck it quite badly so it's best to go for something fast.

    The best chip at stock was the Opteron 190 at 2.8GHz, but if you can find a decent 170 or 4800+ you should manage close to 3GHz on air and 3.16GHz or so on a really good one.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189

    Oc

    So from that list what can I expect to overclock out of these cpu's w/ that setup (DFI NF4 sli + Thermalright TRUE120):

    Opty 165:

    X2 3800+ Manchester:

    3700+ sandy:

    X2 4200+:

    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  14. #14
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Average chip: 2.8GHz
    Decent chip: 2.95GHz
    Good chip: 3.05GHz
    Oustanding chip: 3.15GHz
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    Average chip: 2.8GHz
    Decent chip: 2.95GHz
    Good chip: 3.05GHz
    Oustanding chip: 3.15GHz
    Thanks.

    I bumped into a small problem the True120 is incompatible with this socket... Looking at the thermalright boltthru kit I see there 4 holes to mount the plate on the back and this socket 939 only has two holes across the center of the socket.
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  16. #16
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,966
    I have a scythe ninja 2 cooler, if you want it, its yours. It's only compatible with s754/s939, so I don't need it.

  17. #17
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Time for some cheap old watercooling
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  18. #18
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Quote Originally Posted by =[PULSAR]= View Post
    I have a scythe ninja 2 cooler, if you want it, its yours. It's only compatible with s754/s939, so I don't need it.
    I think the Scythe Ninja was the only cooler Custom PC reviews that could keep a system stable at stock without a fan. Here's a review

    Alternatively, the Arctic Freezer 64 Pro or Zalman 9700CNPS/NT were good choices.

    PULSAR, if he doesn't want the cooler I'll gladly relieve you of it!
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Glad you got the board already, and the CPU was a 3500+ Venice.

    Also, you could try my method for 939 mounting, it was for a CM Hyper 212+ but should work for the TRUE as well.
    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=339038

    You can just use the stock backplate, run screws from the bottom, and use the springs and wing nuts to tighten down a bracket.
    Heatware Cecil

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Arizona - USA
    Posts
    2,189
    Is this one any good (Opti 165): http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=126922

    How about the price?
    //RETIRED-o00o--(_)--o00o-OVERCLOCKER//


  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    Is this one any good (Opti 165): http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=126922

    How about the price?
    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K8/AMD...X55BNBOX).html
    Heatware Cecil

  22. #22
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Yah, th FX-55 is a great chip but it's only a single core. The Opti 165 at around 2.7 to 2.9GHz would be a MUCH better option considering the rest of the machine
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    338
    Thats weird, I typed some before that link but it didnt post it :?

    Anyway I had said the 165 isnt "best" but is a great one that should do 2.7-3 depending on the cooling and whatnot. I had said I know someone selling an FX-55, though it is a single core.
    Heatware Cecil

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •