MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Retail i5 655K - overclocked :D

  1. #1
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641

    Retail i5 655K - overclocked :D

    $430.00 of fun
    Intel Core i5 655K - a CPU designed for overclocking
    Biostar Tpower i55 - is a top choice for power users to pursue ultimate performance
    G.SKILL Rip Jaws - runs very quickly for the price and I can see why it is so popular










    LN2 - GO - GO - GO



    13GHz


    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Belguim
    Posts
    344
    nice

    and 13.06GHz
    proud to be from Belguim ^^

    Lightpainting and hardware are my life!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    109
    Nice one! CB/CBB?

    Quote Originally Posted by massman
    Using a mouse to adjust BIOS settings is like driving a car with automatic transmission. Even if you break all speed records, it's still incredibly gay.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Nice job!!

    What voltage in memory?

  5. #5
    nice one man

    lol 13GHz try it with 14V
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Dijon /FRANCE
    Posts
    342
    Nice to see this bug.
    Your ES is better than your retail ? The retail reach the same frequency ?
    Xtrem of nothing.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Family
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic of Hiroshima
    Posts
    2,641
    thanks guys

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzz3l View Post
    Nice one! CB/CBB?
    Cold boot @ -140c
    Cold bug @ unknow
    but for wprime at 6.1GHz it was -152c

    Quote Originally Posted by Sobota View Post
    Nice job!!

    What voltage in memory?
    1.61v


    Quote Originally Posted by hiwa View Post
    nice one man

    lol 13GHz try it with 14V
    Hi Bro,
    not 14v but near of that

    i always use the BIOSTAR Overclock Matrix Genie(O.M.G.) ,just pressing F10 from within the system initialization LOGOand it allows direct access to change several board device frequencies and voltage and at O.M.G. i raised the vcore from 1.78v to 1.85v but for some unknow reason jumped to 2.12v :S

    Quote Originally Posted by redratamd View Post
    Nice to see this bug.
    Your ES is better than your retail ? The retail reach the same frequency ?

    ES is better i think
    4950Mhz for 3d06 air
    max clock 6600MHz

    retail with a bit more vcore
    4850MHz for 3d06 air
    max clock - unknow because after that 13GHz bug the board suffered the BSOD and then refuse to post or start up again.
    Ive tried to change the phisical bios rom with no luck
    So I disassemble everything from the failed Tpower and reassemble everything and now its working again
    I will push again soon
    Last edited by PcCI2iminal; 06-27-2010 at 02:29 PM.
    Mojo
    Family
    Biostar TP55 XE - Core i7 860(ES) @ 4.2ghz - CNPS10X Extreme - G.SKILL 1600 - Galaxy GTX275 - Velociraptor 300GB x 2 - Zippy TypeR 600w
    Criminal
    Biostar Tpower X58A - 920~Gulf - G.SKILL2000CL8 - GTX580 - Intel 520 120GB - Antec HCP 1200w
    Biostar TP67XE/TZ77XE4 2500k~3770K - G.SKILL 2800 - GTX480 - OCZ Vertex2 50GB - Corsair AX1200
    Biostar Tpower X79 i7 3820 ~ E5 2680 - G.SKILL 2400C11 - GTX560Ti - Intel 520 120GB - AX1200i
    Kids
    P4GD1 - Pentium M 780 - XMS Xpert400 - GTX460 - Raptor 36GB - Aopen 560w



  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seoul, Korea
    Posts
    608
    nice Bro ~ 13G
    NAMEGT- Xtremesystems



    http://www.playwares.com

  9. #9
    Wpprriimmee crrraaazzzyyy
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,802
    Nice runs! Wprime1024M@6GHZ is strong! Hope you can push it again when you get the bugs worked out.
    Heatware



    Custom SS unit by Gray Mole, Sdumper Cascade, K|ngp|n F1 Gemnni, TEK9 Fatboy, TEK9 Slim, NB-1, H2O stuff...
    Celeron 347, Celeron 356, Celeron 420, 2x P4 631, P4 670, P4 640, P4 651, P4 524, PD 915, P4 540J, 2x P4 530J, P4 520J Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2-8500 2x Asus REX X48, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P rev 1.0, Asus Commando P965,
    Stuff I used to have:
    Asus RIIIE X58, Evga Classified P55, Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR, i5 670, E8600, Q9650, Q9550, , 3x2GB Mushkin Redline 2000C8,, G.Skill 2x2GB PC9600(Silver), Evga Evbot
    XFX 4770 modded, XFX 7950GT, XFX 6600GT, Evga 8600GTS 512MB, 3850 OC, 4x 3870s, and X600

    "In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant." - James Stewart

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    30
    Nice results. Every review I've seen so far has the ES chips performing better than retail .
    Last edited by cory1234; 06-28-2010 at 05:55 AM.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,701
    Hey junior im in the same ship but I cant get up to 13ghz on this bios

    I need your help man I never had great luck with this board because I never really found the sweet spots in the bios.
    the main problem is the vcore/vtt combo. the whole +0.xxx vcore settings always confused me. Is it as simple as resetting the board and running it at default and finding the default vcore then adding to this number?

    vtt I see everyone using is around 1.45v so im going in small steps. I did the cb mod on the underside of the cpu with a pen and then the board. so I am in fine at -120 so far,.



    I noticed your qpi is at auto. Is that just a quick pic you took ? ive been running my qpi at the lowest setting.

    heres a shot of the bios. I need help with the lower portion.





    sorry to hijack im not trying to. just need some help from a buddy. Ill keep trying different settings in the meantime.

    heres some pics. my retail 655k is 05/03/10
    L008B540

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    221
    Good photos! These cpu's were made to play the overclocker!

  13. #13
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,193
    Quote Originally Posted by trans am View Post
    Hey junior im in the same ship but I cant get up to 13ghz on this bios

    I need your help man I never had great luck with this board because I never really found the sweet spots in the bios.
    the main problem is the vcore/vtt combo. the whole +0.xxx vcore settings always confused me. Is it as simple as resetting the board and running it at default and finding the default vcore then adding to this number?

    vtt I see everyone using is around 1.45v so im going in small steps. I did the cb mod on the underside of the cpu with a pen and then the board. so I am in fine at -120 so far,.

    I noticed your qpi is at auto. Is that just a quick pic you took ? ive been running my qpi at the lowest setting.

    heres a shot of the bios. I need help with the lower portion.

    sorry to hijack im not trying to. just need some help from a buddy. Ill keep trying different settings in the meantime.

    heres some pics. my retail 655k is 05/03/10
    L008B540
    Try , PLL 1.55 to about 1.7v and with vtt between 1.4v to 1.5x

    keep pushing it

  14. #14
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,701
    i JUST SAW THIS BUT LN2 IS CASHED. tHIS is what I got from that session....

    spi 1m
    http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...55k_7sec_422ms

    wprime 32m
    http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...655k_8sec_94ms

    2001
    http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...70_65095_marks (5770)

    I need some more juice. I feel like Ive only scratched the surface with this 655k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •