MMM
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: I beg of YOU HELP!! me understand.

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    44

    I beg of YOU HELP!! me understand.

    Hi!

    I'm assembling new rig for a friend of mine.

    The main parts are:
    CPU AMD X4 II630
    Mobo Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
    PSU OCZ StealthXsteam 600W
    Memory Geil 2GB 1333MHz Ultra DDR3

    I have installed Windows 7 Ultimate, everything was OK.
    Today I have been trying to update the BIOS, firstly from windows vi Asus Update ap.

    PC was shutting down, I have tried to do it via BIOS it self, after getting to one of its options, PC shuts down.

    Antec case do not have the system speaker, so I cant even hear what can be the problem.

    Its the 8th PC I'm building, and the first one with so many issues...


    Please assist
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz
    CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40F-BK
    Memory - Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400
    Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-B250-HD3P
    GPU - Gigabyte Windforce OC 8G GTX 1080
    OS - Windows 10
    HDD - Crucial MX300, 275GB SSD M.2 2280
    Case - Enermax Ostrog ADV Blue
    PSU - Corsair CX650M

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher Russ_64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    850
    Did you complete a BIOS flash successfully?

    Is it the correct BIOS for the MB?

    Did you do a Clear CMOS after flash?
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger Z170 : Core i5-6600K : EVGA RTX2080 XC : 16Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3200 : 256Gb Crucial MX500 : Corsair H100i : PCP&C 750w 60A : CM Cosmos S : Windows 10 x64
    Asus Z8NA-D6 : Dual Xeon E5645 : 24Gb DDR3-1333 ECC : MSI GTX470 : 120Gb Samsung EVO 840 : 1TB HDD : PCP&C 750w 60A : CM Stacker : DD MC-TDX, EK-FC470, RX240+RX120, D5 X-Top, BayRes : VMware ESXi 6.7.0 - VM's - WCG crunchers x 5 (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS), Mint 19, Windows 10 Insider Preview
    Sophos XG 17.5.3 running on GA-Z97-Wifi : Core i3 : 8Gb DDR3-1600 : 120Gb SSD : Corsair H80
    BenQ GW2765, Aten 4-port KVM, Asustor AS5002 4Tb NAS, Belkin 1500va UPS, Sky Fibre Max 80/20Mbps


  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Russ_64 View Post
    Did you complete a BIOS flash successfully?

    Is it the correct BIOS for the MB?

    Did you do a Clear CMOS after flash?
    I have done all of this, all the basic steps were done.

    I have of course downloaded the correct BIOS version, but when I'm trying to get to Asus Flash Utility on BIOS level , before I even get there , PC shuts it self down.

    My fingers hurt me already from replacing the bloody CMOS pin.:-)

    I am powerless in this instance...
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz
    CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40F-BK
    Memory - Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400
    Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-B250-HD3P
    GPU - Gigabyte Windforce OC 8G GTX 1080
    OS - Windows 10
    HDD - Crucial MX300, 275GB SSD M.2 2280
    Case - Enermax Ostrog ADV Blue
    PSU - Corsair CX650M

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by d1b1 View Post
    I have done all of this, all the basic steps were done.

    I have of course downloaded the correct BIOS version, but when I'm trying to get to Asus Flash Utility on BIOS level , before I even get there , PC shuts it self down.

    My fingers hurt me already from replacing the bloody CMOS pin.:-)

    I am powerless in this instance...
    Art.-Nr.: Apparaat type Product
    JCXUVA Grafische kaart (PCIe) Club 3D CGAX-57724I
    HD1A68 Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630
    TN6O30 Voeding OCZ StealthXStream 600W
    TQXJ46 Behuizing Antec VSK-2000
    MR#V99 Cardreader Card Reader 56in1 intern
    CEBU35 DVD-Brander Samsung SH-S223C
    TL6AX2 Case-fan Antec PRO 80mm
    TL6AX2 Case-fan Antec PRO 80mm
    GDEA04 Moederbord Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
    AEBW36 Harddisks (SATA) Western Digital WD1002FAEX
    IBIF8B Geheugen GeIL 2 GB DDR3-1333 Kit


    These are all the components, I have taken the VGA card out since I cant use it for now. It is just strange, all of the components were goatherd to be compatible with each other. I have first started just with installed CPU , if it will start. And carried on adding more comps. After installing OS and driver for VGA, things started to go very bad.

    If I would be trying to do some OC, OK , things may go wrong. But Every single time I leave the BIOS on default settings, I'm getting message OC failed, press F1 to run set up, and few seconds after being in there, shuts down.

    Ive checked all sites for known problems, and so on, but found nothing there .
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz
    CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40F-BK
    Memory - Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400
    Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-B250-HD3P
    GPU - Gigabyte Windforce OC 8G GTX 1080
    OS - Windows 10
    HDD - Crucial MX300, 275GB SSD M.2 2280
    Case - Enermax Ostrog ADV Blue
    PSU - Corsair CX650M

  5. #5
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    It could possibly be a memory problem. Try it with one stick of memory.
    Smile

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Solved

    PSU failure, OCZ Stealth X Stream 600W has quite high fail rate.

    I’ve inserted one of mine old PSU´s very cheap one too) and it runs smoothly like my Subaru Impreza GT Turbo

    I have searched yesterday on OCZ forum and found several similar issues .

    As it happened, I find it very strange that, such a recommended company like OCZ makes such a unreliable hardware.

    Consider this one as a warning.
    Last edited by d1b1; 10-05-2010 at 06:24 AM.
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz
    CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40F-BK
    Memory - Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400
    Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-B250-HD3P
    GPU - Gigabyte Windforce OC 8G GTX 1080
    OS - Windows 10
    HDD - Crucial MX300, 275GB SSD M.2 2280
    Case - Enermax Ostrog ADV Blue
    PSU - Corsair CX650M

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by d1b1 View Post
    Solved

    PSU failure, OCZ Stealth X Stream 600W has quite high fail rate.

    I’ve inserted one of mine old PSU´s very cheap one too) and it runs smoothly like my Subaru GT Turbo

    I have searched yesterday on OCZ forum and found several similar issues .

    As it happened, I find it very strange that, such a recommended company like OCZ makes such a unreliable hardware.

    Consider this one as a warning.
    They don't ...

    My GameXStream 700w has been running for four and a half years man ...internally it's a bit beefier SteathXStream 600w and a few more connectors.

    I have a set of OCZ ram and an OCZ water pump to boot.

    If you know the PSU is dead, RMA it directly to OCZ. They might even give you a free upgrade.
    Smile

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    They don't ...

    My GameXStream 700w has been running for four and a half years man ...internally it's a bit beefier SteathXStream 600w and a few more connectors.

    I have a set of OCZ ram and an OCZ water pump to boot.

    If you know the PSU is dead, RMA it directly to OCZ. They might even give you a free upgrade.
    Well, I don't mean that everything form them is bad. I'm just stating the facts, from my event> It was not dead, but it did not worked properly. Ones he gave power to all components, once not.
    CPU - Intel Core i7-7700 3.6GHz
    CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40F-BK
    Memory - Corsair 8GB DDR4-2400
    Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-B250-HD3P
    GPU - Gigabyte Windforce OC 8G GTX 1080
    OS - Windows 10
    HDD - Crucial MX300, 275GB SSD M.2 2280
    Case - Enermax Ostrog ADV Blue
    PSU - Corsair CX650M

  9. #9
    D.F.I Pimp Daddy
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Still Lost At The Dead Show Parking Lot
    Posts
    5,182
    For future reference.......NEVER FLASH BIOS FROM WINDOWS ENVIRONMENT!!!

    TOO MANY THINGS CAN GO WRONG .....and just about all bios flash related problems over the years that I have seen have all been from people using Win Flash or doing it within Windows!
    SuperMicro X8SAX
    Xeon 5620
    12GB - Crucial ECC DDR3 1333
    Intel 520 180GB Cherryville
    Areca 1231ML ~ 2~ 250GB Seagate ES.2 ~ Raid 0 ~ 4~ Hitachi 5K3000 2TB ~ Raid 6 ~

  10. #10
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    They don't ...

    My GameXStream 700w has been running for four and a half years man ...internally it's a bit beefier SteathXStream 600w and a few more connectors.

    I have a set of OCZ ram and an OCZ water pump to boot.

    If you know the PSU is dead, RMA it directly to OCZ. They might even give you a free upgrade.
    That would be your experience, you have to look at the bigger picture. I've owned three Asus boards and all three have had issues or outright died, does that mean that Asus in general has a 100% failure rate? Even though I won't touch another Asus soon due to my bad luck with them, I continue to recommend them to people and sell a few hundred every year
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  11. #11
    Noob Overclocker
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kringe in die bos
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by Brother Esau View Post
    For future reference.......NEVER FLASH BIOS FROM WINDOWS ENVIRONMENT!!!

    TOO MANY THINGS CAN GO WRONG .....and just about all bios flash related problems over the years that I have seen have all been from people using Win Flash or doing it within Windows!
    ^^This. Something everyone should learn.
    Zombie Killer Corsair 700D with Quad Rad mod+240 rad mod/Asus Maximus III Formula/i5 750 @ 4Ghz/8GB GSkill Trident/HIS HD 6990/Dell u2711/120GB Kingston SSD Now!/All under EK watercooling goodness!
    HTPC Lian Li V354B/i5 750/4GB Corsair/MSI HD5770/60GB GSkill Phoenix/Corsair H50/EVGA P55 Micro SLi

  12. #12
    ...
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    5,656
    this thread about scared the bejebzuz outta me!
    I've the same motherboard on order arriving today for someone. building a rig for them and when i saw this thread i was starting to wonder if it was good to go with this board! lol
    glad to see it was the power supply though, so at least now i'm just back to my normal anxiety level when waiting for parts when building a pc for someone... lmao

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,977
    Quote Originally Posted by Brother Esau View Post
    For future reference.......NEVER FLASH BIOS FROM WINDOWS ENVIRONMENT!!!

    TOO MANY THINGS CAN GO WRONG .....and just about all bios flash related problems over the years that I have seen have all been from people using Win Flash or doing it within Windows!
    Quite right, never, never, never flash from windows. EVER!

    Especially any utility for Asus!
    One hundred years from now It won't matter
    What kind of car I drove What kind of house I lived in
    How much money I had in the bank Nor what my cloths looked like.... But The world may be a little better Because, I was important In the life of a child.
    -- from "Within My Power" by Forest Witcraft

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •