Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 189

Thread: Magny Cours.. Finally running

  1. #1
    V3 Xeons coming soon! Movieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,440

    Magny Cours.. Finally running

    What a biatch to find a case to fit this Asus board.
    Tried four in the house before I got one to fit(almost)
    First impressions..Smoothe..
    Yea I know, but thats how it feels.
    Very quickon the boot,clickbang and done but thats just what I saw while installing drivers and a few trips to the web to get more drivers and utilities.
    Now asto that AMD Overdrive app, it does install..
    Yup,it installs, doesn't do anything but it does install.
    Oh yea, the case,it fit in a LL G70..Yea, that one.
    Yes, I still remember and some of you know what I'm talking about.
    Still agreat case and I don't forget where it came from and from whom.
    Cpuz screenshot so I don't get called a Liar..
    Now to go get boinc and see what this biatch will do toearn her keep..
    Oh yea,windows thinks it's a dual core!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Movieman; 06-08-2010 at 02:25 AM.
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast snoro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lévis,Québec,Canada
    Posts
    740
    so that green weekend was pretty long uh ???
    Quote Originally Posted by DDtung
    We overclock and crunch you to the ground

  3. #3
    V3 Xeons coming soon! Movieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,440
    Quote Originally Posted by snoro View Post
    so that green weekend was pretty long uh ???
    Told ya I wasn't going to bed till it was running..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  4. #4
    Devil kept pokin' slaveondope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Kakalaky
    Posts
    1,294
    Awesome Congrates
    Cant wait to hear what she puts out and how cool she runs
    How about some pics of her in the flesh

  5. #5
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,785
    Start, msconfig, BOOT.INI, Advanced Options and make sure that maximum CPUs or whatever it is isn't set to 2. Oh, and pics or get out
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  6. #6
    Back from the Dead jcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,598
    Great Dave, finally
    But.. Windows XP? Oh Dave
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  7. #7
    V3 Xeons coming soon! Movieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,440
    yea,yea,yea I'll get pics but I got bigger issues right now..
    Just ran the boinc benchmark and got this and yup, it's running all of TWO WU's..JEEZ!
    6/8/2010 6:39:49 AM Benchmark results:
    6/8/2010 6:39:49 AM Number of CPUs: 2
    6/8/2010 6:39:49 AM 1579 floating point MIPS (Whetstone) per CPU
    6/8/2010 6:39:49 AM 4890 integer MIPS (Dhrystone) per CPU
    6/8/2010 6:39:50 AM Resuming computation
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  8. #8
    Devil kept pokin' slaveondope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South Kakalaky
    Posts
    1,294
    Here you go Dave have some..
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    Start, msconfig, BOOT.INI, Advanced Options and make sure that maximum CPUs or whatever it is isn't set to 2. Oh, and pics or get out
    Sneeze
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher v0dka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,804
    That ^^ or its time for a newer OS. BTW is this quad socket 48 cores?
    P180 Mini - Rampage III Gene - W3570 @ 4.0Ghz - TRUE120 - 6GB @ 1420Mhz 7-7-7-15 - MSi GTX670 OC - Samsung 830 256GB & Samsung F1 1TB - BenQ VW2420H

  11. #11
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,785
    Waaaaaaait wait wait wait wait, QUAD socket with Windows XP isn't going to work, as XP only supports up to two physical processors :/
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  12. #12
    Worlds Fastest F5 Biker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Room 101, Ministry of Truth
    Posts
    1,612
    Dave:

    Please, for the sake of the team's collective sanity (well, what is left of it anyway LOL ) go get some rest, then get up refreshed, take a deep breath and install an OS worthy of handling such a beast

    Also we could do with the extra points

    NEED MOAR CORES
    Last edited by Biker; 06-08-2010 at 05:44 AM.
    X5670 B1 @175x24=4.2GHz @1.24v LLC on
    Rampage III Extreme Bios 0003
    G.skill Eco @1600 (7-7-7-20 1T) @1.4v
    EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
    Auzen X-FI Prelude
    Seasonic X-650 PSU
    Intel X25-E SLC RAID 0
    Samsung F3 1TB
    Corsair H70 with dual 1600 rpm fan
    Corsair 800D
    3008WFP A00



  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict Sn0wm@n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    :O omg ... dual magny-cours

  14. #14
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,785
    Hmmm, Dave never mentioned it being XP, it could be a server OS
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict Sn0wm@n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    a server os not detecting all those cores???

  16. #16
    Xtreme Cruncher Mr_Slinky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,784
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    Hmmm, Dave never mentioned it being XP, it could be a server OS
    Server 2k3 looks exactly like that.

  17. #17
    Fanboy of Good Products shoota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,045
    so does any windows OS set to classic mode i think. Put ubuntu 10.04 64-bit on that beast!
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor Particle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    3,101
    It can't be any newer than Server 2003 R2 or Windows XP. That's no Vista/2008/7/2008R2 task manager. It's missing fields and memory is quoted in KB. No sane person would install that fresh to a new machine like this. Surely it's a recycled OS and thus checking the boot configuration may be warranted. But really, that machine deserves Server 2008 R2 Standard.

    Here, you can have it for free for half a year (180 days) to see if you like it.
    Particle's First Rule of Online Technical Discussion:
    As a thread about any computer related subject has its length approach infinity, the likelihood and inevitability of a poorly constructed AMD vs. Intel fight also exponentially increases.

    Rule 1A:
    Likewise, the frequency of a car pseudoanalogy to explain a technical concept increases with thread length. This will make many people chuckle, as computer people are rarely knowledgeable about vehicular mechanics.

    Rule 2:
    When confronted with a post that is contrary to what a poster likes, believes, or most often wants to be correct, the poster will pick out only minor details that are largely irrelevant in an attempt to shut out the conflicting idea. The core of the post will be left alone since it isn't easy to contradict what the person is actually saying.

    Rule 2A:
    When a poster cannot properly refute a post they do not like (as described above), the poster will most likely invent fictitious counter-points and/or begin to attack the other's credibility in feeble ways that are dramatic but irrelevant. Do not underestimate this tactic, as in the online world this will sway many observers. Do not forget: Correctness is decided only by what is said last, the most loudly, or with greatest repetition.

    Rule 3:
    When it comes to computer news, 70% of Internet rumors are outright fabricated, 20% are inaccurate enough to simply be discarded, and about 10% are based in reality. Grains of salt--become familiar with them.

    Remember: When debating online, everyone else is ALWAYS wrong if they do not agree with you!

    Random Tip o' the Whatever
    You just can't win. If your product offers feature A instead of B, people will moan how A is stupid and it didn't offer B. If your product offers B instead of A, they'll likewise complain and rant about how anyone's retarded cousin could figure out A is what the market wants.

  19. #19
    NooB MOD [XC] Oj101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,785
    Quote Originally Posted by Sn0wm@n View Post
    a server os not detecting all those cores???
    You can limit the number of cores seen by editing BOOT.INI
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  20. #20
    version 2.0 Jaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Flanders
    Posts
    3,864
    Nah , Dave doesn't like Vista that much

    Pretty sure that's Server 2003 64bit . Should recognise all cpu's and cores though.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher don_xvi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Farmington Hills, Mich.
    Posts
    916
    Let's all hope Dave is sleeping on it, so he can come back refreshed and ready to make a clear decision on a new OS installation.

    UBUNTU to the RESCU!

    don_xvi helps find cures for cancer, AIDS and West Nile, among other research !
    Donald A. Perlick helps find cures for Alzheimer's, cancer, and Parkinson's, among other research !

  22. #22
    Fanboy of Good Products shoota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,045
    that's my vote
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  23. #23
    Xtreme Legend sierra_bound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    204,163
    Those benchmarks are terrible, even for two cores.

    I don't think the OS is the issue here. Check the BIOS settings. Some ASUS boards have a setting called "Active Processor Cores". It should be set to ALL.
    Audentes fortuna iuvat

    "Fortune favors the bold"

  24. #24
    Xtreme Cruncher skycrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,288
    server 03r2-64bit should have no troubble seeing all the cores. if im not mistaken, its good for up to 8 sockets, but i dont think there is a limit on the number of cores per socket.
    Its not overkill if it works.


  25. #25
    (o.O) Rise's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,285
    WHERES THE PICTURES!?!?!??

    i want hardware pron.
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 Yorkfield @ 3.2GHz | Asus P5Q Deluxe mobo | 2x OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) | Sapphire 4870x2 | Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10k RPM | Intel 120GB SSD | Western Digital Caviar SE16 640GB 7200 RPM | Hitachi 2TB 7200 RPM | PCP&C 750W Power Supply |Cooler Master HAF932 | Windows 7 64-bit | Dell ULTRASHARP 2408WFP 24-inch Widescreen Flat Panel Monitor

    Join Us in the XS World Community Grid Forum & Help Fight Cancer and Other Diseases

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •