Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 257

Thread: Holy Moly GIGABYTE miniITX H55N-USB3 rocking d i5 655K@4.9GHz 3DMARK06 on air cooling

  1. #1
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468

    Talking Holy Moly GIGABYTE miniITX H55N-USB3 rocking d i5 655K@4.9GHz 3DMARK06 on air cooling

    When news first surfaced of this board i thought...hmmm something i need for the multimedia machine.....i better give it a crack. Next thing you know guys are saying i should overclock it etc so why not

    I sat down putting it all together and MSN lights up with youngpro going bananas over the board......i'll let him show off the clocking he did with his Core i7 860 later

    Suffice to say this little pocket rocket is exactly that. It's dead easy to OC and pushes the new Core i5 655K chip hard. I thought i would crank the voltage and do some 3DMARK06 CPU test runs for a laugh. I started off at 4.2/4.4/4.5/4.6....im thinking wtf this is nuts.......4.7/4.8/4.9 faints. I left it to finish a 32M Superpi as well...didnt tweak obviously as it was single channel on w7, just wanted to see if its stable with pi too

    Hardware setup:
    • Gigabyte H55N-USB3 mini-ITX (F2 shipping bios)
    • Intel Core i5 655K Unlocked CPU
    • Intel Core i7 875K Unlocked CPU
    • CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus CPU Air Cooler
    • Corsair GTX2 Dominator (had clearance issues so just used one stick)
    • WD 600GB SATA3 VelociRaptor
    • MSI HAWK 5770 PCIe Graphics Card
    • Corsair HX620 PSU
    • Windows 7 32bit


    5247MHz validation on air EEEEEK

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1232075




    4.9GHz 3DMARK06



    4.6GHz prime for a couple of hours eek




    Core i7 875K Unlocked CPU results

    PRIME at 3 hour mark




    3DMARK06 at 4.1GHz



    32M SuperPi at 4.4Ghz












    .....

    .....

    .....

    ....




    BIOS SCREENS

    ....

    .....

    ....
    Last edited by dinos22; 09-13-2010 at 11:02 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    wow great

    how about room temp?
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by PatRaceTin View Post
    wow great

    how about room temp?
    room temp 20C

    i am just priming at 4.4GHz hitting 69C on one core and 77C one other...thinking the mount aint all great
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  4. #4
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    bumped it to 4.6GHz and still goingggggggggggggggg
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  5. #5
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    Great performance/cm² ratio!
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    hahah good one
    i get excited and you knock it down
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  7. #7
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    I wonder ...

    Since the DIMM slots are closer to the CPU socket, is the default (or maybe manually adjusted) RTL lower than on a normal size board?
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    watch out for James' writeup
    he's done some interesting RAM testing actually
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  9. #9
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    I've started priming about 2.5 hours ago with 4.4GHz bumped it to 4.5 at hour mark and 4.6GHz at 1.5hour mark

    I just bumped it to 4.7GHz and it's still going

    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    263
    That's nuts! Has this board been released yet?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    should be coming out in the next coupe of weeks
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    Posts
    423
    Gigabyte made a mini-ITX board? OMG!

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    hahha

    i was pushing this MSI Hawk 5770 last night....really nice little card and doesnt clock too bad on air cooling either

    here are the max clocks i could get out of the setup

    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  14. #14
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    5.2GHz+ validation easy eeeek

    im sure if i tried some more i could stick that 5250 i had maybe even 5300 crazy stuff

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1232057

    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    5247MHz ahhaahaha

    i dont want to push more volts .... dont want to kill the chip yet lol


    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1232075
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    Damn it, looks like my next 'must have' buy but mine will have a far easier life playing back blooorays

    Its amazing how good Gigabyte boards are these days but to torture a poor little m-itx like that dinos is just sadistic
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  17. #17
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    i'm amazed that a mini-ITX was capable of this. gigabyte sure raised the bar in this form factor. now only if the performance per area ratio could be projected onto the SR-2 board
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  18. #18
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by alpha0ne View Post
    Damn it, looks like my next 'must have' buy but mine will have a far easier life playing back blooorays

    Its amazing how good Gigabyte boards are these days but to torture a poor little m-itx like that dinos is just sadistic
    oh im not done yet man

    second test unlocked 875K

    and then if all alive still LN2 with 655K
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,963
    Dino,try with F3 BIOS.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  20. #20
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,765
    crazy results man

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    79
    Sick!! going to buy this board as soon as we get it in stock at work :-)

  22. #22
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by stasio View Post
    Dino,try with F3 BIOS.
    no need everything works fine
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    614
    Ooh yah
    Now please be around 100. Probably more like ~140.
    Modded Cosmos. | Maximus II Formula. Bios 1307| 2x2 Mushkin XP ASCENT 8500 | Q9550-E0- 4.10 + TRUE | Visiontek HD4870X2 | LN32A550 1920x1080 | X-FI Extreme Gamer | Z5300E | G15v.1 | G7 | MX518 | Corsair HX1000 | X25-MG2 80G | 5xHDD
    ____________________________________
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    most people dont care about opencl, physix, folding at home and direct compute... they want cool explosions and things blowing up and boobs jumping around realistically... .

  24. #24
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Looks fun dino.

    I think you need to try out a 5970 in there
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    30
    Have you tried max BCLK on this little board?


Page 1 of 11 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •