Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 215

Thread: KILL your i7 980X AT ONCE (and RMA it)...

  1. #1
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743

    Lightbulb KILL your i7 980X AT ONCE (and RMA it)...

    Well yes - you read it well!......

    An EASY way to KILL your i7 980X cpu is VERY SIMPLE... and


    IF your cpu sucks under LN2 or so, an EASY way to kill it is the following:

    Power up you mobo (it doesn't matter what mobo you have)
    Go into cpu features
    Disable Hyper Threading.
    Select 2 Cores for slow die
    OR
    Select 1 Core for FAST die
    Save and exit and.........you're ready - No overclock no nothing -


    Here's my story:
    I had a decent i7 980 Cpu, benching Vantage ~5900MHz
    I putted on the GIGABYTE UD7 mobo
    I was playing OK UNTIL I tested the Super-Pi 1M
    Disable HT
    Test 1M
    Disable 4 cores and I left only the 2 of them
    Playing 1M OK
    Playing and fooling around with 2 cores for a couple of sessions
    OK
    ENABLE ALL cores and HT
    NO Windows at 5800MHz which was EASY before
    NO Windows at 5600MHz
    NO Windows at 5400MHz
    NO Windows at 4000MHz
    Booted into Windows with full cores and HT at DEFAULTS = NO GO

    I said f(l)uck!...The cpu degraded THAT FAST....


    NO

    Another Cpu on EVGA
    Decent one too

    Playing, testing it and fooling around with full cores and HT and LN2 = OK
    Next day I had no LN2 to play with so I did some testing on air with DEFAULT EVERYTHING
    Testing Super-Pi with 2 cores = OK
    I then go into bios and pick ONLY ONE CPU Core with No HT.
    Save and exit.
    Boots and freezes
    Pressing Reset
    NO BOOT

    CPU = DEAD!....


    I then call to a friend of mine who is on air and he doesn't Overclock at all.
    I go to him
    Get into bios and disable HT and pick one core
    Did you do it?
    Yes?
    OK - Now save and exit -
    OK

    ........

    ........

    George it doesn't booting!....

    I go - clear c-mos and retry.

    George no go, what happened? you killed my cpu?

    Am I at your home? How could I kill your cpu?.....

    SHI(f)t!!!


    So if Intel hasn't predicted such behaviours, RMA THE BIATCHES guys.....

    DEFAULT with ONE core enable and no HT = DEAD.....

    RMA - Period



    I suggest to the motherboard manufactures to leave into their bioses ONLY the option of the Hyper Threading and REMOVE the option form the core's selectance with a bios update.




    .
    Last edited by hipro5; 05-28-2010 at 04:37 AM.
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Prestonsburg, KY
    Posts
    545
    WOW that's good info to know. What could be the issue behind this?


  3. #3
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743
    The issue is that I had a decent cpu to bench with and now I have a dead one - that's the issue as for me -

    The rest I'm leaving it to Intel to figure it our OR to someone of you who wants to "experiment"....
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Krypton, Hawaii
    Posts
    363
    wow, think I will pass on the murder. thx for sharing dude.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    182
    lol @ killing your friends CPU over the phone. slack :P

  6. #6
    k|ngp|n/Sham my brothers
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Athens---Hellas
    Posts
    5,743
    Quote Originally Posted by [200] View Post
    lol @ killing your friends CPU over the phone. slack :P
    Yea!.........I'm HOT......
    INTEL PWA FOR EVER

    Dr. Who my arss...

    .........



  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    Yea!.........I'm HOT......
    Hahahahahahahahaha I laughed SO hard hhahaha
    Thanks for sharing George

    I can only imagine your friend's reaction... Talking with you over the phone and suddenly dead CPU
    Last edited by George_o/c; 05-28-2010 at 04:53 AM.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Prestonsburg, KY
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    The issue is that I had a decent cpu to bench with and now I have a dead one - that's the issue as for me -

    The rest I'm leaving it to Intel to figure it our OR to someone of you who wants to "experiment"....
    Loosing a good CPU is a BIG issue. Here's to hoping they send you a 6.3ghz Vantage CPU from RMA


  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    223
    wow, that's....messed up :o
    System 1 (mine):
    CPU: i7 920 D0 stable at 4.0 GHz cooled by Scythe Mugen 2000
    GPU: PowerColor HD5850 (950/1250 1.2V)
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 Memory: 6GB DDR3 GeiL @ 1528 MHz
    System 2 (gf's):
    CPU: i7 920 D0 currently at 4.2 GHz cooled by Noctua NH-D14 (needs more tweaking/testing)
    GPU: Club3D HD5850 (awaiting OC)
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R Memory: 6GB DDR3 Corsair @ 1600 MHz

  10. #10
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by hipro5 View Post
    George no go, what happened? you killed my cpu?

    Am I at your home? How could I kill your cpu?.....
    Classic
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,619
    Simply too beastly of a CPU to allow running at 1 core 1 thread

    It takes itself out of the game to punish you.
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  12. #12
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,334
    I ain't trying that, actually I would, but that cr*ppy 980X ES is the only LGA1366 chip I have now, and I need it to review some stuff.

    On a sidenote, for the brave ones ( hehe ) if you disable the cores from Windows ( mcsonfig ) does the same thing happen ?
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  13. #13
    PI in the face
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3,081
    Ive run 2cores a ton of time, what was the batch?
    Quote Originally Posted by L0ud View Post
    So many opinions and so few screenshots

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Estonia, Tallinn
    Posts
    207
    Very COOL! Now I know why my 980X ES died after that i did some super pii with one core...
    Thanks Hipro5!

  15. #15
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    woah that's crazy, i've tried as low as 2 cores on i7 980X ES but not 1 ... not going to try for now - would be interesting to find out the cause of this though!
    ---

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,904
    Hmm, Intel makes us to stop overclocking its cpus

    Intel Q9650 @500x9MHz/1,3V
    Asus Maximus II Formula @Performance Level=7
    OCZ OCZ2B1200LV4GK 4x2GB @1200MHz/5-5-5-15/1,8V
    OCZ SSD Vertex 3 120Gb
    Seagate RAID0 2x ST1000DM003
    XFX HD7970 3GB @1111MHz
    Thermaltake Xaser VI BWS
    Seasonic Platinum SS-1000XP
    M-Audio Audiophile 192
    LG W2486L
    Liquid Cooling System :
    ThermoChill PA120.3 + Coolgate 4x120
    Swiftech Apogee XT, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX Northbridge
    Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 79X0 Ni-Bl + HeatKiller GPU Backplate 79X0
    Laing 12V DDC-1Plus with XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top
    3x Scythe S-FLEX "F", 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon "15", Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5,25''

    Apple MacBook Pro 17` Early 2011:
    CPU: Sandy Bridge Intel Core i7 2720QM
    RAM: Crucial 2x4GB DDR3 1333
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD
    HDD: ADATA Nobility NH13 1GB White
    OS: Mac OS X Mavericks

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    44
    This issue apply only for 980x of other i7s too? I'm running 4 cores HT OFF underclocked, webrowsing, office work. I'm sure some people are using 2 cores when downloading files or something.

    Thank you George for the info. Hope you have no problems with RMA.
    DFI UT X58-T3eH8 bios 08/09/10 * i7 920 d0 batch 3847A 4Ghz@1v * Kingstone HyperX 3x2GB 1866Mhz * 26" Hazro HZ26WSi * ATI FirePRO 3D V4800 * Corsair TX650W * WD Caviar Black 1TB * LG BH08LS20 * MS Sidewinder X8/X6 * Audio Technica ATH-AD700 * Slackware 13.64/windows 7.x64. WC: Enzotech Sapphire,Swiftech MCW-30,Thermochill PA120.3,XSPC Dual Res.Pump. FOTO * Dell Precision M4400

  18. #18
    Xtreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,559
    Good Finding Hipro and thnks for the heads up , sh*t this new cpus are dying an at alarming rate :/ , ouch. They last only a couple of sessions or just looking at them wrong lol and they die , $1099US Dollars a pop its no fun .

  19. #19
    Back from the Dead
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    6,595
    Holy motherf... good thing I never disable Cores. Got a 980X sitting on a P6T Deluxe V2 next to me.
    I WON'T try it though

    Insane find George.. I do hope they fix this issue, whatever the hell it is.
    World Community Grid - come join a great team and help us fight for a better tomorrow![size=1]


  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    10
    Kill processor that easy, priceless.

    Thanks for sharing.

  21. #21
    Wpprriimmee crrraaazzzyyy
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,801
    Thanks for sharing. Will forget about disabling cores for now.
    Heatware



    Custom SS unit by Gray Mole, Sdumper Cascade, K|ngp|n F1 Gemnni, TEK9 Fatboy, TEK9 Slim, NB-1, H2O stuff...
    Celeron 347, Celeron 356, Celeron 420, 2x P4 631, P4 670, P4 640, P4 651, P4 524, PD 915, P4 540J, 2x P4 530J, P4 520J Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2-8500 2x Asus REX X48, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P rev 1.0, Asus Commando P965,
    Stuff I used to have:
    Asus RIIIE X58, Evga Classified P55, Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR, i5 670, E8600, Q9650, Q9550, , 3x2GB Mushkin Redline 2000C8,, G.Skill 2x2GB PC9600(Silver), Evga Evbot
    XFX 4770 modded, XFX 7950GT, XFX 6600GT, Evga 8600GTS 512MB, 3850 OC, 4x 3870s, and X600

    "In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant." - James Stewart

  22. #22
    Xtremely Bad Overclocker
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Blue
    Posts
    3,660
    very strange (but somehow funny) story georgie
    I tested my Q3QP a zillion times with only 2 cores NO HT (actually under air all the time and DICE also mostly) and never remarked any kind of degrading since ~8 months now. I never tested 1 core only and will not test it for sure now Thanks for the heads up - hope Intel or somebody can figure it out!
    | '12 IvyBridge - "ticks different"... | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round I by SoF | AwardFabrik IvyBridge round II by angoholic & stummerwinter
    | '11 The SandyBridge madness... | AwardFabrik / Team LDK OC-Season 2011/2012 Opening Event
    | '10 Gulftown LaunchDay OC round up @ASUS RIIE | 3DM05 2x GPU WR LIVE @Cebit 2010 @ASUS MIIIE | SandyBridge arrived @ASUS P8P67

    | '09 Foxconn Avenger | E8600 | Foxconn A79A-S | Phenom II 940 BE | LaunchDay Phenom II OC round up
    | '08 7.438s 1m LN2 | AMD 1m WR LN2 | 2nd AOCM | Phenom II teasing
    | '07 100% E2140 | 106.5% E2160 | 100% E4500 | 103% E4400 | 5508 MHZ E6850 | 7250 MHZ P4 641 126.5% by SoF and AwardFabrik Crew all on Gigabyte DS3P c? and LN2...
    | '06 3800+ X2 Manchester 0531TPEW noHS 3201MHZ c? | 3200+ Venice noHS 3279MHZ c? | Opteron 148 0536CABYE 3405MHZ c? all on Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI compressorcooled

    | '05 3500+[NC], 3000+[W], 2x 3200+[W], 3500+[NC], 3200+[V] 0516GPDW

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    sof pulled a fermi on all of us !!!

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Estonia, Tallinn
    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by ..::G80::.. View Post
    Very COOL! Now I know why my 980X ES died after that i did some super pii with one core...
    Thanks Hipro5!
    I used gigabyte-X58-UD7
    And after 1 core 5500MHz no HT super pii (SS).
    This gulf did one Vantage with 6 cores and HT but then...
    But it still works with 1core and no HT!!!

  24. #24
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2,443
    what bios version was that georgie? there was a microcode update about some weeks ago which Intel seemed really urgent to issue out, maybe this was why

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    917
    Too bad we can't all easily RMA ES CPU's

    Thanks for the heads up!

Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •