Page 40 of 54 FirstFirst ... 303738394041424350 ... LastLast
Results 976 to 1,000 of 1343

Thread: ASUS AMD Beta BIOS Releases

  1. #976
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    I got a M4N82 Deluxe to the side I got from a buddy last summer for building him a new am3 system.

    He gave it to me because his computer fell over, from a table to the floor and his drive bay wasn't attached to anything, it ripped 2 of the sata ports out of the board, leaving the pins.
    He still had the plastic cover for it.
    I did some reasearch the next day, seemed like a decent board.
    I called him up, asked if I could come over and get that cover, thinking I'll carefully slide it back on, he told me he tossed it :\.
    Not sure if I should pull the pins or rma the board.

    Board is working though, I know it posts fine and the other sata ports work.

    I'm looking at asus'es site right now, newest bios: 2010/12/16 ^^.
    Actually it looks like this board is updated alot....
    Surprised me when I noticed it supports the 6 core cpu's (might come in handy if my mem comes back and my setup is still not stable...).

    I think if you can get your point across, they will fix the probs you have with the bios.
    It appears to me that they are still supporting some of these older boards.

    And when I say old boards, I mean am2.
    Try looking for good ddr2 mem on newegg, 99% of it is gone.
    I sure as heck wouldn't want to go looking for some decent ddr2 right now...
    That's why I say, these am2's are old.
    It's hard to get good mem for them now.

    Right now ddr3 is in it's prime, lots of good stuff.
    The 1 gig sticks are getting to hard to find, but 2gig sticks are half the price that they were last summer.
    And they aren't your 1333mhz 8 timing bs either, you can can get some decent stuff for reasonable price.

    I don't see bingo around this thread much anymore though.
    I kinda wish that the engineers would appear in the thread as well to help out.

    Now if they can continuesly update a nvidia board, which is is a very very old chipset regardless of what it's labled.
    Then there is no reason why a 790fx shouldn't be supported...

    But after a year and a half, these board's, the supports goes downhill.
    That's the way it is with all brands.
    You might get a small update that supports a new cpu, but the usability of that update well, ^^...

    One more year and the ch4's will be in the same boat.
    Might even be quicker if the am3+ boards come out and the cpu's.
    Then we can all say bye bye to good bios updates for these...
    I doubt they will support the am3+ cpu's if there ends up being a 192 or 256bit mem controller.
    I knew that though, I just wanted a good board to go with a decent 6 core cpu.

    Bah, now I'm rambling...

  2. #977
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,121
    Sorry about the delay, about half of us came down with the flu after CES, not a good time last week. I spoke with the lead engineer on the C4F this morning and he will have the BIOS change log and technical descriptions for the new voltage options tomorrow. We also expect additional BIOS releases this week on the AMD side.

  3. #978
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    893
    Hey bingo, thanks for the update. Curious to know: Does the new C4F beta allow booting from PCIe?
    [XC] gomeler - Public note: If you PM me to tell me that I am disrespectful at least have space in your PM box so I can tell you I don't care.

    [XC] gomeler - I come to the news section to ban people, not read complaints.

    I heart gomeler!

  4. #979
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    bingo13
    Some news on M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 on ATI+NVIDIA cards working together, please
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

  5. #980
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,804
    good news Bingo.
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  6. #981
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Potosi, Missouri
    Posts
    2,296
    Quote Originally Posted by hokiealumnus View Post
    Hey bingo, thanks for the update. Curious to know: Does the new C4F beta allow booting from PCIe?
    The C4F already has this capability. There are issues depending on what is being used but there are also workarounds.

  7. #982
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    1,121
    Quick Overview of Critical 1304 BIOS Settings -
    PWM Phase Control:
    - This option allows user to choose whether or not the CPU VRM power phases should change dynamically with respect to the change of CPU load. This option along with CPU and CPU/NB LLC will allow the user to fine tune the PWM and CPU voltages for improved overclocking or limiting voltage overshoots during overclocking.

    CPU Voltage OCP:
    - This option allows the user to disable the “Over Current Protection” of the CPU. Enabling this option may allow the CPU to consume more current than the safety range defined by AMD, but might assist in high overclocks, especially under extreme cooling. Please treat this option with extreme care to prevent permanent damage to the CPU.

    CPU PWM Frequency:
    - This option allows user to override the switching frequency of the CPU PWM controller. Raising this option may assist in ensuring power delivery is more stable under overclocking conditions but with the cost of higher operating temperatures of the CPU PWM controller.

    CPU Load-Line Calibration:
    - This option allows user to decide whether or not the motherboard should lower the CPU Vcore as the current consumption of the CPU voltage raises to meet the CPU load-line spec defined by AMD. Users can now choose other levels of Load-Line Calibration in the 1304 BIOS to lower the amount of voltage the Vcore is raised up to or over normal load line voltages as CPU loading increases. Most air/water overclocks should use 50~75% levels for maximum clocks along with tuning of the VRM options. Due to the design of the AMD Phenom series, realize that certain voltage overshoots will be present in Core 0.

    CPU/NB Load-Line Calibration:
    - This option allows user to decide whether or not the motherboard should lower the CPU/NB voltage as the current consumption of the CPU/NB voltage raises to meet the CPU load-line spec defined by AMD. Users can now choose other levels of Load-Line Calibration in the 1304 BIOS to lower the amount of voltage that CPU/NB is raised up to or over normal load line voltages as the CPU/NB loading increases.

    CPU/NB Voltage OCP:
    - This option allows user to disable the “Over Current Protection” of the CPU/NB (i.e. the memory controller). Enabling this option may allow the CPU/NB to consume more current than the safety range defined by AMD. Please treat this option with extreme care to prevent permanent damage to the CPU.

    Working on a tuning guide with a retail 1100T now.

  8. #983
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    893
    Thanks for the detailed notes bingo!

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    The C4F already has this capability. There are issues depending on what is being used but there are also workarounds.
    Thank you for that; indeed it did boot fine.
    [XC] gomeler - Public note: If you PM me to tell me that I am disrespectful at least have space in your PM box so I can tell you I don't care.

    [XC] gomeler - I come to the news section to ban people, not read complaints.

    I heart gomeler!

  9. #984
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    I'm a bit confused about what you said bingo.

    OCP, when this is enabled does it mean that "Over Current Protection" is enabled?
    Because they way you wrote it, it makes me think it's the oppiset.

    Other ?.
    Load-Line Calibration.
    So if we disable this, it means we get more stable voltage if the amp draw increases?
    I thaught enabling it did that....

    I'm not trying to confuse everyone.
    I just want some clear answers lol.

    I got one more.
    Note my board is offline for the moment, waiting for mem.
    If I jack the pwm freq all the way up, as long as I'm actively cooling the pwm it will be ok right?
    (edit: does pwm freq effect more then cpu vcore pwm speed?, like cpu-nb pwm...)

    ;;;;;;;

    This ? goes to anyone with the know how...

    Has anyone messed up one of these x6's by up'ing there cpu-nb voltages to high?

  10. #985
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    506
    thx bingo for that.

    i can only assume then that OCP enable means just that, leave the protection enabled (default settings)?

    can i assume also that motherboard/system temp is the PWM temp? i haven't seen this raise much by setting 500KHZ (maybe 1-2c during load). i do have a low rpm fan blowing from top, but it isnt doing too much due to the way my case is layed out, but it is getting some airflow (i have a fan blowing straight on the nb area).

    so far testing on the bios seems good. LLC set to full calibration. i was able to lower voltages a small bit. seems not to waiver as much as the previous. ref. clock sways as it did with the previous.

    clock: 4g, NB: 3g, HT: 2g.
    Last edited by pershoot; 01-19-2011 at 09:16 AM.
    Testing-
    ---
    DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH - 1/16 Beta
    ---
    Phenom II X4 940 (CACVC AC 0850BPDW), 3.82GHZ (19x201) @ 1.46v (+150mv), NB: 2.61GHZ (x13) @ 1.3375v (11), HT: 2.61GHZ, PCI-E: 101MHZ, CPU: P-1 state
    ---
    OCZ Reaper, 2x2GB @ 2.015v, MaxMemClk-1066-5-5-5-15-20-195x4, DDR2-536, Tony's 1066 Phenom SPD
    ---
    Corsair HX620, Swiftech 2xMCR120-QP + MCRES-Micro, MCP-655, Vortex XP (D-tek Fuzion v1), 1/2"

  11. #986
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,804
    thx bingo!
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  12. #987
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by NEOAethyr View Post
    I'm a bit confused about what you said bingo.

    OCP, when this is enabled does it mean that "Over Current Protection" is enabled?
    Because they way you wrote it, it makes me think it's the oppiset.

    Other ?.
    Load-Line Calibration.
    So if we disable this, it means we get more stable voltage if the amp draw increases?
    I thaught enabling it did that....

    I'm not trying to confuse everyone.
    I just want some clear answers lol.

    I got one more.
    Note my board is offline for the moment, waiting for mem.
    If I jack the pwm freq all the way up, as long as I'm actively cooling the pwm it will be ok right?
    (edit: does pwm freq effect more then cpu vcore pwm speed?, like cpu-nb pwm...)

    ;;;;;;;

    This ? goes to anyone with the know how...

    Has anyone messed up one of these x6's by up'ing there cpu-nb voltages to high?
    OCP DISABLED disables Overcurrent protection.

    Most common place that you would run into OCP is on ln2 running say wprime 1024m.

    Symptoms of OCP is a complete powerdown where board will not fire back up without the PSU being cycled on and off.

    If you think OCP is kicking in on air/water/phase/DI you are surely mistaken, it takes over 6 gig all cores loaded to trigger OCP in my experience.

    I highly suggest if you do not experience these symptoms that you do not disable OCP.......OCP protects your hardware.

    Commonly people hard mod boards and or video cards for this, in fact I originally requested a mod only after speaking with some reviewers who tested on ln2 however ASUS chose to do it via bios.

    In most cases overclockers will not notice OCP on air/water/phase/DI.

    Yes it is very easy to mess up an X6 with excessive cpu_nb volts.

    I reccomend for safety no more than 1.35 on air......

    LLC enabled is out of SPEC for AMD cpu's, intel for that matter to. Use it with caution, its always better to have a little droop than none at all.

    I have experimented with the PWM frequency on cold and normal temps, I really saw no major gains and reccomend auto for most users.

    My personal reccomendations for 24/7 users is 50% core only LLC and leave the rest auto only on thuban, its not needed for deneb.

    My personal reccomendation for ln2 users is 100% llc cpu, 50% llc CPU_NB and OCP disabled for NB and CPU, if you must for whatever reason feel the need for PWM run 500K while on ln2...............
    Last edited by chew*; 01-19-2011 at 04:10 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  13. #988
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    LLC enabled is out of SPEC for AMD cpu's, intel for that matter to. Use it with caution, its always better to have a little droop than none at all.
    I'm guessing the DMM had shown volt spikes? I'd rather be able to run a lower voltage at idle and a slightly higher voltage when my CPU needs it but if LLC is dangerous in any way I'll disable it...(which will really hurt my OC)
    Smile

  14. #989
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Nor*cal
    Posts
    351
    LLC just bumps the voltage up (effect, I don't really know how does it calculate how much), so if you are going balls to the wall to begin with...

  15. #990
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    952
    Thanks Chew for the quick guide there..will try these soon.

  16. #991
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    I'm guessing the DMM had shown volt spikes? I'd rather be able to run a lower voltage at idle and a slightly higher voltage when my CPU needs it but if LLC is dangerous in any way I'll disable it...(which will really hurt my OC)
    Its out of spec but in this particular boards case it's kind of a necessity with thuban, the voltage regulation just dips to much.

    50% LLC kinda puts the board in a more normal droop state, I found 100% to overshoot more than my liking at least in air/water load situations.

    LLC doesn't just bump the voltage in general, it tends to bump it up on demand aka Load, thus the name Load Line Calibration.
    Last edited by chew*; 01-19-2011 at 08:23 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  17. #992
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion, USA
    Posts
    2,513
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    If you think OCP is kicking in on air/water/phase/DI you are surely mistaken, it takes over 6 gig all cores loaded to trigger OCP in my experience.

    I highly suggest if you do not experience these symptoms that you do not disable OCP.......OCP protects your hardware.........
    Thanks for your insight chew*.

    I don't claim to have alot of knowledge conserning electrical properties, but with my brief testing with 1304 it does seem to run more stable with OCP disabled on the CPU...

    I'm not pushing crazy voltages (~1.45 core/1.265 IMC (OCP enabled on IMC)), and I only take the clocks to where they stop scaling.

    Do you really think I'm risking damage to my chip just by disabling OCP without pushing crazy v's?

    Like I said my knowledge of electronics is limited, but as long as I'm being sane with my OC/voltages, current shouldn't be a problem, should it?

    I'm not questioning your skills, just asking for clarification....
    Last edited by Daveburt714; 01-20-2011 at 10:48 AM.
    AMD FX-8350 (1237 PGN) | Asus Crosshair V Formula (bios 1703) | G.Skill 2133 CL9 @ 2230 9-11-10 | Sapphire HD 6870 | Samsung 830 128Gb SSD / 2 WD 1Tb Black SATA3 storage | Corsair TX750 PSU
    Watercooled ST 120.3 & TC 120.1 / MCP35X XSPC Top / Apogee HD Block | WIN7 64 Bit HP | Corsair 800D Obsidian Case








    First Computer: Commodore Vic 20 (circa 1981).

  18. #993
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,804
    chew, think, do u mean 1.35V CPU/NB V for 24/7, right? Thx.
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  19. #994
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    bingo13
    Don't know, if it already found/reported, but there is bug in 1606/1703 bioses for M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 motherboard: if 8 GB (4x2 GB) RAM installed and chipset SATA controller disabled, Windows 2008 R2 setup/boot stops with BSOD with such text
    The bios in this system is not fully ACPI compliant. Please contact your system vendor for an updated bios.
    Technical information:
    *** STOP: 0x000000A5 (0x00000000001000, 0x0000000000000000, 0x00000000FFFFFFFF, 0x0000000000000200).
    With only one memory stick, or chipset controller enabled, bug doesn't appear
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

  20. #995
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    PWM on auto disabled CPU OCP

    System rebooted almost immediately on 50% Load Line Calibration when running Prime95.
    ASUS BULLDOZER 990FX BIOS 0813
    BULLDOZER FX8150 @ 4.7ghz water cooled
    2 x G.Skill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD(16gig) @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28-40-CR1 @1.65v
    PSU Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1200watt
    2xATI 5870 Crossfired
    Corsair Force Series 3 120gb SSD 3x1 terabyte Seagate Barracuda HD's

  21. #996
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    So ? you need to up the Vcore. Don't see the problem...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  22. #997
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    There is no problem, with LLC on full the system completed 27.5 hrs prime95 testing max temp 47c.

    vcore is on 1.425v
    CPU/NB on 1.17

    I would rather keep the vcore low and let the LLC handle the voltage.
    ASUS BULLDOZER 990FX BIOS 0813
    BULLDOZER FX8150 @ 4.7ghz water cooled
    2 x G.Skill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD(16gig) @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28-40-CR1 @1.65v
    PSU Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1200watt
    2xATI 5870 Crossfired
    Corsair Force Series 3 120gb SSD 3x1 terabyte Seagate Barracuda HD's

  23. #998
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by Daveburt714 View Post
    Thanks for your insight chew*.

    I don't claim to have alot of knowledge conserning electrical properties, but with my brief testing with 1304 it does seem to run more stable with OCP disabled on the CPU...

    I'm not pushing crazy voltages (~1.45 core/1.265 IMC (OCP enabled on IMC)), and I only take the clocks to where they stop scaling.

    Do you really think I'm risking damage to my chip just by disabling OCP without pushing crazy v's?

    Like I said my knowledge of electronics is limited, but as long as I'm being sane with my OC/voltages, current shouldn't be a problem, should it?

    I'm not questioning your skills, just asking for clarification....

    OCP disabled on air/water making things more stable honestly in my opinion is more placebo effect.

    This is the way OCP works.......lets take a hypothetical number.

    Lets say the current OCP kicks in at 150 amps draw.......that would be equivalent to about a 400 watt draw just from the socket which i doubt anyone is hitting even on DI.......

    unless you exceed that draw and the board shuts off completely.........not a crash that allows you to reboot. A hard power down with no response from power or reset buttons........only then is OCP effecting you. At that point you would have to cycle PSU on and off just to get board to post again.

    That is how OCP works, it doesn't make an overclock air/water OC more stable, what it allows is you to possibly damage CPU or board by drawing what would be deemed unsafe amount of current thus the reason there is an OCP limit to begin with.

    The current OCP limit without it disabled kicks in about 6gig in wprime 1024 with a 600 watt draw from the socket which if my killawatt still worked I could give you an amperage draw number however i broke it.

    As for LLC 100% versus 50%.......well obviously you will need to use a higher vcore with 50% llc but the droop is at least still in the safe zone where no droop can cause permanent damage.
    Last edited by chew*; 01-20-2011 at 11:42 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #999
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    What do you mean no droop can cause damage?

    You disable llc for the cpu, like in the older bios even, and voltage level's are lower.
    But there is less flutuation.
    You mean to say this can damage the cpu in some way? (even at lower levels?)

    I ran my board like that for 2 days.... :|
    And that was RIGHT around the time my setup started to act up...
    Pretty darn close, 48hrs within the time my setup was acting up "I think".
    If not maybe 2 weeks absolute tops, but still close to the time my system became completely unstable.

    I can understand the 50%.
    With it you could keep a halfway low vcore level, and the droop would be less then 100%.

    Am I making any sense lol?

    What's wrong with say disabling llc completely, and just upping the vcore until it's stable again?, that will damage the cpu somehow?
    I hope not...

    From my experience it seems I needed more vcore with it disabled.
    But it fluctuated less, some things acted a bit better but alot of stuff acted like my vcore was to low.
    Since it was easier to get things running stable at lower voltages with it enabled I switched back.
    Last edited by NEOAethyr; 01-20-2011 at 12:29 PM.

  25. #1000
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    If I were to disable LLC on my board since there is no 50% I'd be looking at 1.565v idle and 1.51v ish load for 4.3...that is 3D/game stable...LLC on I can set 1.481v and get 1.51v load...
    Smile

Page 40 of 54 FirstFirst ... 303738394041424350 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •