X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 282

Thread: Hackintosh

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41

    Hackintosh

    Hey fairly new to the forum so sorry if this isn't allowed I didn't find a rule against it. Anyway I am looking to install os x on my system. If it us garunteed to work on a i7 920 with a 5870 I will happily buy a legitimate copy of it. Does the disk that comes with the mbp work? My specs are:
    i7 920
    5870
    evga e760 classy
    vertex turbo
    two f3 1tb
    pioneer blu Ray
    Anyone seen a good guide to install it an know if it's possible?
    Thanks for any help and please delete this if it's not allowed.

  2. #2
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    honestly this isn't the best forum for that question. Head over to insanelymac forum, you will have MANY resources at your disposal over there. http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/

    i've messed around with a few hackintosh installs and they're not always as awesome as you might think. A good one is really great but very hard to come by. Good luck and have fun!
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    arent hackintosh considered ilegal anyway .... because its against mac's eula thus against this very own forum tos ??

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Yer but who cares if I pay for it I should be able to do whatever I want with it

  5. #5
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,551
    Go buy a liscence off amazon for $30 so you can "legally" do it.

    With more EFI coming out (thanks MSI), installing it shouldn't be as difficult in the past.

    If you need any help, message me. I got OSX running on an MSI k9a2 plat (AMD board) smooth as silk.
    You must [not] advance.


    Current Rig: i7 4790k @ stock (**** TIM!) , Zotac GTX 1080 WC'd 2214mhz core / 5528mhz Mem, Asus z-97 Deluxe

    Heatware

  6. #6
    Xτræmε ÇruñcheΓ
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Molvanîa
    Posts
    2,849
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Synthetickiller View Post
    Go buy a liscence off amazon for $30 so you can "legally" do it.
    far from the truth
    i7 2700k 4.60ghz -- Z68XP-UD4 F6F -- Ripjaws 2x4gb 1600mhz -- 560 Ti 448 stock!? -- Liquid Cooling Apogee XT -- Claro+ ATH-M50s -- U2711 2560x1440
    Majestouch 87 Blue -- Choc Mini Brown -- Poker Red -- MX11900 -- G9

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,214
    its not illegal.

    This 1984 Federal Court Ruling, http://caselaw.lp.findlaw.com/cgi-bi...friend=nytimes, specifically makes it illegal for a company to force their users to install the OS on specific hardware.
    Pentium 4 3.2E (SL7PN E0) @ 4246.46 MHz (265.4 * 16) 1.48cvore
    Intel Core i7 4930k@ Stock (Still testing) - ASUS Rampage IV Black - 16GB (4 x 4gb) GSkill TridentX@ Stock - MSI Lightning 290X 4GB - Creative Titanium HD - 2 x Cruicial m4 256GB SSD (RAID0) - Corsair AX1200I
    Phase unit by runmc @ full load -33
    H2O Loop - EX X3 400 Res>MCP655 modded>MCR320-XP>MCR320-XP>EK-FC R9-290X Lightning - Acetal+Nickel

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,781
    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewZorn View Post
    far from the truth
    the requirement is u buy the OS and have an apple branded computer, apple dosnt have to make it to have it apple branded put a sticker on it and u have an apple branded. now u could not sell that unless apple says that u can but i dont think that they care about people using good hardware and osX as they do not offer that and their core customers would not want and im guessing generally could not do that.


    maybe they will change the TOS but they cannot change the TOS to tell u that u cannot do something that u previously could in most places like the US and EU.

    i would recommend getting the usb header based EFI emulator and then it will just install
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  9. #9
    Xτræmε ÇruñcheΓ
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Molvanîa
    Posts
    2,849
    i didnt say i wouldnt do it, but do not convince yourself that it is legal (ESPECIALLY while wasting $30)
    i7 2700k 4.60ghz -- Z68XP-UD4 F6F -- Ripjaws 2x4gb 1600mhz -- 560 Ti 448 stock!? -- Liquid Cooling Apogee XT -- Claro+ ATH-M50s -- U2711 2560x1440
    Majestouch 87 Blue -- Choc Mini Brown -- Poker Red -- MX11900 -- G9

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,214
    Again it is legal, check my previous post.
    Pentium 4 3.2E (SL7PN E0) @ 4246.46 MHz (265.4 * 16) 1.48cvore
    Intel Core i7 4930k@ Stock (Still testing) - ASUS Rampage IV Black - 16GB (4 x 4gb) GSkill TridentX@ Stock - MSI Lightning 290X 4GB - Creative Titanium HD - 2 x Cruicial m4 256GB SSD (RAID0) - Corsair AX1200I
    Phase unit by runmc @ full load -33
    H2O Loop - EX X3 400 Res>MCP655 modded>MCR320-XP>MCR320-XP>EK-FC R9-290X Lightning - Acetal+Nickel

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Ok well I'm in Australia so I can't buy off amazon. Can anyone tell me exactly how to do it and anyone tell me if it will or won't work.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    I've recently built 3 i7 Hacks w/ retail installs meaning the extensions folder is left untouched for easy updating. Compatibility wise Gigabyte boards are the best for this and usually Nvidia cards are preferred. Your 5 series card is not supported, maybe in 10.6.4 and you'll need to figure out what Ethernet controller and audio is used on your board. You can PM if you want more details.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Ok is there anyway to get 5870 working? My motherboard is supposed to work. It's an evga x58 classified e760.
    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    I don't think so. You can change res. w/ "Graphics Mode" but you won't have QE/CI working. Supposedly when 10.6.4 comes it might have support. Nothing from netkas is out for ATI 5xxx. Best bet is to purchase a cheap 9-series or 8-series. They work w/ no problems.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Ok thanks I'll see how cheap I can get one. Is it possible to have both plugged in and use one for mac and one for windows?

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    14
    I don't know if having one supported and one unsupported works or not. I do know having two different supported cards do work. You can try. I believe you have to change "init display" to PEG or PEG2. I just got done building an i7 860, 8gb Corsair, GTX 260 w/ DSDT and everything works perfect using iBoot and Multibeast.

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    I'll give it a shot in sure it's fairly cheap to get a second hand 8800 or sumthin

  18. #18
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    320
    I've been running one for about 4 years now. Most recently its a gigabyte based i7 @ 4.2ghz with Intel SSD.... amazing

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    152
    I'm running now 930 ,ud5 , gtx 280, x25m. Totally vanilla without any problems.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    311
    I've installed Snow Leopard on Gigabyte UD3R (P55) with iBoot and Multibeast. I got everything to work and now I have a triple-boot system, Windows 7 Pro, Kubuntu, and OSX.

    I really don't need OSX. I've installed it so I could learn programming for iPhone but since then I gave up on the idea. I know C++ well but I have no Objective C and Cocoa experience. Too much to learn, not enough time.

    Why do you guys install it? I use Windows for gaming, Linux for school and programming, but OSX? Totally useless in my opinion.

  21. #21
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,551
    Krogen... its a project for me. I just want to play with the OS in case I ever end up working IT in a university. They seem to love macs. Hell if I know why. I also want to learn interfacing between an apple & pc, including remote desktop. Just something else to force me to learn new things. Granted... my new rig will still have win 7 and be a lan box for light gaming.
    You must [not] advance.


    Current Rig: i7 4790k @ stock (**** TIM!) , Zotac GTX 1080 WC'd 2214mhz core / 5528mhz Mem, Asus z-97 Deluxe

    Heatware

  22. #22
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    I might be the only here but I absolutely love using osx. I can't explain it, its just a feeling I suppose.
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  23. #23
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    320
    You're not the only one. I have single boot OSX on my machine and it's simply the best OS out there

  24. #24
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    I might be able to say "best" once gaming matures.
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    41
    Sorry forgot about this thread. So does anyone know how to install on a 5870 or how to put a 8800 in with the 5870 and have the 5870 in windows and the 8800 in osx? I just want it to play around and maybe have a go at programing iPhone.

Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •