Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 245watt tec

245watt tec

can this tec cool my phenom x4 965 for 24/7 use

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/24...tl=g30c105s187

it should be able to depending on your waterblock

waterblock

im buying the neq ek surprme hf plus i have a 3x 120 triple black ice steath rad. with delta fans at 3k rpm

also sould i buy a copper block between or direct die them

yes you need a copper cold plate between the cpu and the TEC, and its better if the cold plate is screwed to the block at quite high pressure.

also im still a noob with teks
    can my 900watt psu with 70amps on the 12v rails work or sould i be buying a meanwell to do this?

depends on how much you already have on the 12v rail

i have just the mobo and the water pump and the ati 4870 and 4 fans also the 2 hdd
    Last edited by Joffen12; 05-26-2010 at 10:50 AM.

Xtreme Member
    That, is actually a 226w Qmax TEC which at 12v is probably closer to 200w, and it would draw about 19A at 12v so no, don't bother trying to use your computer PSU, you'll need a meanwell with some good dedicated wiring 14-16GA stranded copper wire should do the trick. This should really be squished between two copper plates (hot plate and cold plate) with between 150-300 PSI, that is the get the best performance. You'll also need quite a good block and some decent radiators. But to get down to the point since the Phenom x4 965 is a 125w TDP part this won't give you much cooling room, you will quickly run past the limits of the TEC if/when you choose to overclock your system. Remember that Qmax is the highest theoretical amount of heat moved. Therefore depending on the circumstances you should expect probably 10-20w difference based on random variations. So given all those circumstances I wouldn't bother.

Xtreme Enthusiast