Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Hexa-Channel Kit?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528

    Hexa-Channel Kit?

    so i am in the market for RAM. i want to get 12GB DDR3 for a home server.
    i will be doing some VM, exchange etc
    the server is based on a consumer grade motherboard, not a server board

    i saw this kit:
    G.SKILL PI+ Turbulence 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

    say in the description that it supports Hexa-Channel .. Triple Channel x2?
    is this possible? heard of?
    does the board have to support that or will it work automatically?
    is this just for server board?

    would 2 standard Triple Channel kits do the same

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict ExodusC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,545
    I can only assume this is just two triple-channel kits. It's in the same way that many people use two dual-channel kits in DDR2 machines. I've never heard of "quad-channel" or "hexa-channel" RAM.
    Sandy Bridge Build:
    • Intel Core i5-2500K at 4.0GHz (Corsair H80)
    • PNY NVIDIA GTX 570 1280MB
    • Mushkin Silverline 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 RAM
    • OCZ Vertex 60GB & WD Caviar Black 1.5TB HDD
    • 1920x1080 21.5" IPS display (LG IPS226V)
    • MSI P67A-G45 B3 Motherboard
    • Corsair Professional Series HX650W 650W PSU
    • Fractal Design Define R3 (Silver Arrow)

    HP Envy 14:
    • Intel Core i5-450M at 2.4GHz
    • ATI Mobility Radeon 5650 1GB & Intel GMA
    • 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1066 RAM
    • Seagate Momentus 500GB 7200RPM HDD
    • 1600x900 14.5" display

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528
    so it's just marketing bliss?

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528
    bump

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member metalop1g's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    303
    Get your post moved at :

    G.Skill Information and Support
    Official G.Skill Support Forum

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher Musho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    In theory, 6 modules can be run in Hexa channel, so the sticks support it. Thing is: There aren't any platforms which use a Hexa channel memory controller as far as I know. You can use these for an i7 platform just fine, but note you will end up with tripple channel, as that's the maximum amount of channels the memory controller on i7 supports. All 12gb will be usable though, of course (if you are using a 64bit OS).

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by metalop1g View Post
    Get your post moved at :

    G.Skill Information and Support
    Official G.Skill Support Forum
    would make sense for my particular case but it's not g.skill specific
    maybe they can help thou

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528
    Quote Originally Posted by Musho View Post
    In theory, 6 modules can be run in Hexa channel, so the sticks support it. Thing is: There aren't any platforms which use a Hexa channel memory controller as far as I know. You can use these for an i7 platform just fine, but note you will end up with tripple channel, as that's the maximum amount of channels the memory controller on i7 supports. All 12gb will be usable though, of course (if you are using a 64bit OS).
    it's 64 bit and thats what i was thinking too but why would they make a tech available that can not be implemented, at least not with the current HW and i haven't heard anything about that coming in any of the near future platforms.

    thats why i was thinking on the server side maybe

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast bot@xs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    528
    so after some reading and letting some logic follow it seems that from a dimm perspective quad and hexa channel or more is possible.
    each dimm adds a channel. no matter how many dimms are installed, each dimm is addressable via it's own channel.
    from a memory controller/ motherboard/ cpu perspective it's different.
    the memory controller on the cpu/ motherboard determines how many channels will be available and addressable.
    basically, motherboard with a second set for dimm's, the second set is only an extension to the first set.

    example: if you have four 2gb moduls installed the board see's two 4gb modules (4x 2gb = 2x 4gb) the dimm of the second set is added to the first and only the first channel will transfer data

    please correct me if i am wrong

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict tool_462's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,610
    That is all correct.

    Beckton (LGA 1567) is quad channel but other than that, you'll be rocking triple on X58 and dual channel on most everything else.
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  11. #11
    Memory Addict eva2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Quote Originally Posted by bot@xs View Post

    would 2 standard Triple Channel kits do the same
    yeah even 3x dual channel kits work 6x2GB A-DATA 2000X Elpida BBSE http://i4memory.com/f83/12gb-data-20...testing-20350/

    or totally mixxed 6x2GB action http://i4memory.com/f83/12gb-higher-club-18879/

    of course might need to observe some fundamental rules etc http://i4memory.com/ramdetect/

    HTH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •